Nymphalis polychloros (Linnaeus, 1758)


Nymphalis polychloros: Adult [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Upper side [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Female, at flower buds of Fraxinus (northern Baden-Württemberg, Schrozberg, early April 2010) [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Lower side [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Already mostly hatched eggs on a thin Crataegus branch (France, Col de Vence, 1000m above sea level, late April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Already mostly hatched eggs on a thin Crataegus branch (France, Col de Vence, 1000m above sea level, late April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Larvae in the first instar (Col de Vence, April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Young larvae (L2, Col de Vence, April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Young nest of larvae (Northern Greece, May 2008) [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Larvae [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Larva [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Larva (e.l. Northern Greece) [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Larvae [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Larvae at Salix caprea [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Pupa [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Pupa [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Habitat in Southern France (Col de Vence). Here I observed young larvae on Crataegus and Pyrus already in late April 2012. [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Habitat in a light deciduous forest on the eastern Swabian Alb. Here the butterflies can be observed in March and April basking on the soil or on litter (April 2012)  [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on some trees and bushes, especially from the families Salicaceae (Sallows like Salix caprea), Ulmaceae (elms like Ulmus glabra and also Celtis australis) and Rosaceae (Prunus, Crataegus). In the south, the caterpillars are very often found on hackberry (Celtis).

Habitat:
Nymphalis polychloros inhabits open forests, coppice forests, parklands, hedges and occurs especially in the warmer, lower regions. In the south the butterflies like to live in warm open oak forests with local hackberry and elms (as well as in gardens). Nymphalis polychloros is quite common for example in the Italian Susa Valley and the French Massif de la Sainte Baume near Marseille.
But north of the Alps, there are also regions such as the Steigerwald in northern Bavaria, where Nymphalis polychloros is still not so rare. Altogether, Nymphalis polychloros is more an inhabitant of warmer lowlands up to 700m above sea level and only occasionally higher (especially in the south).

Life cycle:
Nymphalis polychloros occurs in a single generation, in the south occasionally in two. Hibernated butterflies are active between March and May (in the south occasionally already in February). The eggs are deposited mostly on thin branches. Caterpillars can be found especially in May and June. They live together in larger communities and can defoliate smaller bushes completely.
In summer/early autumn the adults are observed only occasionally because they seem to rest for longer periods and start hibernation also soonly.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
In the north Nymphalis polychloros is endangerd in most regions due to dark forest management and levelling of the landscape (large fields, no hedges etc.). In the years 2005-2007, however, a significant increase (longtime fluctuations of abundance) was observed for example on the eastern Swabian Alb (Germany). Nymphalis polychloros benefits from warm springs that allow a good oviposition rate and a fast caterpillar development.
South of the main ridge of the Alps Nymphalis polychloros is not endangered and still quite widesprad in many regions (e.g. Northern Greece, Southern Alps, Provence).

Remarks:
The distribution extends from North Africa across Southern and Central Europe and temperate Asia to the Himalayas.



Nymphalis antiopa | Nymphalis c-album | Nymphalis egea | Nymphalis ichnusa | Nymphalis io | Nymphalis urticae

Nymphalis polychloros (Linnaeus, 1758) (Großer Fuchs)


Nymphalis polychloros: Falter [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Oberseite [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Weibchen, an Blütenknospen von Fraxinus saugend (Nordwürttemberg, Schrozberg, Anfang April 2010) [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Unterseite [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Bereits weitgehend geschlüpftes Eigelege an einem Crataegus-Ästchen (Col de Vence, Frankreich, Ende April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Bereits weitgehend geschlüpftes Eigelege an einem Crataegus-Ästchen (Col de Vence, Frankreich, Ende April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: L1-Raupen (Col de Vence, April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Jungraupen (L2, Col de Vence, April 2012) [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Jungraupennest (Nordgriechenland, Mai 2008) [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Raupengesellschaft [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Raupe [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Raupe (e.l. Nordgriechenland) [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Raupen [M] Nymphalis polychloros: Raupengesellschaft an Salweide [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Puppe [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Puppe [S] Nymphalis polychloros: Habitat am Col de Vence sind gebüschreiche, beweidete Magerrasen. Hier fand ich schon Ende April 2012 Jungraupen an Crataegus und Pyrus. [N] Nymphalis polychloros: Habitat auf der Ostalb. In lichten, warmen Waldgebieten sind die Falter im März und April öfter an Wegen oder auf toter vorjähriger Vegetation sitzend zu beobachten (April 2012) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen fressen an einigen verschiedenen Gehölzen, besonders aus den Familien Salicaceae (Weiden wie Salix caprea), Ulmaceae (Ulmen wie Ulmus glabra oder Celtis australis) und Rosaceae (Prunus, Crataegus etc.). Im Süden sind die Raupen besonders häufig an Zürgelbaum (Celtis) anzutreffen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Nymphalis polychloros bewohnt lichte Wälder, vor allem Niederwälder im warmen Bereich, Parklandschaften und Heckengebiete. Im Süden lebt der Falter gerne in warmen Flaumeichenwäldern mit Zürgelbaum (etwa auch in Gärten). Sehr häufig ist Nymphalis polychloros beispielsweise in der Valle di Susa oder im Massif de la Sainte Baume bei Marseille.
Aber auch nördlich der Alpen gibt es noch Gegenden, wie den Steigerwald, wo Nymphalis polychloros noch nicht so selten ist. Insgesamt ist der Falter eher ein Bewohner der tieferen und wärmeren Lagen bis 700m NN (vor allem im Süden auch höher).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in einer Generation, im Süden gelegentlich auch in zwei. Überwinterte Falter werden im März aktiv (im Süden teilweise schon im Februar) und sind dann noch bis Mai zu finden. Die Eier werden in Gelegen an dünne Zweige abgelegt. Raupen finden sich vor allem im Mai und Juni. Sie leben in Gemeinschaften zusammen und können kleinere Büsche völlig kahl fressen.
Im Sommer/Herbst sind die Falter nur gelegentlich zu sehen, da sie offenbar Ruheperioden einlegen und auch schon früh mit der Überwinterung beginnen.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Norden ist Nymphalis polychloros vielerorts durch Dunkelwaldwirtschaft und Ausräumung der Landschaft selten geworden. Bei Memmingen ist sie beispielsweise verschwunden. Letzte eigene Funde gelangen hier um 1990. Auf der östlichen Schwäbischen Alb war vor allem in den Jahren 2005-2007 hingegen eine deutliche Zunahme zu vermelden (langjährige Abundanzzyklen). Nymphalis polychloros profitiert von warmen Frühjahren, die eine gute Ablagerate und eine schnelle Raupenentwicklung zulassen.
Südlich des Alpenhauptkamms ist Nymphalis polychloros nicht gefährdet und vielerorts (Nordgriechenland, Südalpen, Provence) sogar ausgesprochen regelmäßig zu beobachten.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Nordafrika über Süd- und Mitteleuropa und das gemäßigte Asien bis zum Himalaya.



Nymphalis antiopa | Nymphalis c-album | Nymphalis egea | Nymphalis ichnusa | Nymphalis io | Nymphalis urticae