Conocephalus fuscus (Fabricius, 1793)


Conocephalus fuscus: Male (Memmingen, S-Germany) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Male (Memmingen, S-Germany) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Female [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Female (Memmingen, Southern Germany) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Female larva (Memmingen) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Habitat in the northern foreland of the Alps (Memmingen, river Iller, June 2012) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Habitat in the northern foreland of the Alps (Memmingen, river Iller, June 2012) [N]

Nutrition:
Both carnal and vegetable food (grasses, sedges, insects).

Habitat:
Conocephalus fuscus colonizes little mowed wetlands, sedge reeds, siltation vegetation, ditches and similar places. In lowland, warm and more atlantic regions with high air moisture Conocephalus fuscus inhabits often also mesophilic or even dry grass and forb communities.

Life cycle:
The eggs overwinter according to literature once and are deposited in the soil or into grass sheaths or stems. The adults occur from July to October.

Endangerment: regionally endangered or decreasing

Endangerment factors:
Wetlands are becoming increasingly rare and are destroyed through drainage, overbuilding or intensification (corn fields!). But overall, Conocephalus fuscus is regional still quite common, as it is one of more modest wetland inhabitants.

Remarks:
The distribution extends from Portugal across most of Europe (absent from Scandinavia and almost in the entire British Isles except the very south) and temperate Asia to the Amur.



Conocephalus dorsalis 
German version / deutsche Version

Conocephalus fuscus (Fabricius, 1793) (Langflügelige Schwertschrecke)


Conocephalus fuscus: Männchen (Memmingen) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Männchen (Memmingen) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Weibchen [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Weibchen (Memmingen) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Weibliche Larve (Memmingen) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Habitat im Voralpenland bei Memmingen (Illeraue, Juni 2012) [N] Conocephalus fuscus: Habitat im Voralpenland bei Memmingen (Illeraue, Juni 2012) [N]

Nahrung:
Tierische und pflanzliche Kost (Gräser, Seggen, Insekten).

Lebensraumansprüche:
Conocephalus fuscus besiedelt wenig gemähte Feuchtgebiete, Seggenriede, Verlandungsvegetation, Gräben etc. In tiefgelegenen, warmen und atlantisch getönten Gebieten mit hoher Lufteuchte werden oft auch mesophile oder sogar trockenere Grassäume und Staudenfluren bewohnt.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Eier überwintern laut Literatur einmal und werden in den Boden oder in Grasscheiden, Stängel etc. abgelegt. Die Imagines treten von Juli bis Oktober auf.

Gefährdung: stellenweise zurückgehend bzw. gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Feuchtflächen werden immer seltener und fallen der Entwässerung, Überbauung oder Intensivierung (Maisäcker!) zum Opfer. Insgesamt ist Conocephalus fuscus aber noch recht weit verbreitet, da sie eine der euryökeren Arten unter den Feuchtgebietsbewohnern ist.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Portugal über fast ganz Europa (fehlt in Skandinavien und fast den gesamten Britischen Inseln mit Ausnahme des südlichsten England) und das gemäßigte Asien bis zum Amur.



Conocephalus dorsalis 
English version / englische Version