Xestia ashworthii (Doubleday, 1855)


Xestia ashworthii: Adult [S] Xestia ashworthii: Adult [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larva (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larva (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larva (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larva (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larva cranial. Typical is the orangered head capsule. [S] Xestia ashworthii: Pupa [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larval habitat on the Swabian Alb (April 2011) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars live polyphagous in the herb layer of gappy and often rocky grasslands.

Habitat:
Xestia ashworthii inhabits rocky, stony or at least gappy vegetated grasslands, embankments, quarries and hillsides. The moth is a typical inhabitant of the mountains (in Central Europe from about 500m above sea level up to over 2000m).

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters half-grown and is mature in April or May. I found caterpillars during the day resting in tussocks. After hibernation the caterpillar is purely nocturnal like many Noctuidae. The moths fly depending on the altitude from June to early September in a single generation.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
Xestia ashworthii is endangered at lower altitudes due to the loss of their habitats for example by overgrowth (succession) or so-called regreening of quarries.

Remarks:
Xestia ashworthii occurs from Europe far into Asia (China) and is found in southern and central areas of Europe only in the mountains as the Swabian Alb (obviously missing here in the east) or in the Alps. For example in Southern Scandinavia the moth occurs also on rocky shores.



Xestia baja | Xestia c-nigrum | Xestia collina | Xestia ditrapezium | Xestia mejiasi | Xestia ochreago | Xestia rhomboidea | Xestia sexstrigata | Xestia triangulum | Xestia xanthographa 
German version / deutsche Version

Xestia ashworthii (Doubleday, 1855) (Aschgraue Bodeneule)


Xestia ashworthii: Falter [S] Xestia ashworthii: Falter [S] Xestia ashworthii: Raupe (Schwäbische Alb, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Raupe (Schwäbische Alb, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Raupe (Schwäbische Alb, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Raupe (Schwäbische Alb, April 2011) [S] Xestia ashworthii: Raupe cranial. Typisch ist der orangerote Kopf. [S] Xestia ashworthii: Puppe [S] Xestia ashworthii: Larvalhabitat auf der Schwäbischen Alb (April 2011) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben polyphag in der Krautschicht von lückigen und oft felsigen Magerrasen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Xestia ashworthii besiedelt felsige, steinige oder zumindest an offenen Bodenstellen reiche Trockengebiete, Magerrasen, Böschungen, Steinbrüche und Berghänge. Der Falter ist ein typischer Bewohner der Gebirge (in Mitteleuropa ab etwa 500m NN bis über 2000m NN).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert halbwüchsig und ist im April oder Mai ausgewachsen. Ich fand Raupen tagsüber in Grasbüscheln basisnah ruhend. Nach der Überwinterung ist die Raupe wie viele Noctuidae rein nachtaktiv. Die Falter fliegen je nach Höhenlage von Juni bis Anfang September in einer Generation.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Xestia ashworthii ist in tieferen Lagen durch den Verlust ihrer Habitate etwa durch Überwaldung, Überbauung oder sog. Rekultivierungen etwa von Steinbrüchen stellenweise gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Xestia ashworthii kommt von Europa bis weit nach Asien (China) vor und findet sich in südlichen und mittleren Bereichen Europas nur in (Mittel-)Gebirgen wie der Schwäbischen Alb (fehlt offenbar hier ganz im Osten) oder verbreitet in den Alpen. Beispielsweise in Südskandinavien kommt der Falter auch an felsigen Küsten vor.



Xestia baja | Xestia c-nigrum | Xestia collina | Xestia ditrapezium | Xestia mejiasi | Xestia ochreago | Xestia rhomboidea | Xestia sexstrigata | Xestia triangulum | Xestia xanthographa 
English version / englische Version