Athetis gluteosa (Treitschke, 1835)


Athetis gluteosa: Adult [S] Athetis gluteosa: Adult [S] Athetis gluteosa: Adult [S] Athetis gluteosa: Adult [S] Athetis gluteosa: Adult [S] Athetis gluteosa: Larva [S] Athetis gluteosa: Larva [S] Athetis gluteosa: Pupa [S] Athetis gluteosa: Pupa [S]

Host plants:
The caterpillar is likely to live polyphagous on herbs and grasses close to the ground. According to literature, they should prefer wilted or dead plant parts.

Habitat:
Athetis gluteosa inhabits dry warm habitats with a certain proportion of open ground as dry grasslands, rocks and gravel slopes with woods, steppe-like heathland, rail tracks and similar locations.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters and the moths fly from mid-June to mid-August.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
The usually only locally occurring species is endangered significantly as fallow land, dry grasslands, gappy woodland edges and similar sites are more and more eliminated in the landscape (agriculture, industry, roads, settlements).

Remarks:
Athetis gluteosa occurs across Europe and temperate Asia to Japan. It is absent from the extreme north and south of Europe (south to Bulgaria, Central Italy and Southern France). It is also otherwise very local.



Athetis hospes 
German version / deutsche Version

Athetis gluteosa (Treitschke, 1835) (Trockenrasen-Staubeule)


Athetis gluteosa: Falter [S] Athetis gluteosa: Falter [S] Athetis gluteosa: Falter [S] Athetis gluteosa: Falter [S] Athetis gluteosa: Falter [S] Athetis gluteosa: Raupe [S] Athetis gluteosa: Raupe [S] Athetis gluteosa: Puppe [S] Athetis gluteosa: Puppe [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe dürfte polyphag an bodennahen Kräutern und Gräsern leben. Laut Literatur soll sie welke oder tote Pflanzenteile bevorzugen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Athetis gluteosa besiedelt trockenwarme Habitate mit einem gewissen Offenbodenanteil wie Trockenrasen, Fels- und Schotterhänge mit einzelnen Gehölzen, Steppenheiden, Gleisanlagen und ähnliche Stellen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert und die Falter fliegen von Mitte Juni bis Mitte August.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Da Brachflächen, Trockenrasen und ähnliche Stellen immer mehr aus der Landschaft eliminiert werden (Landwirtschaft, Industrie, Verkehrswege, Siedlungen), ist auch diese meist nur lokal vorkommende Art deutlich gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Athetis gluteosa ist über Europa und das gemäßigte Asien bis Japan verbreitet. Im äußersten Norden und Süden Europas (nach Süden bis Bulgarien, Mittelitalien und Südfrankreich) fehlt der Falter und findet sich auch sonst nur sehr lokal.



Athetis hospes 
English version / englische Version