Tetrix undulata (Sowerby, 1806)


Tetrix undulata: Adult [M] Tetrix undulata: Adult [N] Tetrix undulata: Larva (Illerbeuren near Memmingen, April 2013) [N] Tetrix undulata: Illerbeuren near Memmingen (S-Germany, April 2013) [N] Tetrix undulata: Illerbeuren near Memmingen (S-Germany, April 2013) [N]

Nutrition:
The insects feed on mosses, algae, top soil, plant debris and occasionally also plants like grasses.

Habitat:
Tetrix undulata inhabits mesophilic clearings with open soil spots, fresh pastures, wetlands and other mesophilic sites with open spots and low and sparse vegenation. In southern Bavaria, I observed Tetrix undulata often on slopy cattle pastures with soil vulnerations, often in wooded area.

Life cycle:
Tetrix undulata hibernates as adult and also in larval stages. Thus adults can be observed almost year-round with the exception of the winter months, but are most common in late summer/early autumn.

Endangerment factors:
Tetrix undulata is at low risk and quite widespread in Central Europe. But it is not always common and is quite scarce especially in dry areas such as the Swabian Alb, where more mesophilic clearings are settled.

Remarks:
Tetrix undulata occurs mainly from the Iberian Peninsula and the British Isles across central and parts of Northern Europe to NW-Russia.



Tetrix bipunctata | Tetrix subulata | Tetrix tenuicornis | Tetrix tuerki 
German version / deutsche Version

Tetrix undulata (Sowerby, 1806) (Gemeine Dornschrecke)


Tetrix undulata: Imago [M] Tetrix undulata: Imago [N] Tetrix undulata: Larve (Illerbeuren bei Memmingen, April 2013) [N] Tetrix undulata: Illerbeuren bei Memmingen (April 2013) [N] Tetrix undulata: Illerbeuren bei Memmingen (April 2013) [N]

Nahrung:
Die Tiere fressen Moose, Algen, Humus, Pflanzenreste und gelegentlich auch höhere Pflanzen (Gräser etc.).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Tetrix undulata besiedelt mesophile Waldlichtungen mit Offenbodenstellen, frische Viehweiden, niedrigwüchsige Feuchtwiesen und andere mesophile Stellen mit Offenbodenstellen und geringem Horizontalwiderstand. Im Unterallgäu fand ich sie oft an hängigen Kuhweiden mit Trittspuren, gerne in Waldrandlage.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Tetrix undulata überwintert sowohl als Imago als auch als Larve. Somit sind Imagines zwar fast ganzjährig mit Ausnahme des Winters anzutreffen, sind aber im Spätsommer/Frühherbst am häufigsten.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Tetrix undulata ist nur wenig gefährdet und weit verbreitet. Sie ist aber nicht immer häufig und ist seltener besonders in trockenen Gebieten wie der Schwäbischen Alb, wo mehr mesophile Lichtungen besiedelt werden.

Bemerkungen:
Tetrix undulata ist hauptsächlich von der Iberischen Halbinsel und den Britischen Inseln übser Mittel- und Teile Nordeuropas bis Nordwestrußland verbreitet.



Tetrix bipunctata | Tetrix subulata | Tetrix tenuicornis | Tetrix tuerki 
English version / englische Version