Heliothea discoidaria Boisduval, 1840


Heliothea discoidaria: Adult (Andalusia, late June 2008) [N] Heliothea discoidaria: Adult (Andalusia, late June 2008) [N] Heliothea discoidaria: Adult (Andalusia, late June 2008) [M] Heliothea discoidaria: Habitat in Andalusien (Sierra de Huetor, late June 2008) [N]

Host plants:
According to literature Santolina (Asteraceae).

Habitat:
Heliothea discoidaria inhabits bush rich slopes and grasslands at medium altitudes (800-1700m above sea level) with the larval host plants.

Life cycle:
The caterpillars hibernate and the butterflies can be observed in June and July. I found them numerous in Andalusia (Sierra de Huetor and rarer in Sierra Nevada) in late June 2008. The diurnal moths rest similar to Spiris striata distally on blades of grass, and occasionally fly around slowly.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Heliothea discoidaria is now pushed back to a few now often protected Sierras due to giant expansion of agriculture. The other, not protected mountains are often intensively cultivated to quite high elevations for orchards.

Remarks:
Heliothea discoidaria occurs only in Morocco (Middle Atlas) and Spain (locally in mountains).

Heliothea discoidaria Boisduval, 1840


Heliothea discoidaria: Imago (Andalusien, Ende Juni 2008) [N] Heliothea discoidaria: Falter (Andalusien, Ende Juni 2008) [N] Heliothea discoidaria: Falter (Andalusien, Ende Juni 2008) [M] Heliothea discoidaria: Habitat in Andalusien (Sierra de Huetor, Ende Juni 2008) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Laut Literatur Santolina (Asteraceae).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Heliothea discoidaria besiedelt buschreiche Hänge und Magerrasen in mittlerer Höhenlage (800-1700m NN) mit den Raupennahrungspflanzen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Raupen überwintern und die Falter können im Juni und Juli beobachtet werden. Ich fand sie zahlreich in Andalusien (Sierra de Huetor und seltener Sierra Nevada) Ende Juni 2008. Die tagaktiven Falter ruhen ähnlich Spiris striata distal an Grashalmen etc. und fliegen gelegentlich langsam umher.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Durch Kultivierung ist Heliothea discoidaria heute auf einige nun oft geschützte Sierren zurückgedrängt. Andere Berge werden hingegen leider oft bis recht hoch hinauf intensiv für den Obstbau etc. genutzt.

Bemerkungen:
Heliothea discoidaria kommt nur in Marokko (Mittlerer Atlas) und Spanien (lokal in Gebirgen) vor.