Platycleis albopunctata (Goeze, 1778)


Platycleis albopunctata: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Germany) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Germany) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Female (eastern Swabian Alb, Germany, 2009) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Male (Ostalb) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Female [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Female [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Female [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Larva (eastern Swabian Alb, April 2013) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat on the Swabian Alb: quarry slope [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat on the eastern Swabian Alb (Southern Germany). Here also occur Stenobothrus nigromaculatus and Psophus stridulus. [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat on the eastern Swabian Alb (Southern Germany, August 2012). In this habitat the species is dependent on the still open, stony areas and endangered due to decreasing grazing.  [N]

Nutrition:
Young larvae feed according to literature primarily on petals, e.g. of Potentilla. In addition, also seeds etc. Older stages eat petals and especially mature and immature seeds (Detzel 1998). Moreover, the species sometimes also captures smaller insects.

Habitat:
Platycleis albopunctata colonizes skeleton rich grasslands, rocky slopes, sandy areas, gappy and dry slopes, steppe-like heathland etc. Gappy structures with open soil are important! In parts of the Alps Platycleis albopunctata can be observed up to just above 2000m above sea level.

Life cycle:
The larvae can be observed very early in late March or the beginning of April, while adults occur from June to October.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Platycleis albopunctata is endangered by the decline in nutrient-poor grasslands and in the remaining habitats by the disappearance of disturbed places (open ground) due to reduced grazing (fallow), exuberant growth of grasses due to eutrophication and reforestation.

Remarks:
Platycleis albopunctata is still quite common, for example, in the Swabian Alb (Germany), where pretty small isolated habitats under 1 hectare can be colonized, provided they are not too far away from other patches. But overall, this species is declining significantly.

Platycleis albopunctata ranges from Morocco throughout the Iberian Peninsula and France to Central Europe, Southern Scandinavia and western Poland. It also occurs in southern England and large parts of the (western) Alps.

South of the main ridge of the Alps there is the taxon grisea which is sometimes considered as a subspecies of albopunctata and sometimes as a distinct species.



Platycleis affinis | Platycleis escalerai | Platycleis grisea | Platycleis incerta | Platycleis intermedia | Platycleis modesta | Platycleis nigrosignata | Platycleis romana | Platycleis stricta | Platycleis tessellata

Platycleis albopunctata (Goeze, 1778) (Westliche Beißschrecke)


Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen (Ostalb, 2009) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Männchen (Ostalb) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Weibchen [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Larve (Ostalb, April 2013) [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat auf der Schwäbischen Alb: Steinbruchsböschung [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat auf der Ostalb im August 2012. Hier kommen auch Stenobothrus nigromaculatus und Psophus stridulus vor. [N] Platycleis albopunctata: Habitat auf der östlichen Schwäbischen Alb. Die Art ist hier auf die noch offenen, steinigen Bereiche der Böschung angewiesen. August 2012. [N]

Nahrung:
Junglarven fressen laut Literatur in erster Linie Blütenblätter, etwa von Potentilla, daneben aber auch Samen etc. Ältere Tiere fressen Blütenblätter und vor allem reife und unreife Samen (Detzel 1998). Zudem werden auch gerne Insekten verzehrt.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Platycleis albopunctata besiedelt skelettreiche Magerrasen, Felshänge, Sandrasen, offenbodenreiche Trockenhänge, Steppenheiden etc. Wichtig sind lückige Strukturen! In Teilen der Alpen tritt die Heuschrecke bis knapp über 2000m NN auf.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Larven können recht früh ab Ende März/Anfang April beobachtet werden, während Imagines ab Juni bis Oktober auftreten.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Gefährdet ist Platycleis albopunctata besonders durch den Rückgang an Magerrasen und in den noch verbliebenen Habitaten durch das Verschwinden von Störstellen (Offenboden) aufgrund verringerter Beweidung (Brachfallen), Zuwachsen infolge Eutrophierung und Verwaldung.

Bemerkungen:
Platycleis albopunctata kommt beispielsweise noch recht häufig auf der Schwäbischen Alb vor, wo auch ziemlich isolierte Kleinhabitate unter 1 Hektar besiedelt werden können, sofern sie nicht zu weit von anderen Patches entfernt sind. Insgesamt ist diese Heuschrecke aber deutlich rückläufig.

Die atlantische Gesamtverbreitung reicht von Marokko durchgängig über die Iberische Halbinsel und Frankreich bis Mitteleuropa, Südskandinavien und Westpolen. Auch in Südengland und großen Teilen des (westlichen) Alpenraums ist sie zu finden.

Südlich des Alpenhauptkamms kommt mit dem Taxon grisea eine ähnliche Form vor, die mal als Unterart von albopunctata, mal als eigenständige Art geführt wird.



Platycleis affinis | Platycleis escalerai | Platycleis grisea | Platycleis incerta | Platycleis intermedia | Platycleis modesta | Platycleis nigrosignata | Platycleis romana | Platycleis stricta | Platycleis tessellata