Xanthia togata (Esper, 1788)


Xanthia togata: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Adult (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Half-grown larva (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Larva (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb) [S] Xanthia togata: Larva [S] Xanthia togata: Larva (e.l. eastern Swabian Alb) [S] Xanthia togata: Pupa [S]

Host plants:
The caterpillars live at first in catkins of willows (Salix), with which they then fall to the ground. They complete development on soil level where there are usually many old catkins that are eaten by the larvae. According to literature, to that time also a polyphagous life on herbs and young woods is possible.

Habitat:
Xanthia togata inhabits all possible willow sites. So it occurs in wetlands and on lake shores as well as on xerothermic standing sallows in quarries on the Swabian Alb, where they can usually be obtained with numerous Xanthia icteritia from samples of the kittens.

Life cycle:
The eggs overwinter and the young caterpillars drill in February or March into the developing kitten. They live in it until they fall to the ground with the kittens or until they have eaten it completely. On the ground, they complete their development until late May and there feed in my opinion the numerous kittens lying around and change only occasionally to other plants. Pupation occurs in the soil after weeks of prepupal rest and the moths fly from late August to late October, rarely even in early November.

Endangerment factors:
Xanthia togata is not endangered in principle. Nevertheless, they lose countless reproduction opportunities by still meticulously executed removals of economically worthless softwoods by our forestry.

Remarks:
The distribution is Holarctic (Europe, northern Asia and North America).



Xanthia citrago | Xanthia icteritia 
German version / deutsche Version

Xanthia togata (Esper, 1788) (Violett-Gelbeule)


Xanthia togata: Falter (e.l. Ostalb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Falter (e.l. Ostalb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Halbwüchsige Raupe (e.l. Ostalb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Raupe (e.l. Ostalb 2008) [S] Xanthia togata: Raupe [S] Xanthia togata: Raupe (e.l. Ostalb) [S] Xanthia togata: Puppe [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben zunächst in Weidenkätzchen (Salix), mit denen sie dann zu Boden fallen und gewöhnlich am Boden (wo dann meist zahlreiche Kätzchen liegen) weiter befressen. Laut Literatur ist dann aber auch eine polyphage Lebensweise an Kräutern und jungen Gehölzen möglich.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Xanthia togata besiedelt alle möglichen Weidenstandorte. So kommt sie in Mooren und an Gewässern ebenso vor wie an Salweiden in xerothermen Steinbrüchen auf der Schwäbischen Alb, wo sie meist zusammen mit Xanthia icteritia zahlreich aus den Kätzchen erhalten werden kann.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Eier überwintern und die Jungraupen bohren sich im Februar oder März in die sich entwickelnden Kätzchen ein. Darin leben sie, bis sie mit den Kätzchen zu Boden fallen oder bis sie die Kätzchen völlig zerfressen haben. Am Boden beenden sie ihre Entwicklung bis Ende Mai und befressen meiner Meinung nach dort die meist zahlreich umherliegende Kätzchen und gehen nur zur Not an andere Pflanzen. Die Verpuppung erfolgt in der Erde nach wochenlangem Präpupa-Stadium und die Falter fliegen ab Ende August bis Ende Oktober, selten auch noch Anfang November.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Xanthia togata ist grundsätzlich nicht gefährdet. Dennoch verliert sie ungezählte Brutmöglichkeiten durch die von unserer Forstwirtschaft nach wie vor akribisch ausgeführte Vernichtung von wirtschaftlich wertlosen Weichhölzern.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung ist holarktisch (Europa, nördliches Asien und Nordamerika).



Xanthia citrago | Xanthia icteritia 
English version / englische Version