Coscinia cribraria (Linnaeus, 1758)


Coscinia cribraria: Female [S] Coscinia cribraria: Female [S] Coscinia cribraria: Female [S] Coscinia cribraria: Adult (e.l. Provence, France) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Adult (e.l. Provence, France) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Female (e.l. Provence, France) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Male [S] Coscinia cribraria: Half-grown larva (Provence, France) [M] Coscinia cribraria: Half-grown larva [M] Coscinia cribraria: Half-grown larva (Vinschgau, South Tyrol. March 2012) [M] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [M] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [M] Coscinia cribraria: Larva, lateral [M] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [M] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [N] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [S] Coscinia cribraria: Larva [S] Coscinia cribraria: Larva (Provence, France) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Pupa [S] Coscinia cribraria: Pupa [S] Coscinia cribraria: Habitat in Valais: stony dry slope with larvae, early June 2010 [N]

Host plants:
The species is polyphagous, but feeds especially on grasses. Also moss and lichens.

Habitat:
North of the Alps, Coscinia cribraria inhabits usually sandy heaths and bright sandy pine forests. South of the Alps, it occurs on dry mountain meadows with stony or rocky sections and in the Mediterranean area in the maquis, garrigues and sparse forests.

Life cycle:
North of the Alps, Coscinia cribraria flies similar to Spiris striata in a single generation in June/July. In lowlands south of the Alps, however, Coscinia cribraria occurs in two generations, e.g. in the Massif de la Sainte Baume near Marseille, with butterflies in May/June and August/September. In the Alps above 1000m above sea level Coscinia cribraria is again mostly univoltine.
I observed many larvae together with those of Syntomis phegea and Parnassius apollo at stone bars in April/May in the Italian Valle Susa, the Provence or South Tyrol. The caterpillars have a similar behaviour as that of Spiris striata.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
North of the Alps, Coscinia cribraria is very vulnerable to changes in the sandy heaths and sand pine forests (afforestation with dense monocultures, mining, overbuilding, agriculture). In Southern Europe and the Southern Alps, Coscinia cribraria is in contrast still quite common in rocky terrain.

Remarks:
Coscinia cribraria is distributed in Northwest Africa and many parts of Europe. It lacks, for example, in the northern Alps and throughout Baden-Württemberg.



Coscinia bifasciata | Coscinia romeii

Coscinia cribraria (Linnaeus, 1758) (Weißer Grasbär)


Coscinia cribraria: Weibchen [S] Coscinia cribraria: Weibchen [S] Coscinia cribraria: Weibchen [S] Coscinia cribraria: Falter (e.l. Provence) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Falter (e.l. Provence) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Weibchen (e.l. Provence) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Männchen [S] Coscinia cribraria: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Provence) [M] Coscinia cribraria: Halbwüchsige Raupe [M] Coscinia cribraria: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Vinschgau. März 2012) [M] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [M] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [M] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe, seitlich [M] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [M] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [N] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [S] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe [S] Coscinia cribraria: Raupe (Provence) [S] Coscinia cribraria: Puppe [S] Coscinia cribraria: Puppe [S] Coscinia cribraria: Habitat im Wallis: steiniger Trockenhang mit Raupen, Anfang Juni 2010 [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Art ist polyphag, befrisst aber insbesondere Gräser. Auch an Moos und Flechten.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Nördlich der Alpen werden meist Sandheiden und lichte Sandkiefernwälder besiedelt. Südlich der Alpen sind es trockene Bergmatten mit Steinriegeln und Felsen sowie allgemein Magerrasen und am Mittelmeer steinige Macchien, Garrigues und lichte Wälder.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Nördlich der Alpen wird ähnlich Spiris striata eine Generation im Juni/Juli ausgebildet. In niedrigen Lagen südlich der Alpen fliegt Coscinia cribraria hingegen in zwei Generationen, so im Massif de la Sainte Baume bei Marseille mit Faltern im Mai/Juni und Augsut/September. Im Alpenraum ist der Falter oberhalb von 1000m NN wieder meist univoltin.
Ich fand in der Valle die Susa (Italien), der Provence und in Südtirol zahlreiche Raupen zusammen mit solchen von Syntomis phegea und Parnassius apollo an Steinriegeln im April/Mai. Die Raupen zeigen ein ähnliches Verhalten wie die von Spiris striata.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Nördlich der Alpen ist Coscinia cribraria sehr gefährdet durch Veränderungen der Sandheiden und lückigen Sandkiefernwälder (Aufforstung durch dichte Monokulturen, Abbau, Überbauung, Landwirtschaft). In Südeuropa und den Südalpen ist der Falter hingegen in extensivem, steinigem Gelände fast ubiquitär.

Bemerkungen:
Coscinia cribraria ist in Nordwestafrika und vielen Gegenden Europas verbreitet. Sie fehlt beispielsweise im Nordalpenraum und in ganz Baden-Württemberg.



Coscinia bifasciata | Coscinia romeii