Acronicta aceris (Linnaeus, 1758)


Acronicta aceris: Adult [S] Acronicta aceris: Half-grown larva (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, July 2011, at oak) [M] Acronicta aceris: Larva in penultimate instar (Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [S] Acronicta aceris: Larva [S]

Host plants:
The larvae are polyphagous on woods, mostly Populus, Quercus, or more rarely also Acer campestre or Aesculus.

Habitat:
Acronicta aceris inhabits forests and other woody habitats. It is found even in urban areas. Acronicta aceris usually can be found in more humid mesoclimate or at least more common here, e.g. northern foreland of the Alps.

Life cycle:
Acronicta aceris flies in a single to partial two generations from mid-May to early August. The pupa overwinters mostly under bark and can be found along with that of Acronicta megacephala for example on old poplars in winter.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
Acronicta aceris is in decline due to the monotonization of forests, the destruction of wetlands and also the often senseless felling of old hybrid poplar trees along roads or on cultivated land, partly under the guise of alleged conservation. Hybrid poplars are, contrary to popular opinion, however, principally valuable for insects if they are not planted in or near habitats worthy of protection like fens.

Remarks:
The distribution extends from Morocco across Europe and to Central Asia.



Acronicta alni | Acronicta auricoma | Acronicta cuspis | Acronicta euphorbiae | Acronicta leporina | Acronicta megacephala | Acronicta orientalis | Acronicta psi | Acronicta rumicis | Acronicta tridens 
German version / deutsche Version

Acronicta aceris (Linnaeus, 1758) (Ahorneule)


Acronicta aceris: Falter [S] Acronicta aceris: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Schwäbische Alb, Juli 2011, an Eiche) [M] Acronicta aceris: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (Schwäbische Alb) [S] Acronicta aceris: Raupe [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt polyphag an Laubhölzern, meist Populus, Quercus, seltener Acer campestre oder auch Aesculus.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Acronicta aceris besiedelt Wälder und weitere gehölzreiche Habitate. Auch im Siedlungsbereich kommt der Falter vor. Meist findet er sich in eher humidem Mesoklima bzw. hier häufiger (z.B. nördliches Alpenvorland).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Acronicta aceris fliegt in einer bis teils auch partiell zwei Generationen von Mitte Mai bis Anfang August. Die Puppe überwintert meist unter Borke und kann etwa an alten Pappeln im Winter zusammen mit der von Acronicta megacephala gefunden werden.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Acronicta aceris geht zurück aufgrund der Monotonisierung der Wälder, der Vernichtung der Auen und auch dem oft sinnlosen Abholzen alter Hybridpappeln an Straßen oder im Kulturland, was teils auch unter dem Deckmäntelchen angeblichen Naturschutzes geschieht. Hybridpappeln sind im Gegensatz zur landläufigen Meinung aber prinzipiell wertvoll für Insekten, wenn sie nicht in oder am Rande von schützenswerten Biotopen wie Feuchtwiesen gepflanzt werden.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Marokko über Europa bis ins zentrale Asien.



Acronicta alni | Acronicta auricoma | Acronicta cuspis | Acronicta euphorbiae | Acronicta leporina | Acronicta megacephala | Acronicta orientalis | Acronicta psi | Acronicta rumicis | Acronicta tridens 
English version / englische Version