Rhodometra sacraria (Linnaeus, 1767)


Rhodometra sacraria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Rhodometra sacraria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Rhodometra sacraria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Rhodometra sacraria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Rhodometra sacraria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M]

Host plants:
The caterpillar is polyphagous and is said to prefer Polygonum aviculare. I found it in Fuerteventura on Sonchus (Asteraceae).

Habitat:
Rhodometra sacraria inhabits dry warm, herb-rich habitats of all kinds.

Life cycle:
In Europe, the moth flies from spring to autumn, further south, however, year-round. I found the caterpillar in late February 2011 in Fuerteventura in a herb-rich dry creek bed with adjacent disused terraces.

Remarks:
Rhodometra sacraria is widespread throughout Africa and large parts of the warmer Asia. In Europe it is likely to be native to the southern foothills of the Alps. Further north rarely migrant moths are observed. Rhodometra sacraria occurs also in the Canary Islands and Madeira.

Rhodometra sacraria (Linnaeus, 1767)


Rhodometra sacraria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Rhodometra sacraria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Rhodometra sacraria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Rhodometra sacraria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Rhodometra sacraria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe ist polyphag und soll Polygonum aviculare bevorzugen. Ich fand sie auf Fuerteventura an Sonchus (Asteraceae).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Rhodometra sacraria besiedelt trockenwarme, krautreiche Habitate.

Entwicklungszyklus:
In Europa fliegt der Falter vom Frühjahr bis zum Herbst, weiter südlich hingegen ganzjährig. Die Raupe fand ich Ende Februar 2011 auf Fuerteventura in einem krautreichen Trockenbachbett mit angrenzenden, brachgefallenen Terrassen.

Bemerkungen:
Rhodometra sacraria ist über ganz Afrika und weite Teile des wärmeren Asien verbreitet. In Europa dürfte sie bis zum Alpensüdrand bodenständig sein. Weiter nördlich treten nur selten Wanderfalter auf. Rhodometra sacraria kommt auch auf den Kanarischen Inseln und Madeira vor.