Orthosia populeti (Fabricius, 1775)


Orthosia populeti: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [S] Orthosia populeti: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [S] Orthosia populeti: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [S] Orthosia populeti: Larva (eastern Swabian Alb 2009) [M] Orthosia populeti: Larva [M] Orthosia populeti: Larva (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [M] Orthosia populeti: Pupa [S] Orthosia populeti: Habitat: young Populus tremula in a still open woodland on the eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany (2009) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives at Populus species (poplar), especially at Populus tremula and Populus nigra (including hybrid poplars P. canadesis).

Habitat:
Orthosia populeti inhabits riparian forests and generally moist, soft wood-rich areas. I found the caterpillars on the eastern Swabian Alb along with those of Enargia paleacea and Apatura ilia at the same aspen bushes in a light, moist forest with Coenonympha hero.

Life cycle:
The moths fly from late February to late April or even early May, depending on altitude and weather conditions. The caterpillar lives from mid-April to June. I found it mature in late May. The moth overwinters almost completely developed in the pupal case.

Endangerment factors:
Orthosia populeti is moderately endangered since poplars as little productive softwood are hardly tolerated in forests and poplar avenues are becoming less common because of partly incomprehensible, sometimes wrong reasons (even some conservation circles advocate cutting of old hybrid poplars, e.g. avenues).

Remarks:
The distribution extends from the Pyrenees across large parts of Europe (except the extreme north and south) to Western Asia.



Orthosia cerasi | Orthosia cruda | Orthosia dalmatica | Orthosia gothica | Orthosia gracilis | Orthosia incerta | Orthosia miniosa | Orthosia munda | Orthosia opima | Orthosia rorida 
German version / deutsche Version

Orthosia populeti (Fabricius, 1775) (Pappel-Kätzcheneule)


Orthosia populeti: Falter (e.l. Ostalb) [S] Orthosia populeti: Falter (e.l. Ostalb) [S] Orthosia populeti: Falter (e.l. Ostalb) [S] Orthosia populeti: Raupe (Ostalb 2009) [M] Orthosia populeti: Raupe [M] Orthosia populeti: Raupe (Ostalb) [M] Orthosia populeti: Puppe [S] Orthosia populeti: Habitat: mit Raupen besetzte junge Zitterpappeln in einem (noch!) lichten Waldgebiet (2009) auf der Ostalb [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt an Populus-Arten (Pappel), besonders an Populus tremula und Populus nigra (incl. Bastard-Pappeln P. canadesis).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Orthosia populeti besiedelt Auwälder und allgemein feuchte, weichholzreiche Gebiete. Auf der Ostalb fand ich die Raupe zusammen mit solchen von Enargia paleacea und Apatura ilia an den selben Zitterpappelbüschen in einem lichten, feuchten Wald mit Coenonympha hero.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen je nach Höhenlage und Witterungsverlauf von Ende Februar bis Ende April oder sogar Anfang Mai. Die Raupe lebt von Mitte April bis in den Juni. Ich fand sie Ende Mai voll ausgewachsen. Der Falter überwintert weitgehend fertig ausgebildet in der Puppenhülle

Gefährdungsursachen:
Da Pappeln als wenig produktives Weichholz in Wäldern kaum geduldet werden und auch Pappelalleen aus unverständlichen, teils falschen Gründen (selbst manche Naturschutzkreise befürworten die Abholzung alter Hybridpappeln, etwa Alleen) immer seltener werden, ist diese Art durchaus gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von den Pyrenäen über weite Teile Europas (außer den extremen Norden und Süden) bis nach Vorderasien.



Orthosia cerasi | Orthosia cruda | Orthosia dalmatica | Orthosia gothica | Orthosia gracilis | Orthosia incerta | Orthosia miniosa | Orthosia munda | Orthosia opima | Orthosia rorida 
English version / englische Version