Leptophyes albovittata (Kollar, 1833)


Leptophyes albovittata: Male (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Male (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Male (Fränkische Alb, Bavaria) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Male in heat avoidance posture [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Fränkische Alb, Bavaria) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Fränkische Alb, Bavaria) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female with spermatophore (Fränkische Alb, Bavaria, 2008) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Engadine) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Olympus, July 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Olympus, July 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Female (N-Greece, Vitsi N of Kastoria, early July 2013) Leptophyes albovittata: Female (Bulgaria, low foothills of Pirin, early August 2013) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Male (Olympus, Greece, July 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Male (Olympus, Greece, July 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Habitat (Fränkische Alb, Bavaria, August 2008) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Habitat in Bulgaria (early August 2013) [N]

Nutrition:
The species feeds on herbs and there causes a typical feeding pattern, which can be observed at about thistles (Cirsium vulgare).

Habitat:
Leptophyes albovittata primarily inhabits dry warm hems which are dominated by higher perennials (Geranion sanguinei and related plant communities). It also penetrates alternating wet or ruderalized areas and preferably light to medium shrubby successional stages.

Life cycle:
The adults occur from late June to October. They usually sit on higher perennials. I met many individuals on already fruiting Cirsium vulgare plants whose leaves were literally perforated (pitting, Franconian Alb in northern Bavaria).

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
Leptophyes albovittata is threatened by increasing reforestation of habitats, their eutrophication, but also too rigorous shrub removal. Leptophyes albovittata loses many habitats by overbuilding and intensification, e.g. by the famous salami tactics of farmers who like to integrate every year another piece of the few remaining habitats in their fields.

Remarks:
The southeastern distributed species (Western Asia, Southeastern Europe) occurs to the northwest as far as southern Poland and Bavaria (Franconian Alb) and has already reached sporadically Baden-Württemberg. Moreover, Leptophyes albovittata has reached the Swiss Engadine.



Leptophyes boscii | Leptophyes laticauda | Leptophyes punctatissima

Leptophyes albovittata (Kollar, 1833) (Gestreifte Zartschrecke)


Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen in Hitzefluchtstellung [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Fränkische Alb) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen  mit Spermatophore (Fränkische Alb, 2008) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Engadin) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Olymp, 1800m NN, Juli 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Olymp, Juli 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Nordgriechenland, Vitsi N Kastoria, Anfang Juli 2013) Leptophyes albovittata: Weibchen (Bulgarien, randliches Pirin-Hügelland, Anfang August 2013) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen (Olymp, Juli 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Männchen (Olymp, Juli 2010) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Habitat (Fränkische Alb, August 2008) [N] Leptophyes albovittata: Habitat in Bulgarien (Anfang August 2013) [N]

Nahrung:
Die Art ernährt sich rein pflanzlich und verursacht typischen Lochfraß, den man etwa an Disteln (Cirsium vulgare) und anderen Stauden beobachten kann.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Leptophyes albovittata besiedelt in erster Linie trockenwarme Säume (Geranion sanguinei und verwandte Pflanzengesellschaften). Sie dringt auch in wechselfeuchte oder ruderalisierte Gebiete ein und bevorzugt leicht bis mittel verbuschte Sukzessionsstadien.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Imagines treten von Ende Juni bis in den Oktober auf. Sie halten sich gerne auf höheren Stauden auf. So traf ich auf der Fränkischen Alb zahlreiche Tiere auf bereits fruchtenden Cirsium vulgare-Pflanzen, deren Blätter regelrecht perforiert waren (Lochfraß).

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Leptophyes albovittata ist durch zunehmende Verwaldung der Habitate, deren Eutrophierung, aber auch zu rigorose Entbuschungen bedroht. Zahlreiche Standorte verliert sie durch Überbauung und Intesivierung, so durch die bekannte Salamitaktik der Landwirte, die gerne jedes Jahr ein weiteres Stückchen der wenigen noch verbliebenen Ackerraine etc. in die Nutzfläche integrieren.

Bemerkungen:
Die südöstlich verbreitete Art (Westasien, Südosteuropa) kommt nach Nordwesten bis Südpolen und Bayern (Fränkische Alb) vor und hat mittlerweile ganz sporadisch auch Baden-Württemberg erreicht. Zudem reicht die Verbreitung bis ins Engadin.



Leptophyes boscii | Leptophyes laticauda | Leptophyes punctatissima