Lycaena thersamon (Esper, 1784)


Lycaena thersamon: Male (Olympus, Northern Greece, early August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Male-lower side (Olympus, early August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Female (Olympus, early August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Female (Olympus, early August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Female (Olympus, early August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Habitat on the west side of Mount Olympus in about 900m above sea level, early August 2012: extensively managed open country on periodically humid ground and much Polygonum aviculare. [N] Lycaena thersamon: Habitat on the west side of Mount Olympus in about 900m above sea level, early August 2012: extensively managed open country on periodically humid ground and much Polygonum aviculare. [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar lives on Polygonum aviculare, maybe also other Polygonum species.

Habitat:
Lycaena thersamon inhabits extensively managed open land. On Mount Olympus, I found them on the west side at 900m above sea level in fallow fields and extensively used meadows and pastures with large Polygonum aviculare-stocks and a numerous occurrence of Lythria purpuraria.

Life cycle:
The moths fly in several generations from April to October. I found the butterfly in early August 2012 on Olympus. The adults like to feed on flowers, especially Mentha species (at Olympus Mentha longifolia and Mentha pulegium).

Endangerment factors:
Lycaena thersamon can be rapidly displaced by intensified management.

Remarks:
Lycaena thersamon occurs locally and rare in Italy, but is missing there in the north and on the Islands. It is a bit more common from eastern and Southeastern Europe to parts of Asia (e.g. Turkey). The northwestern limit of its distribution is approximately in the east of the Czech Republic and western Slovakia. Core of the European presence should be Romania, Bulgaria and northern and Central Greece (in Greece also on some islands as Rhodes and Kos). It is found also in Cyprus.



Lycaena alciphron | Lycaena candens | Lycaena dispar | Lycaena helle | Lycaena hippothoe | Lycaena ottomana | Lycaena phlaeas | Lycaena tityrus | Lycaena virgaureae

Lycaena thersamon (Esper, 1784)


Lycaena thersamon: Männchen (Olymp, Nordgriechenland, Anfang August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Männchen-Unterseite (Olymp, Anfang August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Weibchen (Olymp, Anfang August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Weibchen (Olymp, Anfang August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Weibchen (Olymp, Anfang August 2012) [N] Lycaena thersamon: Habitat auf der Westseite des Olymps in etwa 900m NN, Anfang August 2012: extensives Offenland auf wechselfeuchtem Untergrund und viel Polygonum aviculare. [N] Lycaena thersamon: Habitat auf der Westseite des Olymps in etwa 900m NN, Anfang August 2012: extensives Offenland auf wechselfeuchtem Untergrund und viel Polygonum aviculare. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt an Polygonum aviculare, vielleicht auch anderen Polygonum-Arten.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Lycaena thersamon besiedelt extensives Offenland. Am Olymp fand ich sie auf der Westseite in 900m NN auf Brachfeldern und extensiven Wiesen und Weiden mit großen Polygonum aviculare-Beständen und zahlreichem Auftreten von Spannern der Gattung Lythria purpuraria.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in mehreren Generationen von April bis Oktober. Ich fand die Falter Anfang August 2012 am Olymp. Die Falter saugen gerne an Blüten, besonders Mentha-Arten (am Olymp Mentha longifolia und Mentha pulegium).

Gefährdungsursachen:
Lycaena thersamon kann schnell durch Intensivierung der Bewirtschaftung verdrängt werden.

Bemerkungen:
Lycaena thersamon kommt lokal und selten in Italien vor, fehlt aber hier im Norden und auf den Inseln. Etwas zahlreicher findet man den Falter ab Ost- und Südosteuropa bis in Teile Asiens (z.B. Türkei). Die Nordwestgrenze des Vorkommens liegt etwa im Osten der Tschechei bzw. im Westen der Slowakei. Zentrum des europäischen Vorkommens dürften aber Rumänien, Bulgarien und Nord- und Mittelgriechenland sein (in Griechenland auch auf einigen Inseln wie Kos und Rhodos). Auch auf Zypern.



Lycaena alciphron | Lycaena candens | Lycaena dispar | Lycaena helle | Lycaena hippothoe | Lycaena ottomana | Lycaena phlaeas | Lycaena tityrus | Lycaena virgaureae