Eilema palliatella (Scopoli, 1763)


Eilema palliatella: Adult [S] Eilema palliatella: Adult [S] Eilema palliatella: Adult [S] Eilema palliatella: Adult [S] Eilema palliatella: Larva [N] Eilema palliatella: Larva [N] Eilema palliatella: Larva [S] Eilema palliatella: Larva [S] Eilema palliatella: Larva (Northern Greece, Askion, July 2010) [N] Eilema palliatella: Larva [S] Eilema palliatella: Larva [S] Eilema palliatella: Larva [N] Eilema palliatella: Larva [S] Eilema palliatella: Habitat in Northern Greece: xerothermic, grazed and stony slope. July 2011. [N]

Host plants:
Primarily the caterpillars feed on dead plants, lichens and mosses, and also occasionally flowers and still green parts of plants.

Habitat:
As habitat often serve very hot, stony to rocky grasslands. In Central Europe Eilema palliatella used to occur often on so-called soil lichen societies, in the south it lives also in dry grasslands of all kinds without significant lichen proportion.

Life cycle:
The wintered caterpillar is mature quite late (June to August). I found caterpillars for example in the Susa Valley (Piedmont) at 500m above sea level and in the surviving remnants of the South Tyrol steppe slopes between May to August quite numerous. In Greece and the French Provence, the larvae are quite common in nearly all lowland dry grassland complexes.

The caterpillar is adapted to extreme heat, which already betrays its bright coloration. They sit on a hot day higher in the vegetation in order to escape the greater heat on ground level.

The moths are on the wing from July to September.

Endangerment: strongly endangered

Endangerment factors:
North of the AlpsEilema palliatella is severly threatened or already extinct due to the areal decline of extremely hot, only sparsely vegetated grasslands (in part due to eutrophication caused by air pollution and lack of grazing, also often extension of vineyards).

South of the Alps, Eilema palliatella is still not so endangered due to its wide distribution and in spite of the general loss of habitat because of human acttivities of all kinds.

Remarks:
The distribution ranges from Spain across Southern and Central Europe to Central Asia. In Germany it is still found primarily in hot, steep slopes along rivers such as in the Upper Main Valley in Northern Bavaria.



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema cereola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema morosina | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula

Eilema palliatella (Scopoli, 1763) (Ockergelber Flechtenbär)


Eilema palliatella: Falter [S] Eilema palliatella: Falter [S] Eilema palliatella: Falter [S] Eilema palliatella: Falter [S] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [N] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [N] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [S] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [S] Eilema palliatella: Raupe (Nordgriechenland, Askion, Juli 2010) [N] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [S] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [S] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [N] Eilema palliatella: Raupe [S] Eilema palliatella: Habitat in Nordgriechenland: Xerothermer, beweideter und steiniger Hang. Juli 2011. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
In erster Linie befressen die Raupen abgestorbene Pflanzenteile, auch Flechten und Moose und gelegentlich Blüten und noch grüne Pflnzenteile.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Als Lebensraum dienen heiße, oft steinig-felsige Magerrasen. In Mitteleuropa sind das oft Erdflechtengesellschaften, im Süden auch Magerrasen ohne nennenswerte Flechtenvorkommen.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die überwinterte Raupe ist erst spät ausgewachsen (Juni bis August). Raupen fand ich in der Valle di Susa (Piemont) auf 500m NN sowie in den noch erhaltenen Resten des Südtiroler Vinschgauer Sonnenbergs von Mai bis August zahlreich. Auch in Griechenland und in der Provence ist Eilema palliatella als Raupe in den meisten niedriger gelegenen Trockenrasenkomplexen zu finden.

Die Raupen sind an große Hitze angepasst, was bereits ihre helle Färbung verrät. Sie sitzen an heißen Tagen erhöht in der Vegetation, um der Bodenhitze zu entgehen.

Die Falter fliegen von Juli bis September.

Gefährdung: stark gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Nördlich der Alpen ist Eilema palliatella durch den flächenmäßigen Rückgang der besonders heißen, nur schütter bewachsenen Magerrasen (u.a. wegen Eutrophierung durch Luftschadstoffe und mangelnde Beweidung oder die Ausdehnung des Weinbaus) vom Aussterben bedroht und beispielsweise am Kaiserstuhl bereits erloschen.

Südlich der Alpen geht Eilema palliatella zwar infolge des Landschaftsverbrauchs durch den Menschen wie die gesamte Natur auch zurück, ist aber hier dank ihrer weiten Verbreitung noch nicht stärker gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Spanien über Süd- und Mitteleuropa bis Zentralasien. In Deutschland findet sie sich vor allem noch in heißen, flußbegleitenden Steilhängen wie etwa im Obermaintal.



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema cereola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema morosina | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula