Cupido argiades (Pallas, 1771)


Cupido argiades: Male (Schloß Stetten, Künzelsau, northeast Baden-Württemberg, 09/08/2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Male (Schloß Stetten, eastern Baden-Württemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Male (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Male [N] Cupido argiades: Male (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Male [N] Cupido argiades: Male (district of Böblingen, S-Germany) [N] Cupido argiades: Lower side [N] Cupido argiades: Female [S] Cupido argiades: Female (SW-Germany, Pfalz, August 2008) [N] Cupido argiades: Female (Kreis Böblingen) [N] Cupido argiades: Female (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Female (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Female (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Female [S] Cupido argiades: Female (Schwäbisch Hall, July 2010) [N] Cupido argiades: Female (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09/08/2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Mating (Schloß Stetten, August 2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Mating (Schloß Stetten, August 2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Oviposition takes place partially also in already older inflorescences, especially when oviposition substrate only occurs in in low density. [N] Cupido argiades: Oviposition (district of Böblingen, S-Germany) [N] Cupido argiades: Oviposition (Schwäbisch Hall, S-Germany, July 2010) [N] Cupido argiades: Trifolium pratense with eggs (subterminal inflorescence) [N] Cupido argiades: Ovae in Trifolium pratense inflorescence [M] Cupido argiades: Ovae at Lotus corniculatus (SW-Germany, Pfalz, late August 2008) [N] Cupido argiades: Half-grown larva [M] Cupido argiades: Larva in last instar [S] Cupido argiades: Larva [S] Cupido argiades: Larva (green form) [S] Cupido argiades: Larva at Hornklee [M] Cupido argiades: Pupa [S] Cupido argiades: Pupa [S] Cupido argiades: Habitat: quite dry orchard meadow near Künzelsau (S-Germany) [N] Cupido argiades: Habitat: humide grassland in the Upper Rhine Valley (SW-Germany, Pfalz) , where also Lycaena dispar occurs (late August 2008). [N] Cupido argiades: Habitat in a humid meadow/fallow land at Schloß Stetten (eastern Baden-Württemberg), where also Lycaena dispar occurs. 09/08/2012 [N]

Host plants:
The eggs are deposited on flowers and buds of Fabaceae. Most important are Trifolium pratense, Lotus corniculatus and Lotus uliginosus. In addition, the literature also mentions Medicago, Coronilla and Astragalus.

Habitat:
Cupido argiades inhabits particularly extensive wet meadows, fens and wet fallow land. In addition, it is also found in woodland clearings, on dams and occasionally also in drier grasslands.

Life cycle:
Cupido argiades has between two and four generations per year. In southwestern Germany there are usually three (April/May, mid-June to early August and late August to September). The mature caterpillar overwinters as praepupa (takes no more food in the spring). I met eggs and caterpillars, which live freely in the flower heads, several times from July to September on Trifolium pratense and Lotus. Often the detection of eggs and caterpillars is much more effective than that of the butterfly. For that a sample of the flowering shoots in the right phenological state (just faded) should be collected (the plants are not endangered), suitably stored and shaken out several times after a few days. The caterpillars are easily distinguished from those of Polyommatus semiargus and P. icarus. Also, the eggs can be searched with quick success at the site, so that the method of detection of the larvae is recommended only if you have to seek in the phenological hole between generations.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Cupido argiades is endangered due to the decline of extensive wetlands and was already strongly suppressed in the Upper Rhine Valley until the early 1990s. The increasingly manifesting global warming has since that brought a boom to the polyvoltine, mobile species. So they could already spread eastward to Bavaria. 2010, she has also reached Schwäbisch Gmünd. Whether it goes up also to the Swabian Alb remains to be seen.

It is now found also on the Upper Rhine in many additional habitats, such as even in completely overgrown clearings (with neophytes like Solidago canadensis). However, I think is in spite not unthreatened because the primary key habitats have almost disappeared (species-rich and extensive wet meadows) and already a perennial cool weather could wipe out many new populations again.

Remarks:
The total distribution ranges from Northern Spain across central and Eastern Europe and temperate Asia to Japan. In Germany it is focused mainly in the catchment area of the Upper Rhine (Baden-Württemberg, Rhineland-Palatinate), but has spread in recent years as portrayed strongly.



Cupido alcetas | Cupido lorquinii | Cupido minimus | Cupido osiris

Cupido argiades (Pallas, 1771) (Kurzschwänziger Bläuling)


Cupido argiades: Männchen (Schloß Stetten, Künzelsau, Nordostwürttemberg, 09.08.2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen-Unterseite [N] Cupido argiades: Männchen (Kreis Böblingen) [N] Cupido argiades: Unterseite [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen [S] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Pfalz, Ende August 2008) [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Kreis Böblingen) [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen-Unterseite [S] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Schwäbisch Hall, Juli 2010) [N] Cupido argiades: Weibchen (Schloß Stetten, Ostwürttemberg), 09.08.2012 [N] Cupido argiades: Kopula (Schloß Stetten, August 2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Kopula (Schloß Stetten, August 2012) [N] Cupido argiades: Die Eiablage erfolgt teilweise auch in bereits ältere Blüten, vor allem bei Substratmangel. [N] Cupido argiades: Eiablage (Kreis Böblingen) [N] Cupido argiades: Eiablage (Schwäbisch Hall, Juli 2010) [N] Cupido argiades: Belegte Rotkleeblüte (subterminale Blüte) [N] Cupido argiades: Eier in Rotkleeblüte [M] Cupido argiades: Eier an Lotus corniculatus (Pfalz, Ende August 2008) [N] Cupido argiades: Halbwüchsige Raupe [M] Cupido argiades: Raupe im letzten Stadium [S] Cupido argiades: Raupe [S] Cupido argiades: Raupe (grüne Form) [S] Cupido argiades: Raupe an Hornklee [M] Cupido argiades: Puppe [S] Cupido argiades: Puppe [S] Cupido argiades: Habitat: eher trockene Obstwiese bei Künzelsau (Baden-Württemberg) [N] Cupido argiades: Habitat: feuchte Wiese in der Oberrheinebene (Pfalz), wo auch Lycaena dispar fliegt (Ende August 2008) [N] Cupido argiades: Habitat in einer feuchten Wiese/Brache beim Schloß Stetten (Ostwürttemberg), wo auch Lycaena dispar vorkommt. 09.08.2012 [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Eier werden an Blüten und Blütenknopen von Schmetterlingsblütler (Fabaceae) abgelegt. Am wichtigsten sind Trifolium pratense, Lotus corniculatus und Lotus uliginosus. Daneben werden in der Literatur auch Medicago, Coronilla und Astragalus genannt.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Cupido argiades besiedelt besonders extensive Feuchtwiesen und Feuchtbrachen. Daneben kommt sie auch auf Kahlschlägen, an Dämmen, in trockenen Salbei-Glatthaferwiesen und manchmal sogar im Halbtrockenrasen vor.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Cupido argiades bringt zwischen zwei und vier Generationen pro Jahr hervor. In Südwestdeutschland sind es meist drei (April/Mai, Mitte Juni bis Anfang August und Ende August bis September). Die erwachsene Raupe überwintert als Präpupa (nimmt im Frühling keine Nahrung mehr auf). Eier und Raupen, die frei in den Blütenköpfchen leben, traf ich zwischen Juli und September mehrfach an Wiesenklee und Hornklee. Oft ist der Nachweis der Eier und Raupen viel effektiver als der der Falter. Für die Raupen wird am besten ein kleiner (!) Anteil der vorhandenen Blütentriebe im richtigen phänologischen Zustand (gerade abgeblüht) eingetragen (die Futterpflanzen sind nicht gefährdet), angemessen gelagert und mehrfach nach einigen Tagen ausgeschüttelt. Die Raupen sind gut von denen von Polyommatus icarus und P. semiargus zu unterscheiden. Auch die Eier können mit schnellem Erfolg am Fundort gesucht werden, so dass sich die Methode zum Nachweis der Raupen nur dann anbietet, wenn man im phänologischen Loch zwischen Generationen nachsuchen muss.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Cupido argiades ist gefährdet durch den Rückgang extensiver Feuchtwiesen und war bis Anfang der 1990er Jahre schon stark zurückgedrängt (Oberrhein). Die sich immer stärker manifestierende Klimaerwärmung hat der polyvoltinen, ausbreitungsfreudigen Art seither einen starken Aufschwung beschert. So konnte sie sich nach Osten schon bis Bayern ausbreiten. 2010 hat sie auch Schwäbisch Gmünd erreicht. Ob sie allerdings auch auf die Schwäbische Alb hinaufsteigt, bleibt abzuwarten.

Auch am Oberrhein ist sie mittlerweile in vielen Biotopen anzutreffen, so beispielsweise auf völlig von Kanadischer Goldrute devastierten Lichtungen im Pfälzer Bienwald. Dennoch halte ich Cupido argiades deswegen nicht für ungefährdet, da die wichtigen Primärhabitate (artenreiche und extensive Feuchtwiesen) fast verschwunden sind und schon eine mehrjährige kühle Witterung viele neue Populationen wieder auslöschen könnte.

Bemerkungen:
Die Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Nordspanien über Mittel- und Osteuropa und Asien bis Japan. In Deutschland kommt sie schwerpunktmäßig vor allem im Einzugsbereich des Oberrheins vor (Baden-Württemberg, Rheinland-Pfalz), hat sich aber in den letzten Jahren wie geschildert stark ausgebreitet.



Cupido alcetas | Cupido lorquinii | Cupido minimus | Cupido osiris