Locusta migratoria Linnaeus, 1758


Locusta migratoria: Adult (Tenerife, March 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Adult (Tenerife, March 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Adult (Tenerife, March 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Adult (Azores, São Miguel, northern coast near Maja, December 2013) [N] Locusta migratoria: Female at oviposition (Mallorca, March 2008) [N] Locusta migratoria: Adult at the Colle di Tende at 1800 m above sea level [N] Locusta migratoria: Habitat in Tenerife in March 2012 (agricultural land in 800 m above sea level) [N] Locusta migratoria: Habitat in Mallorca, March 2008) [N]

Nutrition:
In general, grasses, including cereals.

Habitat:
Locusta migratoria occurs preferably in warm lowland wetlands of Southern Europe, but can be found as well on gravel bars, dry grasslands, agrigultural fields etc. I found it even at 1900m above sea level in a dry mountain meadow at the Colle di Tende in the Italian Alps (photo).

Life cycle:
Imagines are mostly found from June until well into November. In southern Europe adults are observed even in winter and spring (for example in March on Mallorca).

Endangerment factors:
Overall, Locusta migratoria is still only little endangered, especially at the northern edge of its distribution (e.g. on the southern foothills of the Alps) due to wetland destruction and loss of suitable habitats. Outbreaks of this species as they had been frequent in the 19th century are rare today because of the intense use of land (pesticides!) and the resulting absence of large optimal habitats.

Remarks:
Locusta migratoria is distributed in Southern Europe and parts of southern Central Europe (north to the southern foothills of the Alps, mainly around the Mediterranean and Black Sea regions). Today, Locusta migratoria is extinct in Germany. Additionally, Locusta migratoria occurs in parts of North Africa, Macaronesia and parts of the warmer Asia.

Locusta migratoria Linnaeus, 1758 (Wanderheuschrecke)


Locusta migratoria: Imago (Teneriffa, März 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Imago (Teneriffa, März 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Imago (Teneriffa, März 2012) [N] Locusta migratoria: Imago (Azoren, São Miguel, Nordküste bei Maja, Dezember 2013)) [N] Locusta migratoria: Weibchen bei der Eiablage (Mallorca, März 2008) [N] Locusta migratoria: Imago am Colle di Tende in 1800 m NN [N] Locusta migratoria: Habitat auf Teneriffa in ca. 800m NN im März 2012 (Kulturland) [N] Locusta migratoria: Habitat auf Mallorca, März 2008) [N]

Nahrung:
Im allgemeinen Gräser, also auch Getreide

Lebensraumansprüche:
Locusta migratoria besiedelt gerne warme Niederungs-Feuchtgebiete Südeuropas, kommt aber auch auf Schotterbänken, Trockenrasen, im Kulturland etc. vor. Ich fand sie sogar auf 1900m NN in einer trockenen Bergwiese am Colle di Tende in den italienischen Seealpen (Photo).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Imagines sind meist von Juni bis weit in den November zu finden. In Südeuropa sind auch im Winter und Frühling Imagines festzustellen (etwa im März auf Mallorca beobachtet).

Gefährdungsursachen:
Insgesamt ist Locusta migratoria noch weniger gefährdet, wenn auch besonders am Nordrand ihrer Verbreitung (etwa am Alpensüdfuß) Verluste durch Feuchtgebietszerstörung und Schwund geeigneter Habitate auftreten. Massenvermehrungen dieser Art wie sie noch im 19. Jahrhundert häufig waren, sind heute aufgrund der intensiven Landnutzung des Menschen und der einhergehenden Armut an großflächigen, optimalen Entwicklungshabitaten nur mehr selten zu beobachten.

Bemerkungen:
Locusta migratoria ist in Südeuropa und dem südlichsten Mitteleuropa (Mittelmeer- und Schwarzmeergebiet, seltener weiter nördlich) verbreitet und gilt in Deutschland heute als ausgestorben. Darüber hinaus kommt Locusta migratoria in Teilen Nordafrikas, Makaronesien und in Teilen Asiens vor.