Chazara briseis (Linnaeus, 1764)


Chazara briseis: Adult (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Male (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Male lower side [N] Chazara briseis: Male (Greece, Askio Mountains, July 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Female upper side [N] Chazara briseis: Female lower side [N] Chazara briseis: Oviposition [N] Chazara briseis: Oviposition [N] Chazara briseis: Oviposition (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Oviposition (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Ovum [M] Chazara briseis: Ovum [M] Chazara briseis: L1 larva [S] Chazara briseis: L1 [S] Chazara briseis: Young larva [M] Chazara briseis: Half-grown larva Chazara briseis: Half-grown larva (Provence, France) [M] Chazara briseis: Larva Chazara briseis: Larva [M] Chazara briseis: Larva Chazara briseis: Larva (Provence, France) [M] Chazara briseis: Larva details cranial [S] Chazara briseis: Pupa [S] Chazara briseis: Oviposition place: ovum in the midle (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Oviposition and larval habitat: Festuca guestfalica in gappy sheep pasture (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Habitat: sheep-grazed (transhumance) pasture (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Habitat, which is more and more neighboured by building sites, which is also devaluating in the long term (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany) [N] Chazara briseis: Larval habitat in the Haute-Provence, France (Verdon, April 2010). Here were also found larvae of Arctia tigrina. [N]

Host plants:
The larva feeds on grasses at nutrient-poor locations (Festuca, Sesleria others). Main food plant is Festuca ovina agg. (on the eastern Swabian Jura in Germany often Festuca guestfalica).

Habitat:
Chazara briseis requires large calcareous grasslands that are grazed intensively in migratory sheep (transhumance) and have sufficient low-growing, moss- and lichen-rich areas, open soil spots and often also stones and rocks. Moreover, the habitats usually are located at steeper slopes.

Life cycle:
Chazara briseis hibernates as a small caterpillar. This is grown up in late June and is active after hibernation only at night. The adults fly from late July until well into September, some still in early October. Eggs are laid close to the ground on grasses (Festuca ovina agg. Etc.), mosses and lichens, or other parts of plants. I found young caterpillars on stony, rocky spots in Festuca ovina agg. tufts quite often in the Haute Provence in April 2010. Here the butterfly is still widespread (approximately at the Verdon region).
I observed caterpillars at night with a flashlight on the eastern Swabian Alb (Germany, May and June).

Endangerment: threatened with extinction

Endangerment factors:
Due to the decline of migratory sheep and eutrophication (air) the the beautiful butterfly is an strongly endangered species especially in Central Europe. Chazara briseis belongs to those who probably will disappear in Central Europe in the coming decades, even if there are still encountered something greater abundances in some very few places.

In the south (e.g. Greece, Provence) it is in decline, too, but because there still are much more habitats left than in Central Europe, its endangerment is still not severe there.

Remarks:
Chazara briseis detection succeeds quite easily in the end of May and in June by searching caterpillars with a flashlight. Then they often sit well exposed on tips of blades. Usually you can find the larva on the most meager and often steepest parts of the habitat.

The overall distribution ranges from Northwest Africa across southern and locally Central Europe to Western China.

Chazara briseis (Linnaeus, 1764) (Berghexe)


Chazara briseis: Falter (Ostalb, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Männchen (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Männchen-Unterseite [N] Chazara briseis: Männchen (Askion, Nordgriechenland, Juli 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Weibchen-Oberseite [N] Chazara briseis: Weibchen-Unterseite [N] Chazara briseis: Eiablage [N] Chazara briseis: Eiablage [N] Chazara briseis: Eiablage (Ostalb, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Eiablage (Ostalb, August 2010) [N] Chazara briseis: Ei [M] Chazara briseis: Ei [M] Chazara briseis: Eiraupe [S] Chazara briseis: L1 [S] Chazara briseis: Jungraupe [M] Chazara briseis: Halbwüchsige Raupe Chazara briseis: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Provence) [M] Chazara briseis: Raupe Chazara briseis: Raupe [M] Chazara briseis: Raupe Chazara briseis: Raupe (Provence) [M] Chazara briseis: Raupe Details cranial [S] Chazara briseis: Puppe [S] Chazara briseis: Eiablagehabitat: Ei in der Bildmitte (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Eiablage- und Larvalhabitat: Festuca guestfalica in lückiger Schafweide (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Habitat: scharf in Wanderschäferei beweidete Wacholderheide (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Habitat, das allmählich von Baugebieten eingezwängt wird, was langfristig ebenfalls entwertend wirkt (Ostalb) [N] Chazara briseis: Larvalhabitat in der Hoch-Provence (Verdon, April 2010). Hier fanden sich auch Raupen von Arctia tigrina. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt an Gräsern magerer Standorte (Festuca, Sesleria, Bromus u.a.). Hauptnahrungspflanze ist Festuca ovina agg. (auf der Ostalab oft Festuca guestfalica).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Chazara briseis benötigt großflächige Kalkmagerrasen, die in Wanderschäferei intensiver beweidet werden und niedrigwüchsige, moos- und flechtenreiche Stellen sowie Offenbodenstellen und oft auch Steine und Felsen aufweisen. Dazu müssen die Flächen im Allgemeinen ziemlich steil sein.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Chazara briseis überwintert als kleine Raupe. Diese ist gegen Ende Juni ausgewachsen und nach der Überwinterung rein nachtaktiv. Die Falter fliegen von Ende Juli bis weit in den September, teils noch Anfang Oktober. Die Eier werden bodennah an Grashalme (Festuca ovina agg. u.a.), Moos und Flechten oder andere Pflanzenteile abgelegt. In der Hochprovence fand ich im April 2010 recht häufig Jungraupen an steinig-felsigen Stellen in Festuca ovina agg.-Horsten ruhend. Hier scheint der Falter noch weit verbreitet zu sein (etwa am Verdon).
Auf der Ostalb fand ich die Raupe nachts mit der Taschenlampe (Mai, Juni).

Gefährdung: vom Aussterben bedroht

Gefährdungsursachen:
Durch den Rückgang der Wanderschäferei und Eutrophierung (Luft) ist der schöne Falter vom Aussterben bedroht. Chazara briseis gehört zu denen, die in Deutschland in den nächsten Jahrzehnten verschwinden werden, wenn auch an einigen sehr wenigen Stellen noch etwas größere Abundanzen anzutreffen sind.

Im Süden (z.B. Griechenland oder Provence) ist Chazara briseis zwar ebenfalls im Rückgang begriffen, da hier aber dennoch wesentlich mehr Habitate übrig sind als in Mitteleuropa, ist die Gefährdung hier noch nicht existenziell.

Bemerkungen:
Der Artnachweis gelingt auch recht leicht Ende Mai und im Juni durch Leuchten der Raupe, die dann oft in einigen Zentimeter bis Dezimeter Höhe an Grashalmen sitzt. Meist finden sich die Raupen an den magersten und oft auch steilsten Stellen des Habitats.

Die Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Nordwestafrika über Süd- und vereinzelt auch Mitteleuropa bis Westchina.