Polyommatus amandus (Schneider, 1792)


Polyommatus amandus: Male [S] Polyommatus amandus: Female [N] Polyommatus amandus: Male [S] Polyommatus amandus: Female [S] Polyommatus amandus: Mating [N] Polyommatus amandus: Ovae on the upper side of a Vicia cracca leaf. Such concentrations are rarely observed. [N] Polyommatus amandus: Ovum [M] Polyommatus amandus: Ovum [M] Polyommatus amandus: L1-larva [S] Polyommatus amandus: L2-larva [S] Polyommatus amandus: L3-larva (hibernationsstadium) [S] Polyommatus amandus: Larva after the last moult (eastern Swabian Alb, May 2008) [M] Polyommatus amandus: Larva [S] Polyommatus amandus: Pupa [S] Polyommatus amandus: Place of larval record: Vicia cracca in a forest edge (May 2008, eastern Swabian Alb) [N] Polyommatus amandus: Habitat in May 2008: larva at the left margin of the aisle [N] Polyommatus amandus: Habitat (eastern Swabian Alb) [N]

Host plants:
The larvae feed especially on Vicia cracca and Vicia tenuifolia, but also Lathyrus pratensis.

Habitat:
Polyommatus amandus is a mesophilic to hygrophile species that is characteristic for margins and fresh fallow land and forb communities near the forest. On the eastern Swabian Alb, it occurs in clearings, embankments and forest edges. It can be observed often in species-rich, relatively wet woodland margins with Zygaena osterodensis, Satyrium ilicis and Z. lonicerae along forest paths through ash- and oak-rich, light forests. They also reproduce in margins of higher growing, little grazed limestone grasslands and similar places. In Valais, I met adults on clearings of Larix forests on steep slopes with Lathyrus pratensis still at 2100m above sea level.

Life cycle:
A single generation is performed from late June to July. The young caterpillar overwinters in the second instar at ground level. Eggs are laid on the upper leaf surface, rarely also on stems particularly of Vicia cracca. The males patrol often quite persistent in the habitat. The females are much less noticeable.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Polyommatus amandus is locally in expansion and can also colonize abandoned sheep pastures (juniper heathland). But overall, it has already lost many sites due to increasing dark forest management, eutrophication, succession and the general loss of uncultivated places. Thus it is endangered

Remarks:
The distribution ranges from Northwest Africa to Spain (very local, more in the north), Southern France, Italy (Apennines) and the Alps (central and southern parts). Polyommatus amandus is more widespread east and southeast of the line eastern Swabian Alb in Germany - Denmark - Norway and occurs to Western Asia (Turkey, Iran, southern Russia).



Polyommatus admetus | Polyommatus agestis | Polyommatus argus | Polyommatus argyrognomon | Polyommatus aroaniensis | Polyommatus artaxerxes | Polyommatus bellargus | Polyommatus coridon | Polyommatus cramera | Polyommatus damon | Polyommatus daphnis | Polyommatus dolus | Polyommatus dorylas | Polyommatus eros | Polyommatus escheri | Polyommatus eumedon | Polyommatus fabressei | Polyommatus glandon | Polyommatus hispanus | Polyommatus icarus | Polyommatus idas | Polyommatus loewii | Polyommatus nicias | Polyommatus nivescens | Polyommatus orbitulus | Polyommatus pylaon | Polyommatus pyrenaicus | Polyommatus ripartii | Polyommatus semiargus | Polyommatus thersites

Polyommatus amandus (Schneider, 1792) (Prächtiger Bläuling)


Polyommatus amandus: Männchen [S] Polyommatus amandus: Weibchen [N] Polyommatus amandus: Männchen-Unterseite [S] Polyommatus amandus: Weibchen-Unterseite [S] Polyommatus amandus: Kopula [N] Polyommatus amandus: Eier auf der Blattoberseite von Vicia cracca Solche Ansammlungen sind selten zu beobachten. [N] Polyommatus amandus: Ei [M] Polyommatus amandus: Ei [M] Polyommatus amandus: L1-Raupe [S] Polyommatus amandus: L2-Raupe [S] Polyommatus amandus: L3-Raupe (Überwinterungsstadium) [S] Polyommatus amandus: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung (Ostalb, Mai 2008) [M] Polyommatus amandus: Raupe [S] Polyommatus amandus: Puppe [S] Polyommatus amandus: Raupenfundstelle: Vicia cracca in einem Waldsaum (Mai 2008, Ostalb) [N] Polyommatus amandus: Habitat im Mai 2008: Raupe im Saum am linken Schneisenrand [N] Polyommatus amandus: Habitat (Ostalb) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
In erster Linie leben die Raupen an Vicia cracca und Vicia tenuifolia, aber auch Lathyrus pratensis.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Polyommatus amandus ist eine mesophile bis hygrophile Art, die charakteristisch für Säume und frische Brachen in Waldnähe ist. Auf der östlichsten Schwäbischen Alb kommt sie auf Kahlschlägen, Böschungen und Waldrändern vor. Oft ist sie in artenreichen, relativ feuchten Säumen mit Zygaena osterodensis, Satyrium ilicis und Z. lonicerae an Waldwegen durch eschen- und eichenreiche lichte Wälder zu beobachten. Zudem pflanzt sie sich in versaumten, wenig beweideten Wacholderheiden und anderen Magerrasen fort. Im Wallis traf ich Falter auf Lichtungen von Lärchenwäldern an steilen Rutschungshängen mit Lathyrus pratensis noch oberhalb von 2100m NN an.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in einer Generation von Ende Juni bis Juli. Die noch junge Raupe überwintert im zweiten Stadium in Bodennähe. Die Eiablage erfolgt auf der Blattoberseite, selten am Stängel besonders von Vicia cracca. Die Männchen patroullieren ausdauernd im Habitat, die Weibchen sind wesentlich unauffälliger.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Stellenweise ist diese Art in Ausbreitung und kann kurzzeitig auch brach gefallende Schafweiden (Wacholderheiden) nutzen. Insgesamt büßt sie aber durch die Entsaumung der Wälder (Eutrophierung, intensive Dunkelwaldwirtschaft, Sukzession) und den allgemeinen Verlust unbewirtschafteter Flächen viele Fundstellen ein. Somit ist der Falter gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Die Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Nordwestafrika über Spanien (sehr lokal, mehr im Norden), Südfrankreich und Italien (Apennin) zu den Alpen (zentrale und südliche Teile). Östlich bzw. südöstlich der Linie östliche Schwäbische Alb - Dänemark - Südnorwegen ist Polyommatus amandus bis nach Westasien (Türkei, Iran, Südrußland) allgemein weiter verbreitet, etwa auf dem Balkan.



Polyommatus admetus | Polyommatus agestis | Polyommatus argus | Polyommatus argyrognomon | Polyommatus aroaniensis | Polyommatus artaxerxes | Polyommatus bellargus | Polyommatus coridon | Polyommatus cramera | Polyommatus damon | Polyommatus daphnis | Polyommatus dolus | Polyommatus dorylas | Polyommatus eros | Polyommatus escheri | Polyommatus eumedon | Polyommatus fabressei | Polyommatus glandon | Polyommatus hispanus | Polyommatus icarus | Polyommatus idas | Polyommatus loewii | Polyommatus nicias | Polyommatus nivescens | Polyommatus orbitulus | Polyommatus pylaon | Polyommatus pyrenaicus | Polyommatus ripartii | Polyommatus semiargus | Polyommatus thersites