Carcharodus alceae (Esper, 1780)


Carcharodus alceae: Adult Carcharodus alceae: Adult (e.l. Südspanien) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Adult (eastern Swabian Alb, Southern Germany, Kuchener Tal, August 2010) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Adult (N-Greece, Smolikas, late June 2013) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Female-upper side [S] Carcharodus alceae: Adult (eastern Swabian Alb) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Lower side [S] Carcharodus alceae: Adult (e.l. Südspanien) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Mating (N-Greece, Thessaloniki, late June 2013) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Ovum [N] Carcharodus alceae: Ovum (Upper Rhine, September 2011) [N] Carcharodus alceae: L3 [M] Carcharodus alceae: Shelter of a L3 (Greece) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Larva in penultimate instar [S] Carcharodus alceae: Half-grown larva (Sardinia, May 2012) [M] Carcharodus alceae: Larva [M] Carcharodus alceae: Larva [S] Carcharodus alceae: Larva [S] Carcharodus alceae: Larva [S] Carcharodus alceae: Larva (e.l. Greece 2008) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Larva (Provence, late April 2013). This individual must have hibernated half-grown. [M] Carcharodus alceae: Larva [S] Carcharodus alceae: Pupa (e.l. Provence 2013) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Pupa (e.l. Provence 2013) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Pupa [S] Carcharodus alceae: Pupa [S] Carcharodus alceae: Typical open habitat with singly occurring Malvaceae in Northern Greece (May 2011) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Habitat in Northern Greece south of Mount Olympus (May 2011) [N]

Host plants:
Malvaceae, in Central Europe usually Malva moschata and M. alcea, in the South often Malva neglegta or Althaea.

Habitat:
Carcharodus alceae colonizes dry warm open areas with the larval host plants such as calcareous grasslands, ruderal areas, road side verges, flood embankments and quarries. In Southern Europe Carcharodus alceae is a ubiquist, which reproduces also in urban areas. This species spreads in Central Europe in the course of global warming and an increasement of Malvaceae in gardens and along roads.

Life cycle:
There are several generations per year. In Central Europe Carcharodus alceae usually occurs in two generations with butterflies from late April to June and again from mid-July to early September. In the south there are mostly at least three generations in lower elevations.
The caterpillar overwinters in most cases mature and pupates in the spring without re-feeding. After late oviposition (i.e. in late August and September), I observed, however, also hibernation in penultimate instar or younger. Moreover I observed feeding mature larvae in April in Provence (Alpilles, 2013).

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
In Central Europe this species is threatened by the disappearance of extensively managed grasslands, ruderal areas (overbuilding!) and wrong, because to intensive mowing of road side verges and flood embankments around the Rhine.

In recent years (2010 and 2011), for example in the Swabian Alb - but also elsewhere - you can observe an increasement probably due to climate warming and the spread of hollyhocks on roadsides. So I found caterpillars on the southwestern Swabian Alb near Veringendorf (Germany) and on the eastern Swabian Alb near Dischingen and Neresheim in 2011. In both locations these were the first observations.

Remarks:
Carcharodus alceae is distributed from Southern Spain across Southern and Central Europe to North India and China.



Carcharodus baeticus | Carcharodus flocciferus | Carcharodus lavatherae | Carcharodus orientalis | Carcharodus stauderi

Carcharodus alceae (Esper, 1780) (Malven-Dickkopf)


Carcharodus alceae: Falter Carcharodus alceae: Falter (e.l. Südspanien) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Falter (Ostalb, Kuchener Tal, August 2010) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Falter (Nordgriechenland, Smolikas, Ende Juni 2013) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Weibchen-Oberseite [S] Carcharodus alceae: Falteroberseite (Ostalb) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Unterseite [S] Carcharodus alceae: Falter (e.l. Südspanien) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Kopula (Nordgriechenland, Thessaloniki, Ende Juni 2013) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Ei [N] Carcharodus alceae: Ei (Oberrhein, September 2011) [N] Carcharodus alceae: L3 [M] Carcharodus alceae: Gehäuse einer L3 (Griechenland) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe im vorletzten Stadium [S] Carcharodus alceae: Halbwüchsige Raupe (Sardinien, Mai 2012) [M] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe [M] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe (e.l. Griechenland 2008) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe (Provence, Ende April 2013). Dieses Tier muss halbwüchsig überwintert haben. [M] Carcharodus alceae: Raupe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Puppe (e.l. Provence 2013) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Puppe (e.l. Provence 2013) [S] Carcharodus alceae: Puppe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Puppe [S] Carcharodus alceae: Typisches, offenes Habitat mit einzelnen Malvengewächsen in Nordgriechenland (Mai 2011) [N] Carcharodus alceae: Habitat in Nordgriechenland südlich des Olymps (Mai 2011) [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Malvengewächse (Malvaceae), in Mitteleuropa meist Malva moschata und Malva alcea, im Süden oft Malva neglegta oder Althaea.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Carcharodus alceae besiedelt trockenwarme Offenlandbereiche mit der Raupennahrung wie Kalkmagerrasen, Ruderalflächen, Hochwasserdämme, Straßenrandstreifen oder Steinbrüche. In Südeuropa ist der Falter ein Ubiquist, der auch im Siedlungsbereich ablegt. Im Zuge der Klimaerwärmung und der Zunahme von Malvengewächsen in Gärten, ist dies lokal auch schon in Mitteleuropa zu beobachten.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Es werden mehrere Generationen pro Jahr ausgebildet. In Mitteleuropa sind es deren meist zwei mit Faltern von Ende April bis Juni und wieder von Mitte Juli bis Anfang September, im Mittelmeergebiet hingegen eher mindestens drei.
Die Raupe überwintert meist ausgewachsen und verpuppt sich im Frühjahr ohne erneute Nahrungsaufnahme. Nach später Eiablage Ende August und im September beobachtete ich allerdings auch schon eine Überwinterung im vor- oder drittletzten Stadium. Zudem beobachtete ich fressende ausgewachsene Raupen im April 2013 in der Provence (Alpilles).

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
In Mitteleuropa ist auch diese Art gefährdet durch das Verschwinden von Magerrasen, Ruderalstellen (Überbauung!) und falsche, weil zu intensive Mahd von Hochwasserdämmen etwa am Rhein.

In den letzten Jahren (2010 und 2011) ist beispielsweise auf der Schwäbischen Alb - aber auch anderswo - vermutlich klimabedingt und bedingt durch die Ausbreitung von Malven an Straßenrändern - eine Zunahme zu beobachten. So fand ich 2011 Raupen auf der südwestlichen Schwäbischen Alb bei Veringendorf sowie auf der Ostalb im Raum Dischingen-Neresheim.

Bemerkungen:
Carcharodus alceae ist von Südspanien über Süd- und Mitteleuropa bis nach Nordindien und China verbreitet.



Carcharodus baeticus | Carcharodus flocciferus | Carcharodus lavatherae | Carcharodus orientalis | Carcharodus stauderi