Eilema morosina (Herrich-Schäffer, 1847)

Synonyms/other combinations:
Eilema costalis (Zeller, 1847)

Eilema morosina: Adult (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Adult (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Adult (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Adult-portrait [S] Eilema morosina: Half-grown larva (Samos, May 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Larva (Samos, May 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Larva (Samos, May 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Larva (Samos, May 2009) [N] Eilema morosina: Larva (Samos, May 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Pupa [S] Eilema morosina: Larval habitat in Samos, May 2009. [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillar feeds on lichens, algae and mosses and probably also dead and soft living plant parts.

Habitat:
Eilema morosina inhabits mostly semi-shaded rocks, walls, old buildings and similar stone-dominated habitats. Whether the caterpillars live also on tree lichens is not yet certain, but probable.

Life cycle:
I found the caterpillar commonly in Samos in early May 2009. They are significantly larger than those of Eilema complana and E. pseudocomplana. They reach maturity between mid/late May and June. But the moths fly usually only from August to early October after breeding experience.

Remarks:
Eilema morosina is distributed from the Balkans to the eastern Turkey. It also occurs on the Aegean islands off the coast of Asia Minor (Samos, Rhodes, etc.) and in Crete and Cyprus.

Hints on determination:
The larvae are distinct from E. complana. Moreover, they get much larger. Eilema morosina is the largest European Eilema.



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema cereola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema palliatella | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula

Eilema morosina (Herrich-Schäffer, 1847)

Synonyme/andere Kombinationen:
Eilema costalis (Zeller, 1847)

Eilema morosina: Falter (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Falter (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Falter (e.l. Samos 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Falter-Portrait [S] Eilema morosina: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Samos, Mai 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Raupe (Samos, Mai 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Raupe (Samos, Mai 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Raupe (Samos, Mai 2009) [N] Eilema morosina: Raupe (Samos, Mai 2009) [S] Eilema morosina: Puppe [S] Eilema morosina: Larvalhabitat auf Samos, Mai 2009. [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupe lebt von Flechten, Algen und Moosen. Vermutlich werden auch abgestorbene und zarte lebende Pflanzenteile befressen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Eilema morosina besiedelt meist halbschattige Felsen, Mauern, alte Gebäude und ähnliche steindominierte Habitate. Ob die Raupen auch an Baumflechten leben, ist noch nicht sicher, aber doch wahrscheinlich.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Ich fand die Raupe Anfang Mai 2009 zahlreich auf Samos. Sie werden deutlich größer als diejenigen von Eilema complana und E. pseudocomplana. Sie sind zwischen Mitte/Ende Mai und Juni ausgewachsen. Die Falter fliegen aber nach Zuchterfahrungen meist erst von August bis Anfang Oktober.

Bemerkungen:
Eilema morosina ist vom Balkan bis in die Osttürkei verbreitet. Sie kommt auch auf den ägäischen Inseln vor der kleinasiatischen Küste (Samos, Rhodos etc.) und auf Kreta und Zypern vor.

Hinweise zur Bestimmung:
Die Raupen sind deutlich von E. complana und E. pseudocomplana verschieden gezeichnet. Zudem werden sie und die Falter deutlich größer. Eilema morosina ist insgesamt die größte europäische Eilema-Art.



Eilema albicosta | Eilema bipunctata | Eilema caniola | Eilema cereola | Eilema complana | Eilema deplana | Eilema griseola | Eilema lurideola | Eilema lutarella | Eilema palliatella | Eilema pygmaeola | Eilema sororcula