Zamacra flabellaria (Heeger, 1838)


Zamacra flabellaria: Larva (Samos, early May 2009) [N] Zamacra flabellaria: Larva (Samos, early May 2009) [N] Zamacra flabellaria: Larva (Sardinia, May 2012) [M] Zamacra flabellaria: Pupa (e.l. Sardinia 2012) [S] Zamacra flabellaria: Habitat in Samos [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives polyphagous on herbs, such as Asteraceae and especially Apiaceae. I found the caterpillars in Samos on Daucus carota and Pastinaca. In Sardinia, I observed it in May 2012 only on Ferula communis.

Habitat:
Zamacra flabellaria inhabits dry warm habitats such as meadows, embankments and extensive edges or steppe-like slopes. I found caterpillars in forb edges in sunny to partially shaded sites in olive groves.

Life cycle:
The caterpillar lives in the spring from April to June. In Samos, I found already in early May 2009 mature larvae during the day at the plant. The largely developed moth overwinters in the pupal case in a tight earth cocoon. The moths fly from February to April.

Remarks:
Zamacra flabellaria is distributed in the southern half of Italy (including Sardinia) and the southern Balkans (Greece, with some islands). It is also found in Asia Minor and from southern Russia far to the east in the Asian steppe belt.

Zamacra flabellaria (Heeger, 1838)


Zamacra flabellaria: Raupe (Samos, Anfang Mai 2009) [N] Zamacra flabellaria: Raupe (Samos, Anfang Mai 2009) [N] Zamacra flabellaria: Raupe (Sardinien, Mai 2012) [M] Zamacra flabellaria: Puppe (e.l. Sardinien 2012) [S] Zamacra flabellaria: Habitat auf Samos [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt polyphag an Kräutern, z.B. Asteraceae und insbesondere Apiaceae. Ich fand die Raupen auf Samos an Daucus carota und Pastinaca. Auf Sardinien fand ich sie im Mai 2012 nur an Ferula communis.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Zamacra flabellaria besiedelt trockenwarme Habitate wie extensive Wiesen und Säume oder Steppen. Ich fand Raupen in Krautsäumen etwa an sonnigen bis halbschattigen Stellen von Olivenhainen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupe lebt im Frühjahr von April bis in den Juni. Aus Samos fand ich bereits Anfang Mai 2009 prall ausgewachsene Tiere tags an der Pflanze. Der weitgehend entwickelte Falter überwintert in der Puppenhülle in einem dichten Erdkokon. Die Falter fliegen von Februar bis April.

Bemerkungen:
Zamacra flabellaria ist im südlicheren Italien (inklusive Sardinien) sowie auf dem südlichen Balkan (Griechenland, mit einigen Inseln) verbreitet. Daneben kommt sie etwa in Kleinasien und von Südrußland bis weit nach Osten im asiatischen Steppengürtel vor.