Antaxius difformis (Brunner von Wattenwyl, 1861)


Antaxius difformis: Male lateral [N] Antaxius difformis: Male (Engadine, late September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Male (Engadine, late September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Male (Engadine, late September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Female (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Female (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Female (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Habitat in the Engadin late September 2008 [N] Antaxius difformis: Habitat detail [N]

Nutrition:
Plants and carnal foods (insects etc.)

Habitat:
Antaxius difformis colonizes sunny rocky slopes, scree and loose rock walls at altitudes from 1300 to 2500m above sea level. I met many adults together with Podisma pedestris and Psophus stridulus in a boulder-rich grasslands in the Engadine in about 1700m above sea level.

Life cycle:
The adults are found from mid-July to early October. They are often quite concealed, but are sometimes flushed when the observer walks through the habitat (where possible) and are then betrayed by their escape jump. They often rest in gaps or in tufts of grass between the stones.

Endangerment factors:
Many localities of Antaxius difformis are well protected by their inaccessibility. But especially at low sites Antaxius difformis is certainly at leat locally threatened by bush encroachment or large-scale mining and sometimes even by overbuilding.

Remarks:
The distribution is endemic southern Alpine. Several sites are known from Northern Italy and southern Switzerland. In addition, it is also found in southern parts of the Austrian Alps.



Antaxius hispanicus | Antaxius pedestris | Antaxius sorrezensis

Antaxius difformis (Brunner von Wattenwyl, 1861) (Alpine Bergschrecke)


Antaxius difformis: Männchen lateral [N] Antaxius difformis: Männchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Männchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Männchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Weibchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Weibchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Weibchen (Engadin, Ende September 2008) [N] Antaxius difformis: Habitat im Engadin Ende September 2008 [N] Antaxius difformis: Habitat Detail [N]

Nahrung:
Pflanzliche und tierische Kost Insekten etc.).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Antaxius difformis besiedelt sonnige Felshänge, Geröllfelder und lose Steinwälle in Höhenlagen zwischen 1300 und 2500m NN. Zahlreiche Imagines traf ich zusammen mit solchen von Podisma pedestris und Psophus stridulus in einem geröllreichen Magerrasen im Engadin in etwa 1700 m NN.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Imagines sind von Mitte Juli bis Anfang Oktober anzutreffen. Sie halten sich oft ziemlich verborgen, werden aber gelegentlich bei der Begehung des Habitats (soweit möglich) aufgeschreckt und verraten sich dann durch ihren Fluchtsprung. Oft halten sie sich in Steinlücken oder in Grasbüscheln zwischen den Steinen auf.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Viele Fundorte der Art sind durch ihre Unzugänglichkeit gut geschützt. Vor allem an tiefliegenden Stellen ist Antaxius difformis aber durchaus durch Verbuschung von Steinfeldern, Abbau von Gesteinen in großem Stil und manchmal sogar von Bebauung bedroht.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung ist endemisch südalpin. Etliche Vorkommen sind aus Norditalien und aus der Südschweiz bekannt. Daneben ist sie auch in südlichen Teilen der österreichischen Alpen zu finden.



Antaxius hispanicus | Antaxius pedestris | Antaxius sorrezensis