Agrotis trux (Hübner, 1824)


Agrotis trux: Adult (e.l. Valais, Switzerland) [S] Agrotis trux: Adult (e.l. Valais, variation) [S] Agrotis trux: Adult (e.l. La Gomera) [S] Agrotis trux: Adult (e.l. Fuerteventura 2010) [S] Agrotis trux: Half-grown larva (La Gomera) [M] Agrotis trux: Larva (La Gomera) [S] Agrotis trux: Larva (central Valais, mid April 2009) [M] Agrotis trux: Pupa (e.l. Valais, Switzerland) [S]

Host plants:
The polyphagous caterpillar lives on roots and ground-level plant parts.

Habitat:
The caterpillar inhabits dry-warm places that are only overgrown gappily. I found them in the Valais at open ground spots in a vineyard embankment and in the Canaries on rocky slopes. Important are fine substrate-rich spots.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters and is mature in April. In the Canary Islands, it is partly fully-grown already in January. They are digged in the soil superficially at daytime. The prepupae rest for several weeks. The moths fly from June to August.

Remarks:
Agrotis trux occurs from the Canary Islands across north Africa and Southern Europe to Asia. To the north, it is found to the Southern Alps and the Valais. Along the Atlantic coast it penetrates to the south of England.



Agrotis boetica | Agrotis cinerea | Agrotis clavis | Agrotis exclamationis | Agrotis herzogi | Agrotis ipsilon | Agrotis lanzarotensis | Agrotis obesa | Agrotis puta | Agrotis rutae | Agrotis segetum | Agrotis simplonia | Agrotis vestigialis 
German version / deutsche Version

Agrotis trux (Hübner, 1824)


Agrotis trux: Falter (e.l. Wallis) [S] Agrotis trux: Falter (e.l. Wallis, Variation) [S] Agrotis trux: Falter (e.l. La Gomera) [S] Agrotis trux: Falter (e.l. Fuerteventura 2010) [S] Agrotis trux: Halbwüchsige Raupe (La Gomera) [M] Agrotis trux: Raupe (La Gomera) [S] Agrotis trux: Raupe (Zentralwallis, Mitte April 2009) [M] Agrotis trux: Puppe (e.l. Wallis) [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt polyphag an Wurzeln und bodennahen Pflanzenteilen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Die Raupe besiedelt trockenwarme Stellen, die nur lückig bewachsen sind. Ich fand sie im Wallis in einer lückig bewachsenen Weinbergsböschung und auf den Kanaren an felsigen Hängen. Wichtig sind feinerdereiche Stellen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert und ist im April ausgewachsen. Auf den Kanarischen Inseln ist sie teilweise bereits im Januar soweit. Sie graben sich tagsüber oberflächlich ein. Die Präpupa liegt für einige Wochen ehe sie sich verpuppt. Die Falter fliegen von Juni bis August.

Bemerkungen:
Agrotis trux kommt von den Kanarischen Inseln über Nordafrika und Südeuropa bis Vorderasien vor. Nach Norden kommt sie bis an den Alpensüdrand und ins Wallis vor. Entlang der Atlantikküste dringt sie bis Südengland vor.



Agrotis boetica | Agrotis cinerea | Agrotis clavis | Agrotis exclamationis | Agrotis herzogi | Agrotis ipsilon | Agrotis lanzarotensis | Agrotis obesa | Agrotis puta | Agrotis rutae | Agrotis segetum | Agrotis simplonia | Agrotis vestigialis 
English version / englische Version