Calliphona gomerensis Pfau & Pfau, 2007


Calliphona gomerensis: Female (La Gomera, December 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Female (La Gomera, December 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Female (La Gomera, December 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Female in the Geńst verborgen (La Gomera) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Larva (La Gomera, Valle Hermosa, 350m asl, February 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Habitat (La Gomera) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Habitat near Las Hayas (February 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Habitat in Garajonay National Park that has been destroyed by the fire of August, 2012 (February 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Larval Habitat in Valle Hermosa (350-600m NN, foreground and center, February 2013). Here I observed several larvae on Bituminaria. [N]

Nutrition:
The animals feed on plants, probably also small insects. The larvae live more near the ground on herbs. I observed them on Bituminaria bituminosa (Fabaceae).

Habitat:
Calliphona gomerensis colonizes the regionof the laurel forest, in La Gomera (Canary Islands) from about 600m above sea level (mainly from 800m above sea level). The adults are found especially in something lighter places with tree heath (Erica arborea) etc. Sometimes they are observed even in gardens. The larvae live closer to the ground, for example on Urtica or Bituminaria. I met the larvae also in lower elevations and on drier ground (e.g. 350m NN in Valle Hermosa, February 2013).

Life cycle:
At Christmas 2008 I met both larvae and adults. Presumably, the adults are seen year-round.

Endangerment factors:
Calliphona gomerensis can survive only if the laurel forest (National Park) is protected from fire and human activities. In summer 2012, unfortunately a significant part of the preferred Erica arborea/Myrica faya units on the southern edge of Garajonay National Park has been destroyed by fire. It remains to be seen in which extent global warming will impact the habitats of Calliphona gomerensis.

Remarks:
On sunny days, the males sit both within the forest as well as at bushy sites on the edge always in the highest branches of the trees and are stridulating loudly especially in the afternoon. The males can be hardly found due to their seats in the top region. The females climb around in the bushes, and are more likely to be observed even if they are quiet.

Calliphona gomerensis is apparently endemic to La Gomera. It differs from for example Calliphona palmae (La Palma) by their long wings that overlook the ovipositor slightly. But Calliphona alluaudi (Gran Canaria) is similar. Both species have been separated just recently.



Calliphona palmensis

Calliphona gomerensis Pfau & Pfau, 2007


Calliphona gomerensis: Weibchen (La Gomera, Dezember 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Weibchen (La Gomera, Dezember 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Weibchen (La Gomera, Dezember 2008) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Weibchen im Geäst verborgen (La Gomera) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Larve (La Gomera, Valle Hermosa, 350m NN, Februar 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Habitat (La Gomera) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Habitat bei Las Hayas (Februar 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Vom Feuer im August 2012 zerstörtes Habitat im Nationalpark Garajonay (Februar 2013) [N] Calliphona gomerensis: Larvalhabitat im Valle Hermosa (350-600m NN, Vorder- und Mittelgrund, Februar 2013). Hier wurden mehrere Larven an Bituminaria gefunden. [N]

Nahrung:
Die Tiere fressen Pflanzen, wohl auch kleine Insekten. Die Larven leben bodennäher an zarten Stauden. Mehrfach fand ich sie an Bituminaria bituminosa (Fabaceae).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Calliphona gomerensis besiedelt das Gebiet des sogenannten Laurisilva (Lorbeerwald) auf La Gomera (Kanarische Inseln) ab etwa 600m NN (vor allem ab 800m NN). Besonders an etwas lichteren Stellen mit Baumheide etc. kann man die Imagines finden. Sie verirren sich manchmal auch in Gärten. Die Larven leben bodennäher, so etwa auf Urtica-Stauden oder Bituminaria. Die Larven werden zudem auch in tieferen Lagen und trockenerem Untergrund angetroffen (z.B. Valle Hermosa, 350m NN, Februar 2013).

Entwicklungszyklus:
An Weihnachten 2008 traf ich sowohl Larven als auch Imagines an. Vermutlich sind die Imagines ganzjährig zu beobachten.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Calliphona gomerensis kann nur überleben, wenn der Lorbeerwald (Nationalpark) vor Feuer und menschlichen Aktivitäten geschützt wird. Im Sommer 2012 ist leider ein signifikanter Teil der gerne besiedelten Baumheide-Gagelstrauchformation am Südrand des Garajonay-Parks abgebrannt. Wie sich die Klimaerwärmung auswirkt, bleibt abzuwarten.

Bemerkungen:
Die Männchen sitzen an sonnigen Tagen sowohl innerhalb des Waldes als auch an busch- und baumreichen Stellen am Rande immer in den höchsten Zweigpartien der Gehölze und tragen ab Mittag, besonders aber am Spätnachmittag ihren lauten Gesang vor. Die Männchen sind wegen ihrer Sitzplätze in der Wipfelregion nur schwer zu finden. Die Weibchen klettern in den Gebüschen umher und sind eher zu sehen, auch wenn sie stumm sind.

Calliphona gomerensis kommt offenbar endemisch auf La Gomera vor. Sie unterscheidet sich etwa von Calliphona palmae (La Palma) durch ihre langen Flügel, die den Legebohrer knapp überragen.
Ähnlich ist aber Calliphona alluaudi (Gran Canaria). Beide Arten wurden erst kürzlich getrennt.



Calliphona palmensis