Anarta myrtilli (Linnaeus, 1761)


Anarta myrtilli: Adult [S] Anarta myrtilli: Adult [S] Anarta myrtilli: Adult [S] Anarta myrtilli: Larva (northern Black Forest, early October 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Larva (northern Black Forest, early October 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Larva (northern Black Forest, early October 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Larva (northern Black Forest, early October 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Larva (northern Black Forest, early October 2010) [M] Anarta myrtilli: Pupa [S] Anarta myrtilli: Larval habitat in the northern Black Forest on former wind blast areas (October 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives on Calluna vulgaris (heather).

Habitat:
Anarta myrtilli inhabits sunny Calluna locations as heath bogs, silicate Calluna heaths in the mountains or sandy heaths in the plane.

Life cycle:
The moths fly in one or (usually) two generations from April to early September. The caterpillar lives from the summer to October also open on the plant during the day, but well camouflaged. The pupa overwinters.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
In the lowlands, for example in the Upper Rhine Valley, Anarta myrtilli has already lost almost all locations as a result of the intensification of agriculture and the increasingly rampant overbuilding by industry, transportation routes and settlements. In the mountains, Anarta myrtilli is currently threatened even less, though here also constantly habitat area is lost by reforestation, ski runs and other tourist facilities. In the northern Black Forest Anarta myrtilli could benefit from the storm areas in recent decades, but that is currently canceled again with their gradual overgrowth.

Remarks:
Anarta myrtilli is quite widespread in Europe as a whole, but lacks many landscapes completely (limestone areas, etc.). In the south, it is still more local and is missing e.g. in Southern Italy or Greece.


German version / deutsche Version

Anarta myrtilli (Linnaeus, 1761) (Heidekraut-Bunteule)


Anarta myrtilli: Falter [S] Anarta myrtilli: Falter [S] Anarta myrtilli: Falter [S] Anarta myrtilli: Raupe (Nordschwarzwald, Anfang Oktober 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Raupe (Nordschwarzwald, Anfang Oktober 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Raupe (Nordschwarzwald, Anfang Oktober 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Raupe (Nordschwarzwald, Anfang Oktober 2010) [N] Anarta myrtilli: Raupe (Nordschwarzwald, Anfang Oktober 2010) [M] Anarta myrtilli: Puppe [S] Anarta myrtilli: Larvalhabitat im Nordschwarzwald auf einer ehemaligen Windwurffläche (Oktober 2010) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt an Calluna vulgaris (Besenheide).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Anarta myrtilli besiedelt sonnige Calluna-Standorte wie verheidete Hochmoore, Calluna-Heiden auf Silikat in den Gebirgen oder Sandheiden in der Ebene.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in ein bis (meist) zwei Generationen von April bis Anfang September. Die Raupe lebt vom Sommer bis Oktober auch tagsüber offen, aber gut getarnt an der Nahrungspflanze. Die Puppe überwintert.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Tiefland, beispielsweise im Oberrheintal, hat Anarta myrtilli infolge der Intensivierung in der Landwirtschaft und der immer weiter ausufernden Überbauung durch Industrie, Verkehrswege und Siedlungen bereits fast alle Standorte verloren. In den Gebirgen ist Anarta myrtilli derzeit noch weniger bedroht, wenn auch hier durch Verwaldung, Pistenplanierungen und andere touristische Einrichtungen ständig Habitatfläche verloren geht. Im Nordschwarzwald konnte Anarta myrtilli von den Sturmflächen der letzten Jahrzehnte etwas profitieren, was mit dem allmählichen Zuwachsen derselben derzeit wieder aufgehoben wird.

Bemerkungen:
Anarta myrtilli ist in Europa insgesamt recht weit verbreitet, fehlt aber vielen Landschaften ganz (Kalkgebiete etc.). Im Süden ist sie insgesamt seltener und fehlt etwa in Süditalien oder Griechenland.


English version / englische Version