Nycteola degenerana (Hübner, 1799)


Nycteola degenerana: Adult (e.l. SE-Baden Wuerttemberg, Adelegg) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Adult (e.l. northern Alps) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Adult (e.l. northern Alps) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Adult (e.l. northern Alps) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Larva, Adelegg, early July 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Larva, Adelegg, early July 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Larva, Grisons, June 2010 [S] Nycteola degenerana: Larva, Grisons, June 2010 [S] Nycteola degenerana: Larva, Grisons, June 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Larva [M] Nycteola degenerana: Larva (Adelegg, German prealps in SE-Baden-Wuerttemberg) [N] Nycteola degenerana: Feeding pattern (two larvae visible, Adelegg, German prealps) [M] Nycteola degenerana: Larvaegespinst, Grisons, June 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Cocoon [S] Nycteola degenerana: Cocoon (e.l. Adelegg, German prealps) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Larval habitat on the Adelegg (S-Germany), early July 2010: willows (especially Salix appendiculata) in half shady position along a stream [N]

Host plants:
The caterpillars feed on Salix species with rough leaves. I found caterpillars on Salix caprea, S. appendiculata, S. cinerea and S. aurita (a single observation also on S. pentandra).

Habitat:
Nycteola degenerana inhabits mesophilic to most often humid inner woodland edges with softwood species in semi-shaded to shady areas (clearcut edges, roadsides, borders of streams and lakes).

Life cycle:
Nycteola degenerana flies in a single (as mostly in the Allgaeu/Alps) or two generations per year (e.g. in hot summers like 2003 or in lower elevations). The moths overwinter. Caterpillars can be found from late May to mid-July and in the case of a partial second generation again be from July to August. The larvae usually live in small groups of 2-5 individuals on a branch with several fresh shoots, which tips they cover with a loose weave.

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Nycteola degenerana has no high requirements. Nevertheless, it is at times driven back by cutting economically worthless softwood by forestry.

Remarks:
Overall, Nycteola degenerana is distributed locally from France across central and northern parts of Europe and across temperate Asia to Japan. In Central Europe the occurrence is focused mainly on the mountains. A center of distribution is currently the northern and central region of the Alps and the adjacent foothills, where it was detected around by the author in many places in the woods (as in the whole Allgäu) since 2000. But it seems to retract its distribution again in the last years at least in the northern foreland of the Alps.



Nycteola asiatica | Nycteola revayana | Nycteola siculana

Nycteola degenerana (Hübner, 1799) (Salweiden-Wicklereulchen)


Nycteola degenerana: Falter (e.l. Adelegg) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Falter (e.l. Nordalpen) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Falter (e.l. Nordalpen) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Falter (e.l. Nordalpen) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe, Adelegg, Anfang Juli 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe, Adelegg, Anfang Juli 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe, Graubünden, Juni 2010 [S] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe, Graubünden, Juni 2010 [S] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe, Graubünden, Juni 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe [M] Nycteola degenerana: Raupe (Adelegg) [N] Nycteola degenerana: Fraßbild (zwei Raupen erkennbar, Adelegg) [M] Nycteola degenerana: Raupengespinst, Graubünden, Juni 2010 [M] Nycteola degenerana: Kokon [S] Nycteola degenerana: Kokon (e.l. Adelegg) [S] Nycteola degenerana: Larvalhabitat auf der Adelegg, Anfang Juli 2010: Weidengebüsch in halbschattiger Lage an einem Waldbach [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Die Raupen befressen Salix-Arten mit rauen Blättern. Ich fand Raupen an Salix caprea, S. appendiculata, S. cinerea und S. aurita (Einzelfund an S. pentandra).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Nycteola degenerana besiedelt mesophile bis meist feuchte Waldbinnensäume mit Weichholzarten in halbschattiger bis schattiger Lage (Kahlschlagsränder, Wegränder, Gewässerränder).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Nycteola degenerana bildet eine (so meist im Allgäu/Alpen) oder zwei Generationen pro Jahr aus (etwa in heißen Sommern wie 2003 oder in tieferen Lagen). Die Falter überwintern. Raupen sind von Ende Mai bis Mitte Juli und bei einer partiellen 2. Generation nochmals von Juli bis August zu finden. Die Tiere leben meist zu 2-5 an einem Ast mit mehreren frischen Trieben, deren Spitzen sie mit einem lockeren Gespinst überziehen.

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Nycteola degenerana ist eigentlich nicht besonders anspruchsvoll. Dennoch wird sie stellenweise durch die Bekämpfung des wirtschaftlich wertlosen Weichholzes durch die Forstwirtschaft zurückgedrängt.

Bemerkungen:
Insgesamt ist Nycteola degenerana lokal von Frankreich an über Mittel- und Teile Nordeuropas und Asiens bis Japan verbreitet. In Mitteleuropa ist die Verbreitung oft schwerpunktmäßig auf die Gebirge konzentriert. Ein Verbreitungsschwerpunkt ist derzeit der Zentral- und Nordalpenraum sowie das angrenzende Voralpenland, wo sie etwa seit dem Jahr 2000 von mir an vielen Stellen in Wäldern nachgewiesen wurde (etwa im ganzen Allgäu). Aber seit etwa 2010 scheint die Verbreitung zumindest im nördlichen Alpenvorland wieder zurückzugehen.



Nycteola asiatica | Nycteola revayana | Nycteola siculana 
English version / englische Version