Cupido minimus (Fuessly, 1775)


Cupido minimus: Male and copulation [N] Cupido minimus: Male tries to disturb other mating [N] Cupido minimus: Adult [N] Cupido minimus: Adult [N] Cupido minimus: Adult (Askion, Northern Greece, May 2010) [N] Cupido minimus: Upper side [N] Cupido minimus: Mating [N] Cupido minimus: Lower side [S] Cupido minimus: Ovae [N] Cupido minimus: Ovum [N] Cupido minimus: Ovum, detail [N] Cupido minimus: Larva [N] Cupido minimus: Larva (Kanisfluh, Bregenzer Wald, July 2010) [N] Cupido minimus: Die larvae are well camouflaged while consuming the seeds in the calyx (Kanisfluh) [S] Cupido minimus: Larva after the hibernation (found in a grass tussock, Valais 2008) [M] Cupido minimus: Larva after the hibernation (found in a grass tussock, Valais 2008) [M] Cupido minimus: Pupa [S] Cupido minimus: Pupa [S] Cupido minimus: Pupa lateral [S] Cupido minimus: Pupa ventral [S] Cupido minimus: Habitat: nutrient-poor limestone grassland with Anthyllis [N]

Host plants:
Oviposition mostly occurs on Anthyllis vulneraria, rarely also Astragalus cicer (e.g. Germany, eastern Swabian Alb) and Colutea arborescens (e.g. Germany, Kaiserstuhl, according to literature). In the Alps, I observed the oviposition also on Oxytropis campestris.

Habitat:
Cupido minimus inhabits nutrient-poor grasslands and extensively grazed pastures of all kinds with stocks of the host plant.

Life cycle:
Cupido minimus flies mostly in a single, more rarely and partial also two generations per year. In the lowlands, the butterflies fly mostly from mid/late May to mid-July, at high altitudes (above 2500m asl) from June to August. In 2007, I already observed first adults as early as 30th April at 1800m asl on a south facing slope in Montafon (west Austria)! Eggs are usually deposited on calyxes. The caterpillar lives at first in the ovary, and later also outside in the fruit stand. The fully-grown caterpillar overwinters mostly in dense grass tussocks, where also pupation occurs in spring. In Valais, I observed several hibernated larvae in Festuca-tufts in about 1500 meters above sea level in April.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
Where nutrient-poor grasslands are still more common, Cupido minimus is endangered only slightly. Otherwise, the butterfly is often already extinct or at least very local. In the Alps, the butterfly is the most common Lycaenidae.

Remarks:
Cupido minimus is widespread in Europe and spreads in Asia to Mongolia. The populations in Southern Spain are partly considered as a separate species.



Cupido alcetas | Cupido argiades | Cupido lorquinii | Cupido osiris

Cupido minimus (Fuessly, 1775) (Zwerg-Bläuling)


Cupido minimus: Ein die Kopula anbalzendes Männchen [N] Cupido minimus: Ein die Kopula anbalzendes Männchen [N] Cupido minimus: Falter [N] Cupido minimus: Falter [N] Cupido minimus: Falter (Askion, Nordgriechenland, Mai 2010) [N] Cupido minimus: Oberseite [N] Cupido minimus: Kopula [N] Cupido minimus: Unterseite [S] Cupido minimus: Eier [N] Cupido minimus: Ei [N] Cupido minimus: Ei, Detail [N] Cupido minimus: Raupe [N] Cupido minimus: Raupe (Kanisfluh, Bregenzer Wald, Juli 2010) [N] Cupido minimus: Die Raupen sind in den Kelchen beim Fressen der Samenanlagen gut getarnt (Kanisfluh) [S] Cupido minimus: Raupe nach der Überwinterung (in einem Grasbüschel gefunden, Wallis 2008) [M] Cupido minimus: Raupe nach der Überwinterung (in einem Grasbüschel gefunden, Wallis 2008) [M] Cupido minimus: Puppe [S] Cupido minimus: Puppe [S] Cupido minimus: Puppe lateral [S] Cupido minimus: Puppe ventral [S] Cupido minimus: Habitat: Magerrasen mit Wundklee [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Eiablage erfolgt an Wundklee (Anthyllis vulneraria), seltener auch Astragalus cicer (Ostalb) und Colutea arborescens (Kaiserstuhl, Literaturangabe). In den Alpen beobachtete ich die Eiablage auch an Oxytropis campestris.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Cupido minimus besiedelt Magerrasen und extensive Weiden aller Art mit Beständen der Nahrungspflanze.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Cupido minimus bildet meist eine bis seltener partiell zwei Generationen im Jahr aus. Im Tiefland fliegen die Falter meist von Mitte/Ende Mai bis Mitte Juli, im Hochgebirge (bis über 2500m NN) von Juni bis August. 2007 waren bei dieser Art Falter in 1800m NN an einem Südhang im Montafon bereits am 30. April zu beobachten! Die Eiablage erfolgt an Blütenkelche. Raupe lebt im Fruchtknoten, später auch außerhalb im Fruchtstand. Die voll ausgewachsene Raupe überwintert meist in dichten Grasbüscheln, wo auch die Verpuppung stattfindet. Im Wallis fand ich im April auf 1500m NN mehrere solcher Raupen in Festuca-Büscheln.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Wo Magerrasen noch häufiger sind, ist Cupido minimus nur schwach gefährdet. Sonst ist der Falter oftmals bereits ausgestorben, so im Illertal. In den Alpen ist der Falter die wohl häufigste Bläulingsart.

Bemerkungen:
Cupido minimus ist in Europa weit verbreitet und kommt in Asien bis etwa zur Mongolei vor. Die Populationen Südspaniens werden teilweise als eigene Art aufgefasst.



Cupido alcetas | Cupido argiades | Cupido lorquinii | Cupido osiris