Euchloe belemia (Esper, 1800)


Euchloe belemia: Adult (Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Adult (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Adult (Fuerteventura, February 2011) [N] Euchloe belemia: Adult (Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Adult (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Lower side [N] Euchloe belemia: Ovum [N] Euchloe belemia: Young larva [S] Euchloe belemia: Half-grown larva [S] Euchloe belemia: Larva [S] Euchloe belemia: Larva [S] Euchloe belemia: Pupa [S] Euchloe belemia: Habitat [N]

Host plants:
In Fuerteventura, I found eggs particularly on stems, occasionally also leaf tops of Hirschfeldia incana and rarely Sisymbrium sp., usually at half height of 10-20cm above the ground. According to literature the species was observed on further Brassicaceae as Diplotaxis.

Habitat:
Euchloe belemia inhabits arid areas, ravines, rocky slopes, fallow land, roadsides and rural settlements.

Life cycle:
The adults fly in spring from late January to May, The caterpillars live mostly on flowers and fruits and develop very quickly. The pupae usually go into an aestivation as a development in the hot, dry summer months would be limited. They often emerge only after several years.

Endangerment factors:
In places, Euchloe belemia is threatened by overbuilding, tourism and overgrazing.

Remarks:
Euchloe belemia occurs in North Africa, some Canary Islands (Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Tenerife) and the south (rarely center) of the Iberian Peninsula in Spain and southern Portugal.
In recent years, the populations for example of the Canaries are separated as separate species. This is probably another case where a subspecies concept would be more helpful.



Euchloe ausonia | Euchloe charlonia | Euchloe crameri | Euchloe insularis | Euchloe penia | Euchloe simplonia | Euchloe tagis

Euchloe belemia (Esper, 1800)


Euchloe belemia: Falter (Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Falter (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Falter (Fuerteventura, Februar 2011) [N] Euchloe belemia: Falter (Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Falter (e.l. Fuerteventura) [S] Euchloe belemia: Unterseite [N] Euchloe belemia: Ei [N] Euchloe belemia: Jungraupe [S] Euchloe belemia: Halberwachsene Raupe [S] Euchloe belemia: Raupe [S] Euchloe belemia: Raupe [S] Euchloe belemia: Puppe [S] Euchloe belemia: Habitat [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Auf Fuerteventura fand ich Eier besonders an Stängeln, seltener Blattoberseiten, von Hirschfeldia incana und selten auch Sisymbrium sp., meist in halber Höhe von 10-20 cm über dem Boden. Laut Literatur lebt die Art auch an weiteren Brassicaceae wie Diplotaxis sp.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Euchloe belemia besiedelt aride Gebiete, Barrancos, steinige Hänge, Brachland, Straßenränder und ländliche Siedlungen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen im Frühjahr von Ende Januar bis Mai, die Raupen leben meist an Blüten und Früchten und entwickeln sich sehr schnell. Die Puppen gehen zumeist in eine Sommerdiapause, da eine Entwicklung in den heißen, trockenen Sommermonaten nur eingeschränkt möglich wäre. Oft schlüpfen sie erst nach mehreren Jahren.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Stellenweise ist Euchloe belemia durch Überbauung und Tourismus sowie Überweidung bedroht.

Bemerkungen:
Euchloe belemia kommt in Nordafrika, einigen Kanarischen Inseln (Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Teneriffa) und im Süden (selten auch Zentrum) der Iberischen Halbinsel in Spanien und Südportugal vor.
Neuerdings werden die Populationen etwa der Kanaren als jeweils eigene Arten abgetrennt. Das ist wahrscheinlich ein weiterer Fall, bei dem ein Unterartskonzept hilfreicher wäre.



Euchloe ausonia | Euchloe charlonia | Euchloe crameri | Euchloe insularis | Euchloe penia | Euchloe simplonia | Euchloe tagis