Polyommatus idas (Linnaeus, 1761)


Polyommatus idas: Male [S] Polyommatus idas: Male lower side [S] Polyommatus idas: Female [S] Polyommatus idas: Female lower side [S] Polyommatus idas: Ovum at Genista germanica [N] Polyommatus idas: Larva [S] Polyommatus idas: Larva at Hippophae rhamnoides (Valais, Switzerland) [M] Polyommatus idas: Larva at Helianthemum (Southwestern Alps) [N] Polyommatus idas: Larva at Oxytropis cmpestris (Ticino, Switzerland) [M] Polyommatus idas: Larva (Spanish west Pyrenees, Aisa, 2300m above sea level, early July 2010) [M] Polyommatus idas: Larva with ants (Valais, Täschalpe, June 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on Fabaceae, Ericaceae, Cistaceae and Hippophaes rhamnoides. Locally, the species shows a relative restriction to single species. So oviposition takes place exclusively on Sarothamnus scoparia in the northern Upper Rhine Valley, on Hippophaes in the Rhone valley bottom in the Valais (Pfynwald) and in the High Alps preferably on Helianthemum.

Habitat:
Polyommatus idas occurs in extensively managed open country and in broad, sunny forest edges. The butterfly prefers nutrient-poor habitats such as sandy grasslands, pastures and scrubby, dry places.

Life cycle:
The egg hibernates and is therefore usually deposited at woody parts. Adapting to such structures may be one reason for the regional preference of single host plants. So I found a lot of eggs in the north Bavarian Steigerwald on woody Genista germanica or on the Swiss Täschalpe on shoots and moss in Helianthemum pads.
At higher elevations, the adults fly in a single generation between late June and mid-August. At lower elevations, there are mostly two generations, rarely even a partial third.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
In the lowlands Polyommatus idas is threatened by extinction due to the loss of suitable semi-open structures (large forest edges with brooms, sandy grasslands etc.). In the (central and southern) Alps Polyommatus idas is still at little risk up to 2500m msl.

Remarks:
In Europe, Polyommatus idas occurs locally from the Iberian Peninsula to Northern Scandinavia (misses in the British Isles). In southern Europe the distribution is more restricted to the mountains and Polyommatus idas misses mostly in the very south and on the most Isles. Additionally, Polyommatus idas is found in parts of more northern Asia.



Polyommatus admetus | Polyommatus agestis | Polyommatus amandus | Polyommatus argus | Polyommatus argyrognomon | Polyommatus aroaniensis | Polyommatus artaxerxes | Polyommatus bellargus | Polyommatus coridon | Polyommatus cramera | Polyommatus damon | Polyommatus daphnis | Polyommatus dolus | Polyommatus dorylas | Polyommatus eros | Polyommatus escheri | Polyommatus eumedon | Polyommatus fabressei | Polyommatus glandon | Polyommatus hispanus | Polyommatus icarus | Polyommatus loewii | Polyommatus nicias | Polyommatus nivescens | Polyommatus orbitulus | Polyommatus pylaon | Polyommatus pyrenaicus | Polyommatus ripartii | Polyommatus semiargus | Polyommatus thersites

Polyommatus idas (Linnaeus, 1761) (Idas-Bläuling)


Polyommatus idas: Männchen [S] Polyommatus idas: Männchen-Unterseite [S] Polyommatus idas: Weibchen [S] Polyommatus idas: Weibchen-Unterseite [S] Polyommatus idas: Ei an Genista germanica [N] Polyommatus idas: Raupe [S] Polyommatus idas: Raupe an Sanddorn (Wallis) [M] Polyommatus idas: Raupe an Helianthemum (Südwestalpen) [N] Polyommatus idas: Raupe an Oxytropis cmpestris (Tessin) [M] Polyommatus idas: Raupe (spanische Westpyrenäen, Aisa, 2300m NN, Anfang Juli 2010) [M] Polyommatus idas: Raupe mit Ameisenbesuch (Wallis, Täschalpe, Juni 2010) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an Fabaceae, Ericaceae, Cistaceae und Hippophaes rhamnoides. Gebietsweise wird eine teilweise Beschränkung auf einzelne Gattungen beobachtet. So wird am nördlichen Oberrhein fast nur an Sarothamnus scoparia abgelegt, im Walliser Rhonetal (Pfyntal) an Hippophaes und in den Hochalpen (z.B. Täschalpe) bevorzugt an Helianthemum.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Polyommatus idas besiedelt extensive Habitate im Offenland sowie auch breite Waldsäume. Allgemein kommt der Falter in mageren Beständen vor wie Sandmagerrasen, Weiden und gebüschreichen Trockenrasen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Das Ei überwintert und wird deshalb meist an verholzten Teilen abgelegt. Die Anpassung an solche Strukturen mag ein Grund für die regionale Oligophagie sein. So fand ich viele Eier im Steigerwald an verholztem Genista germanica oder auf der Täschalpe an Trieben und im Moos um Helianthemum-Polster.
Die Falter fliegen in den Hochlagen in nur einer Generation von Ende Juni bis Mitte August. In tieferen Lagen werden meist zwei Generationen ausgebildet (seltener sogar partiell 3).

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Tiefland ist Polyommatus idas durch den Rückgang von geeigneten, halboffenen Strukturen (breite Waldsäume mit Ginster, Sandmagerrasen etc.) oft vom Aussterben bedroht. In den (zentralen und südlichen) Hochalpen ist Polyommatus idas hingegen bis über 2500m NN nur lokal gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Polyommatus idas kommt in Europa lokal von der Iberischen Halbinsel bis Nordskandinavien vor (fehlt auf den Britischen Inseln). In Südeuropa ist die Verbreitung mehr auf die Gebirge beschränkt und Polyommatus idas fehlt in den südlichsten Gebieten und auf den Inseln meist ganz.
Daneben ist Polyommatus idas im mehr nördlichen Asien verbreitet.



Polyommatus admetus | Polyommatus agestis | Polyommatus amandus | Polyommatus argus | Polyommatus argyrognomon | Polyommatus aroaniensis | Polyommatus artaxerxes | Polyommatus bellargus | Polyommatus coridon | Polyommatus cramera | Polyommatus damon | Polyommatus daphnis | Polyommatus dolus | Polyommatus dorylas | Polyommatus eros | Polyommatus escheri | Polyommatus eumedon | Polyommatus fabressei | Polyommatus glandon | Polyommatus hispanus | Polyommatus icarus | Polyommatus loewii | Polyommatus nicias | Polyommatus nivescens | Polyommatus orbitulus | Polyommatus pylaon | Polyommatus pyrenaicus | Polyommatus ripartii | Polyommatus semiargus | Polyommatus thersites