Lasiommata petropolitana (Fabricius, 1787)


Lasiommata petropolitana: Female (Täschalpe, Valais, Switzerland, June 2010) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Male (Valais, Switzerland) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Male (Valais, Switzerland) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Adult sucking sweat (Valais, June 2010) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Female [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Lower side [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Ovum [M] Lasiommata petropolitana: L1 larva [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Half-grown larva [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Larva [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Pupa [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Habitat in the northern Alps in about 1600m above sea level (Germany, May 2009). [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Habitat in the Swiss Valais in 2200m above sea level (May 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The larva feeds on grasses (Poaceae, perhaps also Cyperaceae).

Habitat:
Lasiommata petropolitana inhabits bushy alpine pastures and especially forest gap systems, often with rocks, from 800m above sea level up to 2200m. In the German Allgäu Alps it is a quite common species.

Life cycle:
Lasiommata petropolitana occurs in a single generation and is on the wing between late April and July. Usually (but presumably not always) the pupa overwinters so that the butterflies appear rather early in the mountain spring.

Endangerment factors:
In the Alpine region, Lasiommata petropolitana is not severly endangered. But some habitats are destroyed because of the general human land greed (tourism, agriculture, forestry) and because of succession after abandonment. An increasing separation of pastures and forest will be very disadvantageous for Lasiommata petropolitana in the long term.

Remarks:
The distribution ranges from the mountains of Europe (Pyrenees, Alps, Carpathians, Balkans) and Scandinavia east to the Amur region.



Lasiommata maera | Lasiommata megera | Lasiommata paramegera

Lasiommata petropolitana (Fabricius, 1787) (Alpen-Braunauge)


Lasiommata petropolitana: Weibchen (Wallis, Täschalpe, Juni 2010) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Männchen (Wallis) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Männchen (Wallis) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Falter an Rucksack saugend (Wallis, Juni 2010) [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Weibchen-Oberseite [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Unterseite [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Ei [M] Lasiommata petropolitana: Eiraupe [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Halbwüchsige Raupe [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Raupe [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Puppe [S] Lasiommata petropolitana: Habitat in den Allgäuer Alpen  in ca. 1600m NN (Nagelfluhkette), Mai 2009. [N] Lasiommata petropolitana: Habitat im Wallis in 2200m NN (Mai 2010) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe frisst an Gräsern (Poaceae, vielleicht auch Cyperaceae).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Lasiommata petropolitana bewohnt alpine Waldlückensysteme und Weiden, oft mit Felsen, von 800m NN bis über 2200m. In den Allgäuer Alpen ist der Falter eine häufige Erscheinung.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Lasiommata petropolitana fliegt in einer Generation zwischen Ende April und Juli (je nach Höhenlage). Meist (aber wohl nicht immer) überwintert die Puppe, so dass die Falter im Bergfrühling rasch erscheinen.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Alpenbereich ist Lasiommata petropolitana noch nicht stärker gefährdet, wenn auch einzelne Habitate durch den allgemeinen Landschaftsverbrauch des Menschen (Tourismus, Landwirtschaft, Aufforstung) oder auch Verwaldung nach Nutzungsaufgabe zerstört werden. Als nachteilig dürfte sich für diese Art auch eine zunehmende Wald/Weide-Trennung erweisen.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von den Gebirgen Europas (Pyrenäen, Alpen, Karpathen, Balkan) und Skandinavien ostwärts bis in die Amurregion.



Lasiommata maera | Lasiommata megera | Lasiommata paramegera