Catocala sponsa (Linnaeus, 1767)


Catocala sponsa: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [S] Catocala sponsa: Adult in resting posture [S] Catocala sponsa: Larva, just in last instar [S] Catocala sponsa: Larva [M] Catocala sponsa: Larva cranial [M] Catocala sponsa: Larva caudal [M] Catocala sponsa: Pupa [S] Catocala sponsa: Larval habitat on the eastern Swabian Alb (oak on the right side, May 2009) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on Quercus species (Quercus robur, Q. petraea, Q. pubescens, etc.).

Habitat:
Catocala sponsa inhabits warm oak and mixed forests. It can also occur on dry slopes with oaks. I found the caterpillar on the edge of warm, moist clearings with Satyrium ilicis and Coenonympha hero on the eastern Swabian Alb on both quite small oak trees and on lower branches of old trees. It can be assumed that a part of the larvae develop higher in the trees.

Life cycle:
The egg hibernates. The caterpillar is often already mature in May or early June. On the other hand stragglers are observed even in early July. The animals rest during the day mostly on branches or the trunk. Pupation takes place in a cocoon that is usually applied between leaves or under loose bark. The adults fly from July to October.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
Because warm, sparse oak forests have shrunk considerably, this species has become rarer. But it may respond, at least in Central Europe, on the other hand positively on rising temperatures due to global warming.

Remarks:
Catocala sponsa is distributed from north Africa across south and Central Europe (to southern England and southern Sweden) to the Urals, Turkey and the Caucasus.



Catocala conjuncta | Catocala conversa | Catocala dilecta | Catocala disjuncta | Catocala electa | Catocala eutychea | Catocala fraxini | Catocala hymenaea | Catocala lupina | Catocala nupta | Catocala nymphaea | Catocala nymphagoga | Catocala promissa | Catocala puerpera | Catocala separata 
German version / deutsche Version

Catocala sponsa (Linnaeus, 1767) (Großes Eichenkarmin)


Catocala sponsa: Falter (e.l. Ostalb) [S] Catocala sponsa: Falter in Ruhe [S] Catocala sponsa: Raupe, eben ins letzte Stadium gehäutet [S] Catocala sponsa: Raupe [M] Catocala sponsa: Raupe cranial [M] Catocala sponsa: Raupe caudal [M] Catocala sponsa: Puppe [S] Catocala sponsa: Raupenfundstelle auf der Ostalb (Eiche rechts im Bild, Mai 2009) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen ernähren sich von Quercus-Arten (Quercus robur, Q. petraea, Q. pubescens u.a.).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Catocala sponsa besiedelt warme Eichen- und Eichenmischwälder. Daneben kann sie auch an Trockenhängen mit Eichen auftreten. Ich fand die Raupe am Rande feuchtwarmer Lichtungen mit Satyrium ilicis und Coenonympha hero auf der östlichen Schwäbischen Alb sowohl an recht kleinen Eichen als auch an unteren Ästen alter Exemplare. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass sich ein Teil der Raupen in gößerer Höhe entwickelt.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Das Ei überwintert. Die Raupe ist oft schon im Mai oder Anfang Juni ausgewachsen. Andererseits finden sich Nachzügler noch Anfang Juli. Die Tiere ruhen tagsüber meist an Zweigen oder auch am Stamm. Die Verpuppung findet in einem Kokon statt, der meist zwischen Laub oder unter loser Rinde angelegt wird. Die Falter fliegen von Juli bis in den Oktober.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Da warme, lichte Eichenwälder stark zurückgegangen sind, ist auch diese Art seltener geworden. Möglicherweise reagiert sie zumindest in Mitteleuropa aber andererseits auch positiv auf steigende Temperaturen infolge der Klimaerwärmung.

Bemerkungen:
Catocala sponsa ist von Nordafrika über Süd- und Mitteleuropa (bis Südengland und Südschweden) bis zum Ural, in die Türkei und zum Kaukasus verbreitet.



Catocala conjuncta | Catocala conversa | Catocala dilecta | Catocala disjuncta | Catocala electa | Catocala eutychea | Catocala fraxini | Catocala hymenaea | Catocala lupina | Catocala nupta | Catocala nymphaea | Catocala nymphagoga | Catocala promissa | Catocala puerpera | Catocala separata 
English version / englische Version