Eurois occultus (Linnaeus, 1758)


Eurois occultus: Adult [S] Eurois occultus: Half-grown larva (Engadine, May 2008) [M] Eurois occultus: Larva after the last moult  [S] Eurois occultus: Larva after the last moult (e.l. Engadine, Val Rosegg) [S] Eurois occultus: Larva after the last moult (e.l. Engadine, Val Rosegg) [S] Eurois occultus: Larva [S] Eurois occultus: Larva [S] Eurois occultus: Larva [S] Eurois occultus: Pupa [S] Eurois occultus: Habitat in the Engadine: open pine forest with rich undergrowth (May 2008) [N]

Host plants:
The larvae are polyphagous on herbs and especially small shrubs such as Vaccinium or Lonicera.

Habitat:
Eurois occultus is particularly typical of cool, bright, montane to subalpine or boreal coniferous forests, which have a well-developed understory of dwarf and other shrubs. But it occurs occasionally also in the hilly stage.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters. I found a half-grown larva in the Engadine at 2000m above sea level during the day concealed in the moss layer under Lonicera coerulea whose twigs had eroded buds. The caterpillar is fully-grown in May or June, depending on the elevation. The moths fly from late June to August.

Endangerment factors:
Eurois occultus should not be especially vulnerable, even if spruce pole fields (= forest within the meaning of most foresters) are hardly inhabited and if then only under otherwise favourable conditions.

Remarks:
The distribution is Holarctic (temperate Europe, Asia, North America), but in Southern Europe with only a few populations in the mountains.


German version / deutsche Version

Eurois occultus (Linnaeus, 1758) (Graue Heidelbeereule)


Eurois occultus: Falter [S] Eurois occultus: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Engadin, Mai 2008) [M] Eurois occultus: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung [S] Eurois occultus: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung (e.l. Engadin, Val Rosegg) [S] Eurois occultus: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung (e.l. Engadin, Val Rosegg) [S] Eurois occultus: Raupe [S] Eurois occultus: Raupe [S] Eurois occultus: Raupe [S] Eurois occultus: Puppe [S] Eurois occultus: Habitat im Engadin: lichter Nadelwald mit reichem Unterwuchs (Mai 2008) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben polyphag an Kräutern und besonders kleinen Sträuchern wie Vaccinium oder Lonicera.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Eurois occultus ist besonders typisch für kühle, montane bis subalpine oder boreale lichte Nadelwälder, die einen gut ausgeprägten Unterwuchs aus Zwerg- und anderen Sträuchern aufweisen. Gelegentlich tritt sie aber auch in der Hügelstufe auf.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert. Im Engadin fand ich auf 2000m NN eine halbwüchsige Raupe tags in der Moosschicht verborgen unter Lonicera coerulea, deren Triebe abgefressene Knospen aufwiesen. Die Raupe ist je nach Höhe im Mai oder Juni ausgewachsen. Die Falter fliegen von Ende Juni bis August.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Eurois occultus dürfte noch nicht besonders gefährdet sein, wenn auch ausgeräumte Fichtenstangenäcker (= Wald im Sinne der meisten Föster) nur selten und nur unter sonst günstigen Umständen genutzt werden dürften.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung ist holarktisch (gemäßigtes Europa, Asien, Nordamerika), wobei in Südeuropa nur wenige Populationen in den Gebirgen leben.


English version / englische Version