Polymixis flavicincta (Denis & Schiffermüller, 1775)


Polymixis flavicincta: Young larva [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Larva in penultimate instar [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Larva in penultimate instar [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Larva in last instar (lateral) [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Larva in last instar (dorsal) [S]

Host plants:
The larvae are polyphagous on grasses and various herbs.

Habitat:
Polymixis flavicincta inhabits warm and dry terrain as for example rocky grasslands or bushy hillsides.

Life cycle:
The egg overwinters. The caterpillar lives in the spring until June. The pupa aestivates and dismisses the adult from late August or early September. The flight time lasts until October.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
In Germany Polymixis flavicincta is threatened by extinction due to the loss of large, suitable habitats. In Baden-Württemberg, it has already disappeared. The extent in which also natural fluctuations are involved in the border area of the distribution, must remain open. In Germany it still occurs for example in the Middle Rhine/Nahe region.

Remarks:
The overall distribution ranges from Northwest Africa across western and Central Europe (including southern England) sporadically to the Black Sea. In Europe the distribution is densest in the southwest.



Polymixis bacheri | Polymixis iatnana | Polymixis lichenea | Polymixis xanthomista 
German version / deutsche Version

Polymixis flavicincta (Denis & Schiffermüller, 1775)


Polymixis flavicincta: Jungraupe [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Raupe im letzten Stadium (lateral) [S] Polymixis flavicincta: Raupe im letzten Stadium (dorsal) [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen sind polyphag an Gräsern und diversen Kräutern.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Polymixis flavicincta besiedelt warm-trockenes Gelände wie felsige Magerrasen, buschige Hänge oder Heiden.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Das Ei überwintert. Die Raupe lebt im Frühjahr bis zum Juni. Die Puppe übersommert und entlässt den Falter ab Ende August/Anfang September. Die Flugzeit dauert bis Oktober.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Deutschland ist Polymixis flavicincta durch den Verlust großflächiger, geeigneter Habitate vom Aussterben bedroht. In Baden-Württemberg ist sie etwa bereits völlig verschwunden. Inwieweit hier auch natürliche Fluktuationen am Arealrand involviert sind, muss offen bleiben. In Deutschland kommt sie etwa noch im Mittelrhein/Nahe-Gebiet vor.

Bemerkungen:
Die Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Nordwestafrika über West- und Mitteleuropa (einschließlich Südengland) sporadisch bis zum Schwarzen Meer, wobei in Europa die Verbreitung im Südwesten am dichtesten ist.

Für die Überlassung von Zuchtmaterial (leg. Dr. Beck ex Südfrankreich) sei den Herren Christian Siegel und Dr. Beck gedankt.



Polymixis bacheri | Polymixis iatnana | Polymixis lichenea | Polymixis xanthomista 
English version / englische Version