Chiasmia aestimaria (Hübner, [1809])


Chiasmia aestimaria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Adult (e.l. February 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (February 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Larva (head) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Pupa [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Pupa [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Habitat in Fuerteventura: Tamarix canariensis in a palm valley near Ajui (late February 2011) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars live on in Tamarix and Myrica (tamarisk). In Fuerteventura, I found caterpillars on Tamarix canariensis.

Habitat:
Chiasmia aestimaria colonized gravel plains in river valleys, ravines with tamarisk in the Canary Islands, coastal areas and similar locations. In places, it is also found in human settlements on planted tamarisk.

Life cycle:
The moths fly in several generations from April to October, in the south also in winter. The caterpillars live on the green branches, and well camouflaged despite (or because of) their variegation. I found many larvae in late February 2011 in Fuerteventura. The blackish pupa rests in a cocoon on the ground.

Endangerment factors:
Overall, Chiasmia aestimaria is threatened still not stronger. But it loses many natural habitats by urbanization of coastal regions and other areas as well as by river development, etc.

Remarks:
Chiasmia aestimaria occurs from Fuerteventura (Canary Islands) across north Africa (to Senegal) and in parts of Asia (Near and Middle East). In Europe, the moth is found in the south of the Iberian Peninsula, southern and very locally also Central France, in Italy and from Croatia to south-Eastern Europe (Greece, Bulgaria, etc.). To the north it seems to reach the Paris region and the southern foothills of the Alps.



Chiasmia clathrata

Chiasmia aestimaria (Hübner, [1809])


Chiasmia aestimaria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Falter (e.l. Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Februar 2011, Fuerteventura) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Raupe (Kopf) [M] Chiasmia aestimaria: Puppe [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Puppe [S] Chiasmia aestimaria: Habitat auf Fuerteventura: Tamarix canariensis in einem Palmental bei Ajui (Ende Februar 2011) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben an an Tamarix und Myrica (Tamarisken). Auf Fuerteventura fand ich Raupen an Tamarix canariensis.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Chiasmia aestimaria besiedelt Schotterflächen in Flusstälern, heiße Barrancos mit Tamarisken auf den Kanaren, Küstengebiete und ähnliche Standorte. Stellenweise kommt sie auch im Siedlungsbereich an gepflanzten Tamarisken vor.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in mehreren Generationen von April bis Oktober, im Süden auch im Winter. Die Raupen leben an den grünen Zweigen und sind trotz (oder wegen) ihrer Buntheit gut getarnt. Zahlreiche Raupen fand ich Ende Februar 2011 auf Fuerteventura. Die schwarze Puppe ruht in einem Kokon am Boden.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Insgesamt ist Chiasmia aestimaria zwar noch nicht stärker bedroht. Durch Urbanisierung der Küstenregionen und anderer Bereiche sowie Gewässerausbau etc. verliert sie aber viele natürliche Habitate.

Bemerkungen:
Chiasmia aestimaria kommt von Fuerteventura (Kanarische Inseln) über ganz Nordafrika (bis Senegal) sowie in Teilen Asiens (Naher und Mittlerer Osten) vor. In Europa kommt der Falter im Süden von der Iberischen Halbinsel über Süd- und ganz lokal auch Mittelfrankreich, Italien und Kroatien bis Südosteuropa vor (Griechenland, Bulgarien etc.). Nach Norden scheint er bis in die Region Paris und zum Alpensüdfuß vorzudringen.



Chiasmia clathrata