Parnassius phoebus (Fabricius, 1793)


Parnassius phoebus: Female (France, Col de Larche, July 2012) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Male (Silvretta, W-Austria) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Male (Silvretta, W-Austria) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Male (Albula-Pass, July 2010) Parnassius phoebus: Female (Oetztal, Austrian Alps) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Egg [N] Parnassius phoebus: Larva (Albula, Switzerland) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Larva (Switzerland, Albula) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Larva [N] Parnassius phoebus: Larva (Albula-Pass, June 2010) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Larva (Albula-Pass, June 2010) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Pupa [S] Parnassius phoebus: Pupa [S] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat in the Austrian Oetztal at flight time  [N] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat: snow water gully with Saxifraga aizoides and many larvae (Albula, Switzerland, June 2008) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat: stream at the Albula-Pass in 2100m above sea level [N]

Host plants:
The larvae generally feed on Saxifraga aizoides.

Habitat:
Parnassius phoebus inhabits riverine systems and melting water drains on alpine slopes in the Alps from about 1700m to 2700m above sea level. The adults often fly very limitedly around the streams and wet places that are partially bordered with taller herbs. The caterpillars can be found resting on the water trickled pads of moss and host plant.

Life cycle:
Parnassius phoebus hibernates as a caterpillar in the egg, in some regions occasionally perhaps even already outside of the egg shell. I found mature caterpillars for example in the west Austrian Silvretta area in June, and butterflies in August and even early September. In many regions/years flight time already starts in early July (Southern French Alps) or even late June.

Endangerment factors:
Parnassius phoebus is only partially threatened due to tourism, drainage and diversion of alpine rivers in order to generate electricity and overgrazing. Skiing is one of the most environmentally damaging pastimes, even if many people are economically dependent.

Remarks:
Parnassius phoebus occurs in the higher altitudes of the Alps. In Germany only occasionally vagrant individuals are observed in the most southerly west Bavarian Alps (from neighbouring Austria). On the other hand Parnassius phoebus is quite widely distributed in the Central and Southern Alps.
In addition Parnassius phoebus is found in the Urals and some East Asian and North American mountains.



Parnassius apollo | Parnassius mnemosyne

Parnassius phoebus (Fabricius, 1793) (Alpen-Apollo)


Parnassius phoebus: Weibchen (Frankreich,  Col de Larche, Juli 2012) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Männchen (Silvretta) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Männchen (Silvretta) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Männchen (Albula-Pass, Juli 2010) Parnassius phoebus: Weibchen (Ötztal) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Ei [N] Parnassius phoebus: Raupe (Albula, Schweiz) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Raupe (Albula-Pass) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Raupe [N] Parnassius phoebus: Raupe (Albula-Pass, Juni 2010) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Raupe (Albula-Pass, Juni 2010) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Puppe [S] Parnassius phoebus: Puppe [S] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat im Ötztal zur Falterflugzeit [N] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat: Schmelzwasserrinne mit Saxifraga aizoides und zahlreichen Raupen (Albula, Juni 2008) [N] Parnassius phoebus: Habitat: Bach am Albula-Pass in 2100m NN [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen leben in den allermeisten Fällen an Saxifraga aizoides.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Parnassius phoebus besiedelt Fliessgewässersysteme und überrieselte Hänge der alpinen Stufe der Alpen ab etwa 1700m bis 2700m NN. Die Falter fliegen meist engbegrenzt um die stellenweise mit Hochstauden gesäumten Bäche. Die Raupen finden sich auf den meist von Wasser durchrieselten Polstern der Nahrungspflanze und auf Moos ruhend.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Parnassius phoebus überwintert als Raupe im Ei, gebietsweise vereinzelt vielleicht auch schon außerhalb der Eihülle. Erwachsene Raupen fand ich etwa im Silvrettagebiet im Juni, Falter hingegen im August und noch Anfang September. In vielen Gebieten/Jahren beginnt die Flugzeit auch schon Anfang Juli (z.B. in den südfranzösischen Alpen) oder gar Ende Juni.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Parnassius phoebus ist nur stellenweise durch Tourismus, durch Trockenlegung und Umleitung alpiner Fließgewässer etwa zur Stromgewinnung und durch Überweidung infolge zu hohen Viehbesatzes bedroht. Skifahren ist eines der umweltschädlichsten Freizeitvergnügen, wenn auch viele Menschen wirtschaftlich davon abhängig sind.

Bemerkungen:
Der Falter kommt in Deutschland nur sporadisch zugeflogen in den südlichsten Allgäuer Alpen vor, ist in den Zentral- und Südalpen dagegen recht häufig.
Daneben findet sich Parnassius phoebus auch im Ural, einigen ostasiatischen Gebirgen und in Nordamerika.



Parnassius apollo | Parnassius mnemosyne 
English version / englische Version