Oedipoda caerulescens (Linnaeus, 1758)


Oedipoda caerulescens: Male [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Female [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Female (eastern Swabian Alb) [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Female [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Male [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Female [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Habitat on the Swabian Alb [N]

Nutrition:
The species feeds on herbs and grasses. As well as Oedipoda germanica, the animals eat carrion like crushed insects, what I observed for example on the Täschalpe in Valais on trails where both species devoured together trampled Decticus and Oedipoda individuals. This protein- and mineral-rich food promotes egg development.

Habitat:
Oedipoda caerulescens inhabits sandy grasslands, rocky slopes or fine-earth rich steppe-like heathland. Secondary it also lives on railway corridors or sand pits.

Life cycle:
adults occur from late June to October. The eggs hibernate in the loose soil.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
In Central Europe Oedipoda caerulescens is quite rare and limited to sandy grasslands of the lowlands, rocky limestone grasslands of the mountains (about Swabian Alb) and secondary habitats (railway, pits). It is endangered by the decline in suitable habitats (urban sprawl, agriculture, asparagus fields, viticulture, afforestation, overgrowing of grasslands). Overall, Oedipoda caerulescens is clearly more adaptable (less demanding) and better capable of spreading than Oedipoda germanica.

Remarks:
Overall, Oedipoda caerulescens occurs from North Africa across Europe to East Asia. In Central Europe it occurs often only locally up to the North and Baltic Seas.



Oedipoda aurea | Oedipoda canariensis | Oedipoda coerulea | Oedipoda germanica | Oedipoda miniata

Oedipoda caerulescens (Linnaeus, 1758) (Blauflügelige Ödlandschrecke)


Oedipoda caerulescens: Männchen [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Weibchen [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Weibchen [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Männchen [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Weibchen [N] Oedipoda caerulescens: Habitat auf der Schwäbischen Alb [N]

Nahrung:
Die Art befrisst Kräuter und auch Gräser. Wie auch Oedipoda germanica fressen die Tiere auch Aas wie zertretene Insekten, was ich etwa auf der Walliser Täschalpe an Wanderwegen beobachten konnte, wo beide Arten gemeinsam zertretene Warzenbeißer und auch Artgenossen auffraßen. Diese protein- und mineralreiche Nahrung fördert die Eientwicklung.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Oedipoda caerulescens bewohnt Sandrasen, felsige Trockenrasen, oder feinerdereiche Steppenheiden. Sekundär findet sich das Tier auch Gleisschotter oder Sandgruben.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Imagines treten von Ende Juni bis Oktober auf. Die in den lockeren Boden abgelegten Eier überwintern.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Mitteleuropa ist Oedipoda caerulescens eine eher seltene Art, die auf Sandmagerrasen des Tieflandes sowie auf felsige Kalkmagerrasen der Mittelgebirge (etwa Schwäbische Alb) und gelegentlich Sekundärstandorte (Bahnlinien, Gruben) beschränkt ist und durch den Rückgang geeigneter Habitate (Zersiedelung, Aufforstung, Landwirtschaftliche Intensivierung, Spargelfelder, Weinabau, Überwachsung von Magerrasen etc.) gefährdet ist. Insgesamt ist Oedipoda caerulescens aber im Vergleich zu Oedipoda germanica deutlich anpassungsfähiger (weniger anspruchsvoll) und ausbreitungsfreudiger.

Bemerkungen:
Insgesamt ist Oedipoda caerulescens von Nordafrika über Europa bis Ostasien verbreitet. In Mitteleuropa tritt sie jedoch oft nur lokal auf und dringt bis zur Nord- und Ostsee vor.



Oedipoda aurea | Oedipoda canariensis | Oedipoda germanica | Oedipoda miniata