Pyrgus carthami (Hübner, 1813)


Pyrgus carthami: Female (Valais, June 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Male upper side (e.l. Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Male (Valais, Switzerland) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Female-upper side [M] Pyrgus carthami: Female lower side [S] Pyrgus carthami: Female (Valais) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Male (Valais, Switzerland) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Female portrait (Valais, Switzerland) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Male (e.o. mount Falakron, Northern Greece) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Female (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Male (e.o. Falakron 2009) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Adult (Spanish west Pyrenees, Aisa, 1800m above sea level, early July 2010) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Ovum (an Potentilla cinerea, Falakron, Greece, July 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Occasionally the egg is also deposited on the upper leaf surface (N-Greece, Falakron, Potentilla cinerea, July 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Sometimes you come across severall eggs on the same leaf in suitable places. But these always origin from several ovipositions (but occasionally from the same female). Falakron, July 2009. [N] Pyrgus carthami: Potentilla cinerea with eggs. Falakron, July 2009. [N] Pyrgus carthami: L2-larva (e.o. Falakron, Northern Greece) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L3-larva (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L3-larva (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Larva in penultimate instar (in moult rest into thge last, e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Larva after the last moult (e.o. Falakron). The caterpillars are much lighter when compared to Central European ones. [S] Pyrgus carthami: Fully-grown larva (e.o. Falakron). Despite the light colour of the Greek larvae the darker thorax is also there good visible (typical for the species) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Freshe pupa (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Beginning wax excretion (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Pupa (e.o. Falakron, dorsal) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Pupa ventral (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Ovum (Valle di Susa, Italy) [M] Pyrgus carthami: L1-larva shortly after emergence (Valle di Susa, Italy) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L1-larva after feeding (Valle di Susa, Italy) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Half-grown larva (Verdon) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Larva in penultimate instar (Valle di Susa, Italy) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Fully-grown larva (Valle di Susa, Italy) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Larva (very dark form, e.o. Verdon, SE-France) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Fully-grown larva (Verdon) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Pupa, fresh (Valle di Susa, Italy, Italy) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Pupa (Valle di Susa, Italy) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Pupa (Verdon, Provence, France) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat in the Valle di Susa, Italy [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat in the Valais [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat in the Valais at the time of mature larvae (at the flourishing Potentilla pusilla, April 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat in the Greek Falakro mountains on 1700-1800 m above sea level (July 2009) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars live generally on Potentilla verna and Potentilla pusilla, locally also on other Potentilla species. In Provence it is reported by Nel from Potentilla hirta. I found numerous eggs on Potentilla cinerea on Mount Phalakro in Northern Greece.

Habitat:
Pyrgus carthami inhabits steppe-like, dry, nutrient-poor grasslands and rocky slopes, preferably with intermixed dry scrubland. Only those Potentilla pads serve as larval habitat, that grow on otherwise very sparsely vegetated, sunny ground and are favoured in the respect of microclimate. In the Valle di Susa (Southwestern Alps) the habitats are for example rocky slopes with Stipa sp. at about 500 meters above sea level.
In the Southwestern French Alps (Provence) I observed Pyrgus carthami on grazed, dry terrain at 1500m above sea level, where also occurred Pyrgus bellieri, Zygaena hilaris and Chelis maculosa. Oviposition takes place there on Potentilla pusilla, too. Similar are the habitats in the Swiss Valais where I observed caterpillars and Adults at dry, often steep steppe slopes with P. pusilla up to 1800m above sea level.

Life cycle:
Pyrgus carthami has one generation that mostly appears from mid-May to mid-July and which descendants overwinter in penultimate instar. Occasionally there are butterflies appearing also later in August or even early September. They had hibernated in younger larval instars and their descendants then do the same, because less time is left until the winter. So I found still some worn females at 1500m above sea level in the Swiss Valais on 30/08/2007.
The eggs are often attached to the lower side of the leaves as it is the case with most Pyrgus species (e.g. observed in the Italian Valle di Susa or in Valais), but occasionally or even regionally often also on the upper side (e.g. own observations on Mount Phalakro in Northern Greece or observations of Thomas Fartmann and his team in the Pyrenees and of Juan Hernández Roldán in Spain). This may be seen in context with an extreme hot microclimate, especially if you consider the brighter colour of Southern European larvae compared to those from Central Europe.
The larvae a often found on Potentilla plants that stock at the lower (slope!) and dry side of compact bushes such as Juniperus.

In a breeding with southern French material I observed in a few caterpillars which developed without hibernation five moults. This has to be investigated more detailed (breeding influences).

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
Pyrgus carthami is heavily endangered in Central Europe north of the Alps like most other Pyrgus species due to habitat loss. It is slightly more common only in the large river valleys with accompanying steep slopes (Main, Nahe, Oder). It is already extinct in Baden-Württemberg.

Remarks:
Although Pyrgus carthami is the largest European Pyrgus, it has the smallest eggs, and as fully-grown caterpillar also, interestingly, the smallest droppings.

The butterfly is distributed from Southern Spain locally across Central and Southern Europe (but lacking in many places such as in Central and Southern Greece) to Central Asia (Iran, Southern Russia, etc.). It is still most common in the mountains of the Iberian peninsula, the Southern and Southwestern Alps and locally in Southeastern Europe.

The caterpillar is mostly olive-brown to beige with blackish smoky chest. Larvae from Mount Phalakro (Greece) were significantly lighter in colour (rearing observation).

Hints on determination:
The adults can be determined relatively easy due to their size and the whitish border of the wing underside. On hindwing upperside there is in most cases a regular line of whitish spots like in Pyrgus sidae.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carlinae | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus onopordi | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis

Pyrgus carthami (Hübner, 1813) (Steppenheiden-Würfeldickkopf)


Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen (Wallis, Juni 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Männchen-Oberseite (e.l. Valle di Sisa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Männchen (Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen-Oberseite [M] Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen-Unterseite [S] Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen-Unterseite (Wallis) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Männchen-Unterseite (Wallis) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen-Portrait (Wallis) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Männchen (e.o. Falakron, Nordgriechenland) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Weibchen (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Männchen-Unterseite (e.o. Falakron 2009) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Falter (spanische Westpyrenäen, Aisa, 1800m NN, Anfang Juli 2010) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Ei (an Potentilla cinerea, Falakron, Griechenland, Juli 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Das Ei wird gelegentlich auch auf der Blattoberseite abgelegt (Falakron, Potentilla cinerea, Juli 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Manchmal findet man an günstigen Stellen auch mehrere Eier pro Blatt, die aber immer von verschiedenen Ablageflügen (manchmal aber vom selben Weibchen) stammen. Falakron, Juli 2009. [N] Pyrgus carthami: Mit Eiern belegtes Polster von Potentilla cinerea. Falakron, Juli 2009. [N] Pyrgus carthami: L2-Raupe (e.o. Falakron, Nordgriechenland) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L3-Raupe (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L3-Raupe (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (in Häutungsruhe zum letzten, e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Raupe nach der letzten Häutung (e.o. Falakron).  Die Tiere sind im Vergleich zu mitteleuropäischen Raupen deutlich heller gefärbt. [S] Pyrgus carthami: Ausgewachsene Raupe (e.o. Falakron). Trotz der hellen Färbung der griechischen Raupen ist die dunklere Überrauchung des Thorax auch hier typisch ausgebildet und gut zu erkennen. [S] Pyrgus carthami: Frische Puppe (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Beginnende Wachsausscheidung (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Puppe (e.o. Falakron, dorsal) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Puppe ventral (e.o. Falakron) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Ei (Valle di Susa) [M] Pyrgus carthami: L1-Raupe kurz nach Schlupf (Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: L1-Raupe nach Futterannahme (Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Verdon) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium (Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Ausgewachsene Raupe (Valle di Susa) [M] Pyrgus carthami: Raupe (sehr dunkle Variante, e.o. Verdon, Frankreich) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Ausgewachsene Raupe (Verdon) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Puppe, frisch (Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Puppe (aus Gehäuse entnommen, Valle di Susa) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Puppe (Verdon, Provence) [S] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat in der Valle di Susa [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat im Wallis [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat im Wallis zur Zeit der erwachsenen Raupen (an derzeit blühender P. pusilla, April 2009) [N] Pyrgus carthami: Habitat im Falakron-Gebirge auf 1700-1800 m NN (Juli 2009) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben allgemein an Potentilla verna und Potentilla pusilla, stellenweise aber auch an anderen Potentilla-Arten. In der Provence wird sie von Nel von Potentilla hirta berichtet. Im äußersten Norden Griechenlands fand ich am Falakron zahlreiche Eier an Potentilla cinerea.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Pyrgus carthami besiedelt Steppenheiden, Felshänge und heiße Magerrasen. Als Larvalhabitat dienen dabei Potentilla-Polster, die auf sonst nur sehr spärlich bewachsenem Grund stocken und mikroklimatisch begünstigt sind. In der Valle di Susa (Südwestalpen) sind dies Stipa-Felsheiden in etwa 500m Höhe.
In den südwestlichen französischen Alpen (Provence) ist mir Pyrgus carthami von einem beweideten, trockenen Gelände in 1500m NN bekannt, wo auch Pyrgus bellieri, Zygaena hilaris und Chelis maculosa fliegen. Auch dort erfolgt die Eiablage an Potentilla pusilla. Ähnlich sind die Habitate im Wallis, wo ich Raupen und Falter an Steppenhängen bis 1800m NN beobachtete.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Pyrgus carthami weist eine Generation auf, die zumeist von Mitte Mai bis Mitte Juli fliegt und deren Nachkommen im vorletzten Stadium überwintern. Gelegentlich kommen aber auch später Falter vor, die in jüngeren Larvalstadien überwintert hatten und deren Nachkommen dann dasselbe tun, da bis zum Winter weniger Zeit verbleibt. So fand ich am 30.08.2007 im Wallis auf 1500m NN noch abgeflogene Weibchen.
Die Eiablage findet zwar wie bei vielen anderen Pyrgus-Arten auch auf der Blattunterseite statt (z.B. im Wallis und in der Valle di Susa beobachtet), aber gelegentlich bzw. regional häufiger auch auf der Blattoberseite (von mir etwa am griechischen Phalakron beobachtet sowie persönliche Mitteilung Thomas Fartmann nach Beobachtungen aus den spanischen Pyrenäen und von Juan Hernández Roldán aus mehreren Teilen Spaniens). Möglicherweise steht dies in Zusammenhang mit extrem heißen mikroklimatischen Bedingungen, wenn man auch die hellere Grundfärbung südeuropäischer Raupen im Vergleich zu mitteleuropäischen berücksichtigt. Die Raupen leben gerne in solchen Potentilla-Polstern, die sich am unteren (Hang), trockenen Rand kleiner, kompakter Büsche wie etwa Juniperus befinden.

Bei einer Zucht mit südfranzösischem Ausgangsmaterial wurden bei wenigen sich subitan entwickelten Raupen fünf Häutungen festgestellt, was aber noch weiter zu untersuchen sein wird (Zuchteinflüsse).

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Pyrgus carthami ist wie die meisten anderen Pyrgus-Arten in Mitteleuropa nördlich der Alpen aufgrund von Habitatverlust und -veränderungen zu einer großen Seltenheit geworden und ist nur in den großen Flusstälern mit begleitenden Steilhängen noch etwas verbreiteter (Main, Nahe, Oder). In Baden-Württemberg ist sie verschollen.

Bemerkungen:
Obwohl Pyrgus carthami die größte europäische Pyrgus-Art ist, weist sie die kleinsten Eier und als ausgewachsene Raupe zudem interessanterweise die kleinsten Kotballen auf.

Der Falter ist von Südspanien lokal über Mittel- und Südeuropa (fehlt aber vielerorts wie in ganz Zentral- und Südgriechenland) bis Mittelasien (Iran, Südrußland etc.) verbreitet. Am häufigsten ist sie noch in den Gebirgen der iberischen Halbinsel, den Süd- und Südwestalpen und stellenweise in Südosteuropa.

Die Raupe ist meist olivbraun bis beige mit schwärzlich verrauchtem Brustbereich. Raupen aus dem Falakron-Gebirge (Griechenland) waren aber deutlich heller gefärbt (Zuchtbeobachtung).

Hinweise zur Bestimmung:
Die Falter sind anhand der Größe und dem meist durchgehend weiß gefärbten Außenrand der Flügelunterseite vergleichsweise leicht zu bestimmen. Auf der Hinterflügel-Oberseite ist wie bei P. sidae nahe dem Außenrand oft eine regelmäßige Reihe weißer Flecken entwickelt.



Pyrgus accretus | Pyrgus alveus | Pyrgus andromedae | Pyrgus armoricanus | Pyrgus bellieri | Pyrgus cacaliae | Pyrgus carlinae | Pyrgus cinarae | Pyrgus cirsii | Pyrgus malvae | Pyrgus malvoides | Pyrgus onopordi | Pyrgus serratulae | Pyrgus sidae | Pyrgus warrenensis