Euphydryas aurinia (Rottemburg, 1775)


Euphydryas aurinia: Female (Bulgaria, Rila mountains, 1900m asl, late July 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Male (Rila mountains, 1900m asl, late July 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Abruzzes, L Euphydryas aurinia: Male (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, late May 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Female (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, late May 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Mating (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, late May 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Mating (Massif de la Sainte Baume, late May 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Female (e.l. Provence, France) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Lower side (e.l. Provence, France) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Abruzzes, L Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Abruzzes, L Euphydryas aurinia: Upper side [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Mating (Kanisfluh, W-Austrian Alps, July 2008) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Lower side [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Courtship (W-Austrian Alps, Rätikon, 1800m asl, July 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Lüner See, W-Austria, 2100m above sea level, early July 2011) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Allgäu Alps, 1500m above sea level) Euphydryas aurinia: Form debilis (Val Rosegg, Engadine) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (Allgäu Alps, 1500m above sea level) Euphydryas aurinia: Upper side debilis (alpine form) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Lower side form debilis (e.l. Val Rosegg) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Lower side debilis (alpine form) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult, Northern Greece, NE Kastoria, 1800m above sea level, July 2010 [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Adult (NE of Kastoria, Greece, 1800m above sea level, July 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Female (N-Greece, Vitsi N Kastoria, late June 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Ovae (of ssp. debilis at Gentiana acaulis at the Lukmanier-Pass, Switzerland) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Young larvae [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Young nest of larvae at Gentiana punctata in the Engadine in 2400m above sea level (September) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Nest of young larvae at Lonicera (east Spain, Castellòn, July 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (S-Bavaria, SW lake Ammersee) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Light larva, Bregenzer Wald, Kanisfluh, W-Austria,1500m above sea level, 2010 [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (Bregenzer Wald, 1500m above sea level) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (Bregenzer Wald, 1500m above sea level) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (Provence, France, April 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (Provence, France, April 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva (debilis-height form) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Larvae at Gentiana shortly after the snow has melted (N-Ticino, Switzerland) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Larva in the Val Rosegg in 2000m above sea level at Lonicera coerulea [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Pupa on Colchicum leaf [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Pupa (debilis, e.l. Switzerland, Val Rosegg, larva in May 2008) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Pupa [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Pupa [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Pupa [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat of the high altitude form debilis (Montafon, 1700-2000m above sea level) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat of the low land form in a fen (S-Bavaria) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat in the Bulgarian Rila mountains in late July 2013 [N]

Host plants:
In the wetland area, the caterpillars live mostly on Succisa pratensis, in the alpine region on Gentiana punctata, Gentiana acaulis and other gentians and Scabiosa lucida. In the Jura, the species lives in its few occurrences mostly on Scabiosa columbaria. Further the larvae occasionally feed on Knautia arvensis where I watched defoliation on a seasonally wet grassland in the Ammersee area (southern Bavaria) in the spring, and Knautia dipsacifolia (seen in forest gap systems of the Allgäu region around 1500m above sea level). Rarely, also other related genera are used as Menyanthes or in parts of the range (Spain) Lonicera (Caprifoliaceae), which is summarized with the Dipsacaceae (Knautia, Succisa, Scabiosa) to the order Dipsacales. Interestingly, I found in May 2008 in the Engadine (Val Rosegg) at 2000m above sea level over 10 caterpillars that fed on the lower stems of Lonicera coerulea! Gentiana could not be observed within a distance of several meters.

Habitat:
Euphydryas aurinia occurs in many types of open landscape habitats. These all have in common that they are managed only very extensively and that they are not too rich in nutrients. Probably Euphydryas aurinia colonized originally many extensive grasslands in Central Europe from the lowlands upt to high elevations in the Alps. There fly smaller, darker and less scaly specimens that were formerly separated as a separate species Euphydryas debilis.
Today Euphydryas aurinia is pushed back to marginal sites like fens on the one hand and dry grasslands on the other due to agricultural intensifications especially in the lowlands. Euphydryas aurinia requires only moderate high growing, not felted areas for development and avoids on the other hand also very low growing and intensively grazed areas especially in the lower elevations.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar overwinters often as L4, rarely also as L3 (especially in the mountains). A repetitive, second overwintering of the caterpillars occurs partially in the plains and more often in the mountains. I found caterpillars and later pupae in the plains between March and May, in the mountains as late as early July. The pupae were often attached to the leaf upper side of Colchicum autumnale in a habitat. The adults fly from May to early July, in the mountains until August. Eggs are laid in clusters on the underside of leaves and was observed the author on Scabiosa lucida (Allgäu Alps), Succisa pratensis (Allgäu) and Gentiana acaulis (Swiss Alps). The young caterpillars and its webs are conspicuous in August/September on the plants.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
Euphydryas aurinia is in very stron decline especially in lower and medium high elevations due to habitat loss because of intensification, afforestation, improper maintenance and isolation. This species tolerates neither a too intensific grazing nor abandonment of extensive maintenance (late mowing once in autumn) for longer periods. The decisive factor is the correlation with the natural growth vigor of the habitat, i.e. weakly growing sites should not be mowed annually, but strong growing and more nutrient-rich sites should. Changing fallow areas should be included in every habitat. Best would be a mowing after mid-September on fen meadows (Molinietum etc.). On vigorous sites a complete mowing even with rotary mowers can be tolerated under certain circumstances, at least in vital populations (A. Nunner personal information).

In the Alpine region, Euphydryas aurinia is currently common and widespread in almost any mountain range (Southern Germany, Austria, Switzerland).

Remarks:
FFH species (Annex II).

The distribution extends from North Africa across Europe and temperate Asia to Korea.



Euphydryas cynthia | Euphydryas desfontainii | Euphydryas intermedia | Euphydryas maturna

Euphydryas aurinia (Rottemburg, 1775) (Goldener Scheckenfalter)


Euphydryas aurinia: Weibchen (Bulgarien, Rila-Gebirge, 1900m NN, Ende Juli 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Männchen (Rila-Gebirge, 1900m NN, Ende Juli 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (Abruzzen, L Euphydryas aurinia: Männchen (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Weibchen (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Kopula (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Kopula (Provence, Massif de la Sainte Baume, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Weibchen (e.l. Provence) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Unterseite (e.l. Provence) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Unterseite (Abruzzen, L Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (Abruzzen, L Euphydryas aurinia: Oberseite [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Kopula (Kanisfluh, Vorarlberg, Juli 2008) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Unterseite [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Balz (Rätikon, 1800m NN, Juli 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (Lüner See, 2100m NN, Anfang Juli 2011) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (Allgäuer Alpen, 1500m NN) Euphydryas aurinia: Form debilis (e.l. Val Rosegg, Engadin) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (Allgäuer Alpen, 1500m NN) Euphydryas aurinia: Oberseite debilis (alpine Form) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Unterseite Form debilis (e.l. Val Rosegg) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Unterseite debilis (alpine Form) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter, Nordgriechenland, NE Kastoria, 1800m NN, Juli 2010 [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Falter (NE von Kastoria, Griechenland, 1800m NN, Juli 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Weibchen (Nordgriechenland, Vitsi N Kastoria, Ende Juni 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Eigelege (von debilis an Gentiana acaulis am Lukmanier-Pass) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Jungraupen [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Jungraupennest an Gentiana punctata im Engadin in 2400m NN (September) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Jungraupennest an Lonicera (Ostspanien, Castellòn, Juli 2013) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (S-Bavaria, SW Ammersee) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Helle Raupe, Bregenzer Wald, Kanisfluh,1500m NN, 2010 [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (Bregenzer Wald, 1500m NN) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (Bregenzer Wald, 1500m NN) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (Provence, April 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (Provence, April 2010) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe (debilis-Höhenform) [M] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupenversammlung an Gentiana kurz nach der Schneeschmelze (N-Tessin) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Raupe im Val Rosegg in 2000 m NN an Lonicera coerulea [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Puppe auf Colchicum-Blatt [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Puppe (debilis, e.l. Val Rosegg, Raupe im Mai 2008) [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Puppe [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Puppe [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Puppe [S] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat der Höhenform debilis (Montafon, 1700-2000m NN) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat der Tieflandform (Falchmoor, S-Bayern) [N] Euphydryas aurinia: Habitat im bulgarischen Rila-Gebirge Ende Juli 2013 [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Im Feuchtwiesenbereich leben die Raupen meist an Succisa pratensis (Teufelsabbiss), im Alpengebiet an Gentiana punctata (Gentianaceae), Gentiana acaulis und weiteren Enzianen sowie Scabiosa lucida (Dipsacaceae). Im Jura lebt die Art an den wenigen Vorkommensstellen meist an Scabiosa columbaria. Dazu wird gelegentlich Knautia arvensis befressen, wo ich beispielsweise auf einer wechselfeuchten Wiese im Ammerseegebiet Kahlfraß im Frühjahr beobachtete, und Knautia dipsacifolia (etwa in Waldlückensystemen der Allgäuer Voralpen um 1500m NN beobachtet). Sehr selten werden weitere, verwandte Gattungen genutzt wie Menyanthes oder in Teilen des Verbreitungsgebiets (Spanien) auch Lonicera, die als Caprifoliaceae zusammen mit den Dipsacaceae (Knautia, Succisa, Scabiosa) zu der Ordnung Dipsacales zusammengefasst wird. Interessanterweise fand ich im Mai 2008 im Engadin (Val Rosegg) in 2000m NN über 10 Raupen, die an unteren Trieben von Lonicera coerulea fraßen! Gentiana fand ich im Umkreis mehrerer Meter nicht.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Euphydryas aurinia besiedelt eine Vielzahl von Offenlandbiotopen, denen aber allen gemeinsam ist, dass sie nur sehr extensiv bewirtschaftet werde und generell nährstoffarm bis höchstens mäßig nährstoffreich sind. Ursprünglich wird wohl sämtliches extensives Grünland Mitteleuropas bis hoch in die Alpen hinauf besiedelt worden sein. Dort fliegen kleinere, dunklere und schwächer beschuppte Exemplare, die früher unnötigerweise als eigene Art Euphydryas debilis abgetrennt wurden.
Heute ist Euphydryas aurinia durch Intensivierung im Tiefland auf Grenzertragsstandorte wie Moorwiesen und Trockenrasen zurückgedrängt worden. Der Falter benötigt nur mäßig hochwüchsige, nicht zu verfilzte Flächen zur Eiablage und meidet andererseits aber auch sehr magere, niedrigwüchsige und intensiv beweidete Flächen vor allem in tieferen Lagen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe überwintert oft als L4, selten als L3 (vor allem im Gebirge jünger). Im Flachland seltener und im Gebirge häufiger bis regelmäßig kommt eine repetetive, zweite Raupenüberwinterung vor. Raupen und später Puppen fand ich im Flachland von März bis Mai, im Gebirge noch Anfang Juli. Die Puppen waren in einem Biotop gerne an Blattoberseiten von Colchicum autumnale angesponnen. Die Falter fliegen von Mai bis Anfang Juli, im Gebirge noch im August. Die Eiablage erfolgt in Haufen an die Blattunterseite und wurde von mir an Scabiosa lucida (Allgäuer Alpen), Succisa pratensis (Allgäu) und Gentiana acaulis (Schweizer Alpen) beobachtet. Die Jungraupen-Gemeinschaftsgespinste fallen im August/September an den Pflanzen sehr auf.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Euphydryas aurinia geht außeralpin sehr zurück aufgrund von Lebensraumverlust wegen Intensivierung, Aufforstung, falscher Pflege und Isolation. Diese Art verträgt weder zu intensive Beweidung noch ein dauerndes Brachfallen. Entscheidend ist die Korrelation mit der natürlichen Wüchsigkeit des Lebensraumes, d.h. schwachwüchsige Flächen sollten nicht alljährlich gemäht werden, starkwüchsige hingegen schon, wobei gewisse, wechselnde Bracheanteile anzustreben sind. Am besten dürfte auf Feuchtwiesen (Molinieten u.a.) eine Mahd ab Mitte September sein, wobei auf wüchsigen Stellen auch eine Totalmahd mit dem Kreiselmäher zumindest von vitalen Populationen vertragen werden kann (Auskunft A. Nunner).

Im Alpenraum ist Euphydryas aurinia derzeit häufig und weit verbreitet an nahezu jedem Berg (Allgäu, Vorarlberg, Schweiz).

Bemerkungen:
FFH-Art (Anhang II).

Die Verbreitung erstreckt sich von Nordafrika über Europa und das gemäßigte Asien bis Korea.



Euphydryas cynthia | Euphydryas desfontainii | Euphydryas intermedia | Euphydryas maturna