Chorthippus brunneus (Thunberg, 1815)


Chorthippus brunneus: Male [M] Chorthippus brunneus: Male (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, late June 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Male (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, late June 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, late June 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Male [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Female [N]

Nutrition:
The species feeds especially on grasses (Poaceae).

Habitat:
Chorthippus brunneus is widespread, but prefers somewhat drier habitats than Chorthippus biguttulus. Optimal habitats with high densities are often lean, dry and sunny, often slopy woodland clearings or edges and sometimes rocky, non-grazed heathland in wooded areas. Beyond this, Chorthippus brunneus is observed also in nutrient-poor grasslands, on dry agricultural meadows, on embankments and roadsides, in ruderal terrain and even in gardens, parking lots and traffic islands, but there often only in low density.

Life cycle:
Chorthippus brunneus has obviously an uneven embryonic development. Some individuals are already adult in early June, but the majority not until the end of July or August. The last individuals are to be found until at least late October.

Endangerment factors:
Not endangered

Remarks:
Chorthippus brunneus can be often determined through its longer wings compared to Chorthippus biguttulus and C. mollis, easily at the latest by male singing.

The distribution ranges from Northern Spain across most of Europe (apparently absent in the south of the Balkan Peninsula and in the far north of Scandinavia) and far into temperate Asia.



Chorthippus albomarginatus | Chorthippus alticola | Chorthippus apicalis | Chorthippus apricarius | Chorthippus biguttulus | Chorthippus binotatus | Chorthippus bornhalmi | Chorthippus dorsatus | Chorthippus eisentrauti | Chorthippus jucundus | Chorthippus mollis | Chorthippus montanus | Chorthippus parallelus | Chorthippus pullus | Chorthippus rubratibialis | Chorthippus sampeyrensis | Chorthippus vagans

Chorthippus brunneus (Thunberg, 1815) (Brauner Grashüpfer)


Chorthippus brunneus: Männchen [M] Chorthippus brunneus: Männchen (Ostalb, Ende Juni 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Männchen (Ostalb, Ende Juni 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Weibchen (Ostalb, Ende Juni 2012) [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Männchen [N] Chorthippus brunneus: Weibchen [N]

Nahrung:
Die Art ernährt sich besonders von Gräsern (Poaceae).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Chorthippus brunneus ist weit verbreitet, bevorzugt aber etwas trockenere Habitate als das bei Chorthippus biguttulus der Fall ist. Als Optimalhabitate mit teils hohen Individuendichten sind hagere, trockene und stark besonnte, hängige Lichtungen und teils steinige, unbeweidete Steppenheiden in Waldrandlage (gerne Kiefernwälder) zu nennen. Daneben kommt Chorthippus brunneus auch in Magerrasen, trockenen Wirtschaftswiesen, an Wegrändern und Böschungen, in Ruderalgelände, ja selbst in Gärten und auf lückigen Parkplätzen und Verkehrsinseln vor, ist hier aber oft nur in wenigen Individuen präsent.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Chorthippus brunneus weist offenbar eine ungleichmäßige Embryonalentwicklung auf. Einige Tiere sind bereits Anfang Juni adult, die große Mehrzahl aber erst ab Ende Juli bis August. Die letzten Individuen sind bis mindestens Ende Oktober anzutreffen.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Ungefährdet

Bemerkungen:
Chorthippus brunneus ist anhand der im Vergleich zu Chorthippus biguttulus und Chorthippus mollis meist längeren Flügel oft schon im Gelände ansprechbar, leicht und sicher spätestens durch den männlichen Gesang.

Die Verbreitung reicht von Nordspanien über die meisten Gebiete Europas (fehlt offenbar im Süden der Balkanhalbinsel und im hohen Norden Skandinaviens) bis weit ins gemäßigte Asien hinein.



Chorthippus albomarginatus | Chorthippus alticola | Chorthippus apicalis | Chorthippus apricarius | Chorthippus biguttulus | Chorthippus binotatus | Chorthippus bornhalmi | Chorthippus dorsatus | Chorthippus eisentrauti | Chorthippus jucundus | Chorthippus mollis | Chorthippus montanus | Chorthippus parallelus | Chorthippus pullus | Chorthippus rubratibialis | Chorthippus sampeyrensis | Chorthippus vagans