Aiolopus strepens (Latreille, 1804)


Aiolopus strepens: Male (Madeira, Encumeada, 1200m asl, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Male (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Male (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Male (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Female (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Female (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Female (Madeira, Encumeada, March 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Male [N] Aiolopus strepens: Adult [N] Aiolopus strepens: Female [N] Aiolopus strepens: Habitat in the Ticino [N] Aiolopus strepens: Habitat near Santana (Madeira, March 2013) [N]

Nutrition:
The insects feed especially on grasses.

Habitat:
Aiolopus strepens inhabits riverbanks, dry to mesophilic grasslands, embankments, woodland edges, shrubland with open soil spots, quarries, etc. The well flying species can be found in Ticino to over 1500m above sea level. I found it on Madeira still in 1800m asl.

Life cycle:
Adults can be found almost year-round. Aiolopus strepens generally hibernates as adult. Oviposition takes place in the spring (but most likely also already in late summer/autumn). On the northern edge of the distribution (Ticino, Geneva) surely only a part of the adults survives until spring.

Endangerment factors:
Aiolopus strepens is relatively widespread and only locally endangered stronger.

Remarks:
Aiolopus strepens occurs for example in Africa, on the Canary Islands, Madeira and in the whole Mediterranean region. The northern boundary is located in the south of Switzerland, where it is found at Geneva and in southern Ticino.



Aiolopus thalassinus

Aiolopus strepens (Latreille, 1804) (Braune Strandschrecke)


Aiolopus strepens: Männchen (Madeira, Encumeada, 1200m NN, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Männchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Männchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Männchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Weibchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Weibchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Weibchen (Madeira, Encumeada, März 2013) [N] Aiolopus strepens: Männchen [N] Aiolopus strepens: Imago [N] Aiolopus strepens: Weibchen [N] Aiolopus strepens: Habitat im Tessin [N] Aiolopus strepens: Habitat auf Madeira (Santana, März 2013) [N]

Nahrung:
Die Tiere ernähren sich insbesondere von Gräsern.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Aiolopus strepens besiedelt Flussufer, Trockenrasen, Grassäume, Böschungen, Waldränder, Buschland mit Offenbodenstellen oder Steinbrüche etc. Die gut flugfähige Art kann im Tessin bis über 1500m NN angetroffen werden. Auf Madeira traf ich sie im März 2013 noch in 1800m an.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Imagines können fast ganzjährig angetroffen werden. Die Überwinterung erfolgt (meist?/immer?) als Imago, die Eiablage im Frühjahr (sehr wahrscheinlich aber auch schon im Spätsommer/Herbst). Am Nordrand der Verbreitung (Tessin, Genf) schafft es aber sicher nur ein Teil der Imagines, das Frühjahr zu erreichen.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Aiolopus strepens ist relativ weit verbreitet und nur lokal stärker gefährdet.

Bemerkungen:
Aiolopus strepens kommt beispielsweise in Afrika, auf den Kanaren, Madeira und im gesamten Mittelmeergebiet vor. Die Nordgrenze liegt in der Südschweiz, wo sie um Genf und im Südtessin gefunden wird.



Aiolopus thalassinus