Acronicta leporina (Linnaeus, 1758)


Acronicta leporina: Adult (South Tyrol, Val Müstair, May 2015) [S] Acronicta leporina: Adult (South Tyrol, Val Müstair, May 2015) [M] Acronicta leporina: Adult (e.l. Memmingen, Southern Germany) [S] Acronicta leporina: Larva with the charakteristischen Haarfilz (Memmingen) [N] Acronicta leporina: Larva

Host plants:
The larvae feed on Betula and Alnus, besides also other woods such as Populus or Salix.

Habitat:
Acronicta leporina inhabits wooded areas of all kinds. Larvae can also be observed in the center of cities on old birch trees. Since the pupation occurs at least in part on the tree under bark, also a successful development is possible there.

Life cycle:
The moth flies in a long generation from May to August, but this should also result from the intersection with a partial second generation. The caterpillar is usually found from July to September. The pupa overwinters.

Remarks:
Acronicta leporina is quite common and usually not very rare. The distribution ranges from Southern Spain until well into Asia. Related forms are flying in East Asia and in the Nearctic.



Acronicta aceris | Acronicta alni | Acronicta auricoma | Acronicta cuspis | Acronicta euphorbiae | Acronicta megacephala | Acronicta orientalis | Acronicta psi | Acronicta rumicis | Acronicta tridens 
German version / deutsche Version

Acronicta leporina (Linnaeus, 1758) (Pudel)


Acronicta leporina: Falter (Münstertal, Südtirol, Mai 2015) [S] Acronicta leporina: Falter (Münstertal, Südtirol, Mai 2015) [M] Acronicta leporina: Falter (e.l. Memmingen) [S] Acronicta leporina: Raupe mit dem charakteristischen Haarfilz (Memmingen) [N] Acronicta leporina: Raupe

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an Betula und Alnus, daneben auch weiteren Laubhölzern wie Populus oder Salix.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Acronicta leporina besiedelt Gehölzbestände aller Art. Raupen sind auch mitten in Städten an alten Birken zu beobachten. Da die Verpuppung zumindest zum Teil am Stamm stattfindet, ist hier auch eine erfolgreiche Entwicklung möglich.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Der Falter fliegt in einer langgezogenen Generation von Mai bis August, die aber auch aus Überschneidung mit einer partiellen zweiten Generation resultieren dürfte. Die Raupe wird meist von Juli bis September gefunden. Die Puppe überwintert.

Bemerkungen:
Acronicta leporina ist recht weit verbreitet und meist nicht allzu selten. Die Verbreitung reicht von Südspanien bis weit nach Asien. Verwandte Formen fliegen auch in Ostasien und in der Nearktis.



Acronicta aceris | Acronicta alni | Acronicta auricoma | Acronicta cuspis | Acronicta euphorbiae | Acronicta megacephala | Acronicta orientalis | Acronicta psi | Acronicta rumicis | Acronicta tridens 
English version / englische Version