Muschampia proto (Ochsenheimer, 1808)


Muschampia proto: Upper side [S] Muschampia proto: Male [S] Muschampia proto: Adult (southern Cevennes, July 2012) [N] Muschampia proto: Adult (southern Cevennes, July 2012) [N] Muschampia proto: Lower side [S] Muschampia proto: Mating (Andalusia, late June 2008) [N] Muschampia proto: Ovum at the base of Phlomis lychnidis (Andalusia 2008) [M] Muschampia proto: L1 larva (Provence, Rians, April 2010) [M] Muschampia proto: L2 larva (Provence, Rians, April 2010) [S] Muschampia proto: Half-grown larva (Provence, Rians, May 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Half-grown larva (Provence, Rians, May 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Half-grown larva, they are getting light-coloured onlyin last instar (Provence) [M] Muschampia proto: Half-grown larva (Provence, Rians, May 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Larva (Provence, Rians. late May 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Larva (Provence, Rians. late May 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Larva (Provence) [M] Muschampia proto: Larva in beginning dormancy (Andalusia, late June 2008) [M] Muschampia proto: Larva in summer dormancy [S] Muschampia proto: Larval shelter (Provence, Rians, late May 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Larval shelter (Provence, Rians, late May 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Larval shelter (Provence, Rians, late May 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Larval shelter [N] Muschampia proto: Pupa, dorsal [S] Muschampia proto: Pupa, ventral [S] Muschampia proto: Larval habitat (several larval shelters visible) in Provence (Massif de la Sainte Baume, May 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Larval habitat in Massif de la Sainte Baume in late May 2013 [N] Muschampia proto: Larval habitat in Massif de la Sainte Baume in late May 2013 [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat: Phlomis herba-venti in the Provence, France (May) [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat: Phlomis herba-venti- on a pasture (Provence) [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat in the Massif de la Sainte Baume (Provence) [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat in Andalusia with much Phlomis herba-venti (Ende Juni 2008) [N]

Host plants:
Mostly Phlomis herba-venti, but also other Phlomis species such as Phlomis lychnidis.

Habitat:
Muschampia proto occurs in hot, dry habitats such as rocky slopes, steppes, pastures, open areas in white oak bush or in the Maquis, garigues etc. The habitats are most often grazed.
The quite high growing host plants usually occur locally and in parties. In Provence, I found adults in the Crau, the Alpilles, the Luberon and the Massif la Sainte Baume, always xerotherm, partly heavily grazed sites up to a maximum of about 1000m above sea level.

Life cycle:
The eggs are attached to the base of the food plant or stones, etc. The caterpillar overwinters in the egg (Nel 1985). I observed half to fully-grown larvae in shelters of webbed leaves on the tips of the shoots of Phlomis herba-venti in the French Provence between mid and late May 2007. The flight time is much elongated. Most individuals fly late and prior to mid-July apparently only a few adults are on the wing. In the Crau, I met newly hatched butterflies in late July/early Augusta at a few meters above sea level. From then on and in the whole month of August is the main flight period of this species.

The late flight time is achieved as in Pyrgus cirsii by a dormancy of the mature caterpillar. Around the beginning of June, it spins the later pupal cocoon (while Pyrgus cirsii obviously creates a new housing at the end of dormancy) between leaves of the host plant, usually a few decimeters above the ground (heat escape). Here it usually rests for one to two months (breeding observation), in order to pupate in July or even early August. The major emergence occurred in the breeding to the brink of July/August and correlates well with the field results.
The long and varying duration of the prepupal dormancy is the main reason for the long total flying time in this species. In the end of June 2008 I was able to verify this in Andalusia in the field (Sierra de Cazorla, Sierra de Huetor). I observed only a few adults, copulas and ovipositions (Phlomis herba-venti, Phlomis lychnidis). But I found a greater number of mature larvae in dormancy on Phlomis herba-venti. Some collected individuals resulted in butterflies not before mid to late August!
The males often patrol persistent along special markings in the terrain such as a path along a canal in the Crau.

Endangerment factors:
Muschampia proto is often spread only very locally (although most numerous at suitable sites) and threatened by the accidental destruction of narrow larval habitats. The main causes are overbuilding and intensification of use (irrigation, fertilization, conversion into fields, abandonment of grazing and following succession).

Remarks:
Muschampia proto is found in Northwest Africa and in Europe only in the Iberian Peninsula, along the Mediterranean coast of France (to the north into the southern Massif Central), very local in Southern Italy, as well as Albania, Greece and Asia Minor.



Muschampia tessellum

Muschampia proto (Ochsenheimer, 1808)


Muschampia proto: Oberseite [S] Muschampia proto: Männchen-Oberseite [S] Muschampia proto: Falter (südliche Cevennen, Juli 2012) [N] Muschampia proto: Falter (südliche Cevennen, Juli 2012) [N] Muschampia proto: Unterseite [S] Muschampia proto: Kopula (Andalusien, Ende Juni 2008) [N] Muschampia proto: Ei an der Basis von Phlomis lychnidis (Andalusien 2008) [M] Muschampia proto: L1-Raupe (Provence, Rians, April 2010) [M] Muschampia proto: L2-Raupe (Provence, Rians, April 2010) [S] Muschampia proto: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Provence, Rians, Mai 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Provence, Rians, Mai 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Halbwüchsige Raupe, erst im letzten Stadium werden die Tiere hell (Provence). [M] Muschampia proto: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Provence, Rians, Mai 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Raupe (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Raupe (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [M] Muschampia proto: Raupe (Provence) [M] Muschampia proto: Raupe in beginnender Dormanz (Andalusien, Ende Juni 2008) [M] Muschampia proto: Raupe in Sommerdormanz [S] Muschampia proto: Raupengehäuse (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Raupengehäuse (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Raupengehäuse (Provence, Rians, Ende Mai 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Raupengehäuse [N] Muschampia proto: Puppe, dorsal [S] Muschampia proto: Puppe, ventral [S] Muschampia proto: Larvalhabitat (mehrere Gehäuse erkennbar) in der Provence (Massif de la Sainte Baume, Mai 2013) [N] Muschampia proto: Larvalhabitat im Massif de la Sainte Baume Ende Mai 2013 [N] Muschampia proto: Larvalhabitat im Massif de la Sainte Baume Ende Mai 2013 [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat: Phlomis herba-venti im Mai in der Provence [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat: Phlomis herba-venti-Stauden auf einer Weide (Provence) [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat im Massif de la Sainte Baume (Provence) [N] Muschampia proto: Habitat in Andalusien mit zahlreichen P. herba-venti (Ende Juni 2008) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Meist Phlomis herba-venti, aber auch andere Phlomis-Arten wie Phlomis lychnidis.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Muschampia proto besiedelt trocken-heiße Lebensräume wie Felshänge, Steinsteppen, offene Stellen im Flaumeichenbusch oder der Macchia, Garigues etc. Die Habitate sind meist beweidet.
Die recht hochwüchsige Raupennahrungspflanze tritt meist lokal und truppweise auf. In der Provence traf ich Falter in der Crau, den Alpilles, im Luberon und im Massif la Sainte Baume, immer an xerothermen, teils stärker beweideten, teils schon brachgefallenen Stellen bis etwa maximal 1000m NN.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Eier werden an die Basis der Nahrungspflanze oder Steine etc. angeheftet. Die Raupe überwintert im Ei (Nel 1985). Halb bis ganz erwachsen fand ich sie um Mitte bis Ende Mai 2007 in Blattüten in Triebspitzen und oberen Blättern von Phlomis herba-venti in der Provence. Die Flugzeit ist lange auseinander gezogen. Die meisten Individuen fliegen spät und vor Mitte Juli sind offenbar nur wenige Exemplare unterwegs. In der Crau traf ich auf wenigen Metern über Meer frisch geschlüpfte Falter Ende Juli/Anfang August. Von da an und im ganzen August liegt die Hauptflugzeit dieser Art.

Die späte Flugzeit wird wie bei P. cirsii durch eine Dormanz der verpuppungsreifen Raupe erreicht. Etwa Anfang Juni verspinnt sie sich in den späteren Puppenkokon (während Pyrgus cirsii am Dormanzende offenbar ein neues Gehäuse anlegt) in Blättern der Nahrungspflanze, meist einige Dezimeter über dem Boden (Hitzeflucht). Hier verharrt sie meist ein bis zwei Monate (Zuchtbeobachtung), um sich im Juli oder auch noch Anfang August zu verpuppen. Der Hauptschlupf erfolgte in der Zucht um die Monatswende Juli/August und korreliert gut mit den Freilandergebnissen.
Die unterschiedlich lange Dauer der präpupalen Larvaldormanz ist bei dieser Art der Hauptgrund für die lange Gesamtflugzeit. Ende Juni 2008 konnte ich dies in Andalusien im Freiland verifizieren (Sierra de Cazorla, Sierra de Huetor). Es waren wenige einzelne Falter, Kopulae und Eiablagen (Phlomis herba-venti, Phlomis lychnidis) zu beobachten. An Phlomis herba-venti fand ich aber eine bei weitem größere Anzahl an ausgewachsenen Raupen in Dormanz. Einzelne eingetragene Individuen ergaben die Falter erst Mitte bis Ende August!
Die Männchen patrouillieren ausdauernd, oft an Geländemarken wie etwa einem Weg an einem Kanal in der Crau.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Muschampia proto ist oft nur sehr lokal verbreitet (wenn auch an den Fundstellen meist zahlreich) und durch die zufällige Zerstörung der eng begrenzten Larvalhabitate gefährdet. Hauptursachen sind Überbauungen und Intensivierung der Nutzung (Bewässerung, Düngung, Umbruch, Aufgabe der Beweidung und nachfolgende Sukzession).

Bemerkungen:
Muschampia proto kommt in Nordwestafrika vor und ist in Europa nur auf der iberischen Halbinsel, entlang der Mittelmeerküste in Südfrankreich, sehr lokal in Süditalien sowie über Albanien und Griechenland bis nach Kleinasien zur Südtürkei zu finden.



Muschampia tessellum