Lasionycta proxima (Hübner, 1809)


Lasionycta proxima: Adult (e.l. Valais, Switzerland) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Adult (e.l. Valais 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Adult (e.l. Valais 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Half-grown larva (Valais, April 2009) [M] Lasionycta proxima: Half-grown larva [S] Lasionycta proxima: Fully-grown larva (e.l. Valais 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Larva [S] Lasionycta proxima: Larva [S] Lasionycta proxima: Larva (Valais 2008) [M] Lasionycta proxima: Fully-grown larva (e.l. Valais 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Pupa [S] Lasionycta proxima: Pupa dorsal [S] Lasionycta proxima: Habitat at larval time (Valais, Switzerland) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives polyphagous on herbaceous plants as well as small shrubs. In addition, it is found also on grasses. I observed many young caterpillars in 1400m above sea level in the Valais in April 2009 resting at Festuca-tufts, together with those of Epipsilia grisescens.

Habitat:
Lasionycta proxima occurs in moutains and is found there from the valleys up to 2500m above sea level in varius habitats (dwarf shrub belt, pastures, rocky slopes, etc.). I found a fully-grown caterpillar in April 2008 on rocky slope in low elevation in Valais under dead leaves under a rosebush and many young caterpillars in a stony, gappy embankment in 2009 (see above).

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters and is mature between April and June (depending on altitude). The moths fly from June to August or September.

Remarks:
The distribution extends locally through the mountains of Europe and Fennoscandia. Lasionycta proxima is found in Asia. In Germany it is limited to the Alps and some Mountain (Black Forest, resin, etc.)



Lasionycta calberlai 
German version / deutsche Version

Lasionycta proxima (Hübner, 1809) (Graue Berggraseule)


Lasionycta proxima: Falter (e.l. Wallis) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Falter (e.l. Wallis 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Falter (e.l. Wallis 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Wallis, April 2009) [M] Lasionycta proxima: Halbwüchsige Raupe [S] Lasionycta proxima: Ausgewachsene Raupe (e.l. Wallis 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Raupe [S] Lasionycta proxima: Raupe [S] Lasionycta proxima: Raupe (Wallis 2008) [M] Lasionycta proxima: Ausgewachsene Raupe (e.l. Wallis 2008) [S] Lasionycta proxima: Puppe [S] Lasionycta proxima: Puppe dorsal [S] Lasionycta proxima: Habitat zur Raupenzeit (Wallis) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt polyphag an krautigen Pflanzen sowie an kleinen Sträuchern. Daneben werden auch Gräser befressen. Zahlreiche Jungraupen fand ich im April 2009 in 1400m NN im Wallis zusammen mit solchen von Epipsilia grisescens an horstigen Festuca-Büscheln sitzend.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Lasionycta proxima ist ein Bergbewohner und tritt von den Tallagen bis 2500m NN an unterschiedlichen Standorten auf (Zwergstrauchheiden, Weiden, Felsheiden u.a.). Ich fand eine ausgewachsene Raupe im April 2008 in einer tief gelegenen Walliser Felsheide unter Fallaub unter einem Rosenstrauch sowie zahlreiche Jungraupen 2009 in einer lückig-steinigen Böschung (siehe oben).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert und ist von April bis Juni ausgewachsen (je nach Höhenlage). Die Falter fliegen von Juni bis August/September.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung erstreckt sich lokal über die Gebirge Europas und Fennoskandien. Lasionycta proxima kommt auch in Asien vor. In Deutschland ist sie auf die Alpen und einige Mittelgebirge (Schwarzwald, Harz usw.) beschränkt



Lasionycta calberlai 
English version / englische Version