Coenonympha tullia (Müller, 1764)


Coenonympha tullia: Female (S-Bavaria, Staffelsee, July 2014) [N] Coenonympha tullia: Adult [N] Coenonympha tullia: Ovum [S] Coenonympha tullia: L1 larva [S] Coenonympha tullia: Young larva [S] Coenonympha tullia: Larva, lateral [S] Coenonympha tullia: Larva, dorsal [S] Coenonympha tullia: Larva, zusammengerollt [S] Coenonympha tullia: Pupa (Photo Mario Peluso) [S] Coenonympha tullia: Butterfly Habitat [N] Coenonympha tullia: Habitat near lake Staffelsee (S-Bavaria, July 2014) [N]

Host plants:
The larvae feed on moor grasses (Poaceae and Cyperaceae) as Eriophorium vaginatum or E. angustifolium etc.

Habitat:
Coenonympha tullia inhabits more or less open bogs and allied moor stages. The adults barely leave the larval habitat.

Life cycle:
Coenonympha tullia hibernates as a larva in the third last to rare penultimate instar. Adults fly between late June and early August.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
In Central Europe Coenonympha tullia has been already severely pushed back by the shrinkage of the bogs (drainage, peat extraction, eutrophication). The remaining populations suffer another massive decline, presumably also due to global warming. In Baden-Wuerttemberg (Germany) Coenonympha tullia is still found only rarely in the Black Forest, while the former numerous populations in Upper Swabia are obviously already extinct. In neighboring southern Bavaria Coenonympha tullia is decreasing from west. It is still better distributed there, for example, at the edge of the Upper Bavarian Alps south of Munich (Mario Peluso).

In Scandinavia, the situation is still much better for Coenonympha tullia.

Remarks:
Coenonympha tullia is distributed from the north of the British Isles and eastern France (only rare and local) across central, northern and Eastern Europe. It is also found in colder regions of Asia and North America (Holarctic distribution pattern).



Coenonympha arcania | Coenonympha corinna | Coenonympha darwiniana | Coenonympha dorus | Coenonympha gardetta | Coenonympha glycerion | Coenonympha hero | Coenonympha leander | Coenonympha oedippus | Coenonympha pamphilus | Coenonympha rhodopensis | Coenonympha thyrsis

Coenonympha tullia (Müller, 1764) (Moor-Wiesenvögelchen)


Coenonympha tullia: Weibchen (S-Bayern, Staffelsee, Juli 2014) [N] Coenonympha tullia: Falter [N] Coenonympha tullia: Ei [S] Coenonympha tullia: Eiraupe [S] Coenonympha tullia: Jungraupe [S] Coenonympha tullia: Raupe, lateral [S] Coenonympha tullia: Raupe, dorsal [S] Coenonympha tullia: Raupe, zusammengerollt [S] Coenonympha tullia: Puppe (Photo Mario Peluso) [S] Coenonympha tullia: Imaginalhabitat [N] Coenonympha tullia: Habitat am Staffelsee (Südbayern) im Juli 2014 [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an Hochmoor-Gräsern (Poaceae und Cyperaceae) wie Eriophorium vaginatum oder E. angustifolium etc.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Coenonympha tullia besiedelt mehr oder weniger offene Hochmoore und Zwischenmoore und verläßt das Larvalhabitat kaum.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Coenonympha tullia überwintert als Raupe im drittletzten bis seltener vorletzten Stadium. Die Falter fliegen von Ende Juni bis Anfang August.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Mitteleuropa wurde Coenonympha tullia durch den Schwund der Hochmoore (Entwässerung, Abtorfung, Eutrophierung) bereits sehr stark zurückgedrängt. Auch die noch vorhandenen Populationen erleiden weitere massive Bestandseinbrüche (vermutlich auch durch die Klimaerwärmung). So ist Coenonympha tullia in Baden-Württemberg nur mehr sehr selten im Schwarzwald vorhanden, während die früheren zahlreichen Populationen in Oberschwaben offenbar erloschen sind. Auch im angrenzenden Südbayern wird Coenonympha tullia von Westen her immer lokaler und seltener. Gut verbreitet ist der Falter derzeit noch beispielsweise am oberbayerischen Alpenrand südlich München (Mario Peluso).

In Skandinavien ist die Situation noch besser.

Bemerkungen:
Coenonympha tullia ist vom Norden der Britischen Inseln und Ostfrankreich (lokal und selten) über Mittel-, Ost- und Nordeuropa verbreitet. Der Falter kommt auch im kälteren Asien und in Nordamerika vor (holarktischer Verbreitungstyp).



Coenonympha arcania | Coenonympha corinna | Coenonympha darwiniana | Coenonympha dorus | Coenonympha gardetta | Coenonympha glycerion | Coenonympha hero | Coenonympha leander | Coenonympha oedippus | Coenonympha pamphilus | Coenonympha rhodopensis | Coenonympha thyrsis