Orgyia antiqua (Linnaeus, 1758)


Orgyia antiqua: Male [S] Orgyia antiqua: Male [S] Orgyia antiqua: Male [S] Orgyia antiqua: Female [S] Orgyia antiqua: Ovae in the winter [N] Orgyia antiqua: Ovae [N] Orgyia antiqua: Ovae (detail) [N] Orgyia antiqua: Young larva [M] Orgyia antiqua: Young larva [S] Orgyia antiqua: Larva [S] Orgyia antiqua: Larva [S] Orgyia antiqua: Larva [S] Orgyia antiqua: Larva [N] Orgyia antiqua: Female pupa [S] Orgyia antiqua: Female pupa [S] Orgyia antiqua: Female pupa [S]

Host plants:
The species is polyphagous, They feed often on trees and bishes (Prunus, Salix, Quercus, etc.), but also on conifers and other plants. In my youth, I bred the species in winter from clutches of eggs found at spruce branches with Picea and found larvae on Geranium sp. in an urban park in Memmingen (Germany).

Habitat:
Orgyia antiqua inhabits in particular forests and hedgerows, but also occurs in all other habitats, especially when woody plants are available.

Life cycle:
Orgyia antiqua occurs from a single up to partial three generations with moth from June to October. Usually already the second generation is not quite complete. Larvae occur from May to early September. The wingless female lays her eggs on the outside of the pupal cocoon where they hibernate. In winter, the cocoons that are usually attached to perennials and shrubs or trees higher above ground are conspicuous.

Endangerment factors:
Orgyia antiqua is not endangered. However, even this species is often not as frequent as it used to be.

Remarks:
Orgyia antiqua is missing in the Alps above about 1400m above sea level (higher in the south). According to literature, male larvae moult four times and female five times (SBN 2000).

Orgyia antiqua shows an holarctic distribution (much of Europe except for Southern Spain, temperate Asia and North America).



Orgyia aurolimbata | Orgyia rupestris

Orgyia antiqua (Linnaeus, 1758) (Schlehen-Bürstenspinner)


Orgyia antiqua: Männchen [S] Orgyia antiqua: Männchen [S] Orgyia antiqua: Männchen [S] Orgyia antiqua: Weibchen [S] Orgyia antiqua: Eigelege im Winter [N] Orgyia antiqua: Eigelege [N] Orgyia antiqua: Eigelege (Detail) [N] Orgyia antiqua: Jungraupe [M] Orgyia antiqua: Jungraupe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Raupe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Raupe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Raupe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Raupe [N] Orgyia antiqua: Weibliche Puppe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Weibliche Puppe [S] Orgyia antiqua: Weibliche Puppe [S]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen sind polyphag. Oft fressen sie an Laubhölzern (Prunus, Salix, Quercus u.a.), aber auch Nadelhölzern und andere Pflanzen. In meiner Jugend züchtete ich die Art im Winter aus an Fichtenzweigen gefundenen Eigelegen mit Picea und fand Raupen an Geranium sp. in einer städtischen Parkanlage in Memmingen.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Orgyia antiqua besiedelt vor allem Wälder und Hecken, kommt aber auch sonst in allen Habitaten vor, besonders sofern sie mit Gehölzen durchsetzt sind.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in einer bis partiell drei Generationen im Jahr von Juni bis Oktober. Meist ist bereits die zweite Generation nicht ganz vollständig. Die Raupen leben von Ende April bis Anfang September. Das flügellose Weibchen legt die Eier außen an den Puppenkokon, wo sie überwintern. Diese meist erhöht an Stauden und Gehölzen angelegten Kokons sind im Winter oft zu finden.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Die ARt ist ungefährdet. Allerdings ist auch diese Art oft nicht mehr ganz so häufig wie noch vor einigen Jahrzehnten.

Bemerkungen:
Orgyia antiqua fehlt in den Alpen oberhalb von etwa 1400m NN (Südalpen höher). Laut Literatur machen weibliche Raupen fünf Häutungen durch und männliche nur vier (SBN 2000).

Orgyia antiqua ist offenbar holarktisch verbreitet (fast ganz Europa mit Ausnahme etwa Südspaniens, das gemäßigte Asien und Nordamerika).



Orgyia aurolimbata | Orgyia rupestris