Oedipoda germanica (Latreille, 1804)


Oedipoda germanica: Male (Valais, Switzerland, 2009) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Male (Italy, Abruzzes, L Oedipoda germanica: Male (Italy, Abruzzes, L Oedipoda germanica: Male (N-Greece, Siatista, July 2010) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Male (SE-France, Mont Ventoux, early October 2014) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Adult (Valais, Switzerland, 2009) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Adult (Valais, Switzerland, 2009) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Female (Valais, Switzerland, 2009) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Male (Ipf near Bopfingen, South Germany, in 2000) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Female (Ipf near Bopfingen, 2000) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Courtship (2000, SW-Germany, Ipf near Bopfingen) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Habitat in the Haute-Provence, France [N] Oedipoda germanica: Habitat in the Swiss Valais in the spring [N]

Nutrition:
The species feeds on herbs, more rarely grasses, mosses and lichens. More often it is observed also on carrion like dead insects.

Habitat:
Oedipoda germanica colonizes rocky grasslands with xerothermous microclimate and many open spoil spots. Oedipoda germanica is ascending in the southern central Alps higher than Oedipoda caerulescens, namely to about 2500m above sea level (the former only to about 2100m above sea level). The insects lacks like Oedipoda caerulescens in the northern Alps and is limited north of the Alps to the lowlands and lower mountain ranges.

Life cycle:
Adults occur from the end of June to October (even at 2300 meters above sea level often still in mid-October, if no stronger frosts occurred). Eggs are laid into loose soil.

Endangerment: threatened with extinction

Endangerment factors:
In Southern Europe and the southern and central part (Valais) of the Alps, Oedipoda germanica is still widespread and often abundant. In Germany however, it is threatened with extinction, and dwindled to tiny remnants. Almost all localities are already gone, so probably the last site on the edge of the Swabian Alb (Ipf), where I saw in 2000 the probably last adults (see photos). Causes are the reduction and deterioration of the habitats of this demanding species: decline in open soil spots by eutrophication, grazing decline, bush encroachment, reforestation of adjacent land, overbuilding/road construction, trivialization by excessive tourism (walking on rocky tips, climbing), isolation of the last populations, mining of stones, gravel etc. (but which can also lead to good secondary habitats if suitable implemented in appropriate locations), intensification and expansion of viticulture with removal of old walls and giant terraces). Poor summers then do the rest with individual-weak remnant populations.

Remarks:
Oedipoda germanica occurs from the Pyrenees across parts of Central and Southern Europe (to the north app. to the central German lower mountain ranges, to the south to Central Italy and Southern Greece) and Asia Minor to southern Russia.



Oedipoda aurea | Oedipoda caerulescens | Oedipoda canariensis | Oedipoda charpentieri | Oedipoda coerulea | Oedipoda fuscocincta | Oedipoda miniata

Oedipoda germanica (Latreille, 1804) (Rotflügelige Ödlandschrecke)


Oedipoda germanica: Männchen (Wallis) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Imago (Wallis) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Imago (Wallis) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Weibchen (Wallis) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Männchen (Ipf bei Bopfingen, 2000) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Weibchen (Ipf bei Bopfingen, 2000) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Balz (2000, Ipf bei Bopfingen) [N] Oedipoda germanica: Habitat in der Hoch-Provence [N] Oedipoda germanica: Habitat im Wallis im Frühjahr [N]

Nahrung:
Die Art frisst vor allem Kräuter, seltener Gräser, Moose oder Flechten. Gerne nehmen die Tiere auch Aas wie tote Insekten an.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Oedipoda germanica besiedelt felsige Magerrasen mit xerothermem Mikroklima und vielen Offenbodenstellen. Oedipoda germanica steigt in den südlichen Zentralalpen höher als Oedipoda caerulescens, nämlich bis etwa 2500 m NN (erstere nur bis etwa 2100 m NN). Das Tier fehlt wie Oedipoda caerulescens in den Nordalpen und ist nördlich der Alpen auf die Tieflagen und niederen Mittelgebirgslagen beschränkt.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Imagines treten von den letzten Junitagen bis Oktober auf (sogar auf 2300m NN oft noch Mitte Oktober, solange noch keine stärkeren Fröste auftraten). Die Eiablage erfolgt in lockeren Boden.

Gefährdung: vom Aussterben bedroht

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Südeuropa und den südlichen und teilweise zentralen (Wallis) Alpen ist Oedipoda germanica noch weit verbreitet und oft zahlreich anzutreffen. In Deutschland ist sie hingegen akut vom Aussterben bedroht und auf winzige Restbestände zusammengeschmolzen. Fast alle Fundorte sind bereits erloschen, so wohl auch der letzte Standort am Rande der Schwäbischen Alb (Ipf), wo ich im Jahr 2000 die eventuell letzten Imagines sah (vgl. Artphotos). Ursachen sind die Verkleinerung und Verschlechterung der Biotope dieser anspruchsvollen Art: Rückgang an Offenbodenstellen durch Nährstoffeintrag, Beweidungsrückgang, Verbuschung, Aufforstung angrenzender Flächen, Überbauung/Straßenbau, Trivialisierung durch übermäßigen Tourismus (Lagern, Klettern), Isolierung der letzten Bestände, Abbau von Steinen, Schotter etc (der bei fachmännischer Durchführung an geeigneten Stellen aber auch Sekundärhabitate erschließen kann), Weinbergsintensivierung mit Entfernung alter Mauern und Großterrassierung). Regenreiche Sommer erledigen dann bei individuenschwachen Restpopulationen meist den Rest.

Bemerkungen:
Oedipoda germanica kommt von den Pyrenäen über Teile Süd- und Mitteleuropas (nach Norden extrem lokal und aussterbend bis zu den deutschen Mittelgebirgen, nach Süden bis Mittelitalien und Südgriechenland) und Kleinasien bis Südrußland vor.



Oedipoda aurea | Oedipoda caerulescens | Oedipoda canariensis | Oedipoda miniata