Adscita statices (Linnaeus, 1758)


Adscita statices: Male [S] Adscita statices: Male [S] Adscita statices: Female [N] Adscita statices: Male [N] Adscita statices: Ovae [S] Adscita statices: Larva [S] Adscita statices: Larva [S] Adscita statices: Larva [S] Adscita statices: Pupa [S] Adscita statices: Pupa (cocoon opened) [S] Adscita statices: Habitat: humid, flower-rich and extensively managed meadow with Rumex acetosa [N]

Host plants:
Rumex species such as R. acetosa and R. acetosella.

Habitat:
Adscita statices inhabits in particular humid meadows, for example in fens or in the margin areas of bogs, but also drier grasslands with the larval host plant and (formerly) also mesophilic, extensively mown meadows. But the latter have almost completely vanished today.

Life cycle:
Different flight times (late May to August) are probably best interpreted analogously to Zygaena filipendulae. In wetlands (June/July) the moths are flying earlier than in dry grasslands (July/August). The caterpillar overwinters as it is the case with all European Zygaenidae.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Adscita statices has already lost the majority of the sites due to grassland intensification, afforestation and overbuilding. The moth is still regularly found in protected areas of wetlands.

Remarks:
Adscita statices is distributed from Northern Spain (Pyrenees) to Western China. In Europe it occurs widely, except for large parts of the Iberian Peninsula and the far north. Adscita statices also misses in most of Italy, where it is replaced by Adscita alpina.



Adscita alpina | Adscita chloros | Adscita dujardini | Adscita geryon | Adscita globulariae | Adscita mannii | Adscita notata | Adscita subsolana

Adscita statices (Linnaeus, 1758) (Ampfer-Grünwidderchen)


Adscita statices: Männchen [S] Adscita statices: Männchen [S] Adscita statices: Weibchen [N] Adscita statices: Männchen [N] Adscita statices: Eier [S] Adscita statices: Raupe [S] Adscita statices: Raupe [S] Adscita statices: Raupe [S] Adscita statices: Puppe [S] Adscita statices: Puppe (Kokon geöffnet) [S] Adscita statices: Habitat: feuchte, bunte Extensivwiese mit Rumex acetosa [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Rumex-Arten wie R. acetosa und R. acetosella.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Adscita statices besiedelt insbesondere Feuchtwiesen im Moorrandbereich, aber auch trockenere Magerrasen mit der Raupennahrung und früher auch mesophile Extensiv-Wiesen, die es heute fast nicht mehr gibt.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Unterschiedliche Flugzeiten (Ende Mai bis August) sind wohl analog zu Zygaena filipendulae zu deuten. In Feuchtwiesen (Juni/Juli) fliegt der Falter früher als in Trockenrasen (Juli/August). Die Raupe überwintert wie bei allen europäischen Zygaenidae.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Adscita statices hat durch Wiesenintensivierung und auch durch Aufforstung und Überbauung den Großteil der Fundorte eingebüßt. Der Falter kommt aber noch in geschützten Moorbereichen und Feuchtwiesen regelmäßiger vor.

Bemerkungen:
Adscita statices ist von Nordspanien (Pyrenäen) bis Westchina verbreitet. In Europa kommt sie außer in weiten Teilen der iberischen Halbinsel und dem hohen Norden in den meisten Gegenden vor. Auch in Italien fehlt der Falter und wird dort durch Adscita alpina ersetzt.



Adscita alpina | Adscita chloros | Adscita dujardini | Adscita geryon | Adscita globulariae | Adscita mannii | Adscita notata | Adscita subsolana