Apamea aquila Donzel, 1837


Apamea aquila: Adult [S] Apamea aquila: Adult [S] Apamea aquila: Adult [S] Apamea aquila: Adult [S] Apamea aquila: Young larva in autumn at Molinia fruit stand (S-Germany, October 2008) [M] Apamea aquila: Larva prior to hibernation [M] Apamea aquila: Larva prior to hibernation [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe prior to hibernation [S] Apamea aquila: Larva after the hibernation [S] Apamea aquila: Larva after the hibernation [S] Apamea aquila: Larva after the last moult  [S] Apamea aquila: Larva [S] Apamea aquila: Larva (e.l. S-Germany 2008) [S] Apamea aquila: Pupa [S] Apamea aquila: Habitat in the autumn, when the larvae change from the Molinia fruit stands to the ground (S-Germany, October 2008) [N] Apamea aquila: Habitat in autumn [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed probably always on moor grass (Molinia) before hibernation, but should then also accept other species of grass, because Molinia thrives out very late in spring and no preference is evident in the breeding.

Habitat:
Apamea aquila colonizes grove-rich Molinia stocks, which are air and ground moist, but do not have too wet substrates. Apamea aquila can be found forest-near, shrubby and periodically wet fens and edges in Calluna bogs. Another focus is on montainous, rather moist mixed beech forests where the caterpillars live in small clearings, forest aisles and trail verges with Molinia.

Life cycle:
The young caterpillars live on the panicles of Molinia, where they rest in a slight webbing. During October or early November, they switch over to a ground-level living and overwinter. From March/April they become active again and feed until mid- or late May. The moths fly from late June to mid-August.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
Apamea aquila is quite threatened. Their forest sites get lost due to eutrophication and darkening of forests (advancement of blackberry and nettle, intense dark forest management) and for the few remaining moors it is not better ordered (eutrophication, some improper maintenance, improper because too rapid and large-scale rewetting, insulation, reforestation due to disturbed water balance).

Remarks:
The distribution ranges from Spain across Central Europe to Western Asia. Another sub-area is located in east Asia (China, Korea, Siberia, Japan). In Central Europe Apamea aquila flies locally in the Alps, in the northern foreland of the Alps, from Belgium to Denmark and in many wet soils dominated uplands (Harz, Black Forest, Schönbuch, Pfälzer Wald etc.).



Apamea characterea | Apamea crenata | Apamea furva | Apamea illyria | Apamea lateritia | Apamea lithoxylaea | Apamea maillardi | Apamea monoglypha | Apamea platinea | Apamea ramonae | Apamea remissa | Apamea rubrirena | Apamea scolopacina | Apamea sordens | Apamea sphagnicola | Apamea sublustris | Apamea unanimis 
German version / deutsche Version

Apamea aquila Donzel, 1837 (Dunkle Pfeifengras-Grasbüscheleule)


Apamea aquila: Falter [S] Apamea aquila: Falter [S] Apamea aquila: Falter [S] Apamea aquila: Falter [S] Apamea aquila: Jungraupe im Herbst an Molinia-Fruchtstand (Baden-Württemberg, Oktober 2008) [M] Apamea aquila: Raupe vor der Überwinterung [M] Apamea aquila: Raupe vor der Überwinterung [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe vor der Überwinterung [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe nach der Überwinterung [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe nach der Überwinterung [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe [S] Apamea aquila: Raupe (e.l. Baden-Württemberg 2008) [S] Apamea aquila: Puppe [S] Apamea aquila: Habitat im Herbst, wenn die Raupen gerade von der Rispe auf den Boden übergehen (Baden-Württemberg, Schönbuch, Oktober 2008) [N] Apamea aquila: Habitat im Herbst [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen fressen vor der Überwinterung wohl immer an Pfeifengras (Molinia), dürften danach aber auch andere Grasarten annehmen, zumal Molinia sehr spät austreibt und in der Zucht keine Bevorzugung erkennbar wird.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Apamea aquila besiedelt gehölzreiche Molinia-Bestände, die zwar luft- und bodenfeucht stehen, aber nicht zu nassen Untergrund aufweisen. So findet sie sich in waldnahen, gebüschreichen und wechselfeuchten Flachmooren und verheideten Hochmooren. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt sind montane, eher feuchte Buchenmischwälder, wo die Raupen auf kleinen Lichtungen, Schneisen und Wegrändern mit Molinia leben.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die jungen Raupen leben an den Rispen von Molinia, wo sie sich auch ein leichtes Gespinst anlegen. Im Laufe des Oktobers oder Anfang November wechseln sie zu einer bodennahen Lebensweise über und überwintern. Ab März/April werden sie wieder aktiv und fressen noch bis Mitte oder Ende Mai. Die Falter fliegen von Ende Juni bis Mitte August.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Apamea aquila ist durchaus bedroht. Ihre Waldstandorte gehen infolge Eutrophierung und Entsaumung der Wälder (Vorrücken von Brombeere und Brennessel, intensive Dunkelwaldwirtschaft) permanent zurück und um die wenigen Restmoore ist es nicht besser bestellt (Eutrophierung, teils nicht fachgerechte Pflege, falsche weil zu schnelle und weitreichende Wiedervernässung, Isolation, Verwaldung aufgrund gestörten Wasserhaushalts).

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Spanien über Mitteleuropa bis Vorderasien. Ein weiteres Teilareal liegt in Ostasien (China, Korea, Sibirien, Japan). In Mitteleuropa fliegt Apamea aquila lokal in den Alpen, im Alpenvorland, von Belgien bis Dänemark und in vielen oft feuchtedominierten Mittelgebirgen (Harz, Schwarzwald, Schönbuch, Pfälzer Wald etc.).



Apamea characterea | Apamea crenata | Apamea furva | Apamea illyria | Apamea lateritia | Apamea lithoxylaea | Apamea maillardi | Apamea monoglypha | Apamea platinea | Apamea ramonae | Apamea remissa | Apamea rubrirena | Apamea scolopacina | Apamea sordens | Apamea sphagnicola | Apamea sublustris | Apamea unanimis 
English version / englische Version