Lasiocampa quercus (Linnaeus, 1758)


Lasiocampa quercus: Male [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Male [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Male [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Male [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Male [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Female [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Female [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Female [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Ovum [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Ovum [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Young larva (Silvretta, Austrian Alps, September 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Young larva prior to hibernation [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Young larva (Upper Rhine Valley near Hügelsheim, September 2012) [M] Lasiocampa quercus: Young larva [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Larva [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Larva [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Larva [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Larva (Kanisfluh, May 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Larva [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat: rocky limestone grasslands on the Kanisfluh (Vorarlberg, W-Austria) in 1600-2000m above sea level [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat: acidic heathland and mountain meadows in the Silvretta, Austrian Alps, Austrian Alps in 2100m above sea level (September 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat in the floodplain area of the Lech near Forchach in Austria (September 2010) [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on many herbs and shrubs or dwarf shrubs, especially Salix, Vaccinium, Calluna, Alnus, Rubus and Fabaceae.

Habitat:
In the lowlands, Lasiocampa quercus inhabits mostly heath moors, bushy grasslands near the woodlands, open riparian forests and other woody areas. In the mountains Lasiocampa quercus is one of the most common and widespread species upt to about 2300m above sea level, especially in the dwarf shrub belt.

Life cycle:
Lasiocampa quercus has a very variable life cycle with two main lines:
In the plains the moths fly in one quite late generation per year in July and August. The young caterpillar overwinters and can be found on shrubs and lower trees such as willow and alder in the autumn (September, October) and early spring (March-April). But the true hibernation apparently occurs on the ground. Pupation takes place in June in a cocoon in the litter layer, and rarely also increased.

In the higher mountains, the cycle is generally at least biennially. First hibernates the young to half-grown caterpillar, then in the second year the pupa. After the first winter the then larger caterpillars are observed quite frequently. Next spring, the butterflies fly very early between late May and July (as in early June at 2000m asl in the Silvretta area), sometimes even later.
Whether there also occur twice overwintering caterpillars and how many pupae can hatch without hibernation or how many pupae hibernate two times remains to be investigated.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
In the lowlands Lasiocampa quercus is in decline due to the destruction of open, sunny shrub formations and increasing dark forest management. In the Alps, Lasiocampa quercus is still very common and not threatened.

Remarks:
The males are diurnal, in the mountains (whether also in the lowlands?) also the females (some personal observations).

Lasiocampa quercus is widespread in most of Europe and many parts of the temperate to cold Asia, in Europe particularly common in the mountains and in Scandinavia.



Lasiocampa grandis | Lasiocampa terreni | Lasiocampa trifolii

Lasiocampa quercus (Linnaeus, 1758) (Eichenspinner)


Lasiocampa quercus: Männchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Männchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Männchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Männchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Männchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Weibchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Weibchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Weibchen [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Ei [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Ei [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Jungraupe (Silvretta, September 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Jungraupe vor der Überwinterung [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Jungraupe (Oberrhein bei Hügelsheim, September 2012) [M] Lasiocampa quercus: Jungraupe [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Raupe [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Raupe [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Raupe [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Raupe (Kanisfluh, Mai 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Raupe [S] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat: Kalkmagerrasen auf der Kanisfluh (Vorarlberg) in 1600-2000m NN [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat: saure Zwergstrauchheiden und Bergwiesen im Silvrettagebiet in 2100m NN (September 2010) [N] Lasiocampa quercus: Habitat im Auenbereich des Lech bei Forchach (September 2010) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen befressen vielerlei Stauden und Gehölze bzw. auch Zwergsträucher, besonders Salix, Vaccinium, Calluna, Alnus, Rubus und Fabaceae.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Im Tiefland besiedelt Lasiocampa quercus meist Moore, buschige Magerrasen mit Waldkontakt und lichte Auwälder sowie andere saum- und gehölzreiche, luftfeuchte Gebiete. Im Gebirge ist Lasiocampa quercus bis etwa 2300m NN eine der häufigsten und weitverbreitetsten Arten, besonders im Zwergstrauchgürtel.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Lasiocampa quercus weist einen sehr variablen Entwicklungszyklus mit zwei Hauptlinien auf:
Im Flachland wird eine Generation pro Jahr ausgebildet. Hier fliegen die Falter eher spät im Juli und August. Die Jungraupe überwintert und kann im Herbst und zeitigen Frühjahr (März bis April) in Säumen an strauchigen Gehölzen wie Weiden oder Erlen ruhend gefunden werden. Die eigentliche Überwinterung erfolgt bei dieser Art aber offenbar am Boden. Die Verpuppung erfolgt im Juni in einem Kokon in der Streuschicht, seltener auch erhöht.

Im höheren Gebirge ist der Zyklus im allgemeinen mindestens zweijährig. Zunächst überwintert die junge bis halberwachsene Raupe, dann im zweiten Jahr die Puppe. Nach der ersten Überwinterung sind die dann größeren Raupen recht häufig zu beobachten. Im nächsten Frühjahr fliegen die Falter recht früh Ende Mai bis Juli (so Anfang Juni auf 2000m im Silvretta-Gebiet), gelegentlich auch noch später.
Ob hier auch eine zweimalige Raupenüberwinterung vorkommt und wieviele Puppen auch ohne Überwinterung schlüpfen können bzw. wieviele Puppen mehrmals überwintern, bleibt zu untersuchen.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Tiefland geht Lasiocampa quercus teilweise stark zurück, so etwa im Illergebiet (Vernichtung lichter Strauchformationen, der Brennen und Dunkelwaldwirtschaft). In den Alpen ist Lasiocampa quercus noch sehr häufig und nicht gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Die Männchen sind tagaktiv, im Gebirge (ob auch im Tiefland?) auch die Weibchen (einige eigene Beobachtungen).

Lasiocampa quercus ist in fast ganz Europa und weiten Teilen des gemäßigten bis kalten Asien verbreitet, in Europa besonders häufig in den Gebirgen und in Skandinavien.



Lasiocampa grandis | Lasiocampa terreni | Lasiocampa trifolii